We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioned bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Cristo Country Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte Cristo Country Manor
Save
You added Monte Cristo Country Manor to your Saves list
P O Box 1703, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Air conditioned bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The temperature was 45 degrees c when we arrived so we were very grateful to have air conditioning in the room and also a swimming pool. Monte Christo is in a residential area about 1 km from the main street - secure parking. Very peaceful setting; helpful hostesses and good breakfast. Handy for kango caves, ostrich farms and R62. Try the Headlines restaurant which has a good mix of locals and visitors. There is a shopping mall and also a book exchange shop 5mins away by car. We only had 2 days in Oudtschoorn but could have stayed here longer

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Lovely top notch place. Would loved to have stayed longer. Friendly helpful staff. Parking ,bed,pool,breakfast were all good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Our party of 4 spent 2 nights in the pool rooms at Monte Cristo. This accommodation is amongst the best we have stayed in in South Africa. Fantastic rooms, very close to the pool, which was superb. Both staff and the owner were friendly and helpful, and added to our enjoyment in ways I don't think they had intended! Close to town, but in a very quiet and safe area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Recently stayed one night at this guest house. It looked like it had been refurbished within the last year or so. The bedrooms were lovely, very modern and clean with TV, fridge, hair dryer etc. Bathroom was big, modern and clean. Nice pool in front of the guest house with a few loungers to use. Parking available in front of the guest house, which is secure during the night.
The two lady hosts at this guest house could not have been more helpful. Although there is no wi fi or PC for guests to use, the hosts were more than happy for guests to use the staff computer behind the check in desk if needed.
Breakfast was lovely with choice of hot or cold.
Great location for a visit to Cango Caves or Ostrich Farm.
We were recommended to eat at Jemima's Restaurant, which is 5 mins drive from the guest house. We had our best meal of our 2 week visit to SA at Jemima's. Food was fantastic and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We really enjoyed our three nights at this splendid guesthouse. Set in lovely gardens with a good size swimming pool (which we made good use of on our arrival in 37 degrees of heat!). Our hosts were very welcoming and certainly went the extra mile to make us feel at home. The rooms are very modern and no expense has been spared in providing all mod. cons. Lovely deck outside to drink a sundowner.
All in all, a perfect base from which to explore the surrounds, cross the Swartberg mountains etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Monte cristo advertises 4 star luxury accomodation and that is exactly what you get when you choose to stay there. Rooms are immacuately presented and all your needs are taken care of without the hosts being overly obtrusive. Always ready to giv e you their attention and nothing is left to chance. A real diamond of a find in oudtshoorn and very favourable rates.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is a real hidden gem, located in a very quiet part of the upmarket area in Oudtshoorn. It is a mere 1 minute drive to the centre of town and close to all the major restaurants.

The rooms are very luxurious and well appointed with a modern bathroom. Ask for the Deck Suites as they are the best. We stayed in Deck Suite 2. Attention to detail is key here and the owner and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The garden is very well maintained and there is a sparkling swimming pool. The view from the wooden deck is stunning.

Breakfast was great with a big variety of fruits, yoghurts, cerials and a full English Breakfast was served too. Our only regret was that we didn’t stay longer.

You won’t go wrong with this treat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Cristo Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Country Manor

Address: P O Box 1703, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Cristo Country Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.