We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Little Karoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pension Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Pension Guest House to your Saves list
La Pension Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Oasis in Little Karoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is an enchanting place to stay. Our host was charming, the room and facility was top notch, breakfast was delicious and they have wifi-relatively rare in SA at this price point. They even have air conditioning! Errol provided so much area information that we are staying longer than planned. La Pension is worth a detour.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
142
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Loved La Pension and particuarly our host and hostesses welcome that made us feel right at home.

Sadly we only had a one night stay, but would have loved to stay longer. The rooms were fabulously spacious and the bathroom huge. It gave me ideas for restyling my own bathroom - thanks.

Thanks for the tips on places to visit - the Cango Caves and of course the ostrich places. All a joy to visit.

I recommend this place to anyone I know going to this area.

Thanks again for everything

Jan ( Gill and Mike too)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

What can we say, If you ever pass through Oudtshoorn stay at La Pension Guesthouse!
This place is fantastic! In the middle of town, yet on a very quiet street with a big garden and beautiful pool. Breakfasts...Only way to describe the mornings at La Pension is welcome to a feast for kings! Anette and myself have never seen a breakfast served with so much care and love. Flowers,fruits, kippers, anything you could possibly want was served by the most wonderful hosts Venita and Errol. Second afternoon at the poolside we were having a Gin Tonic from the honesty bar, Errol realised there was no lemon, so he climbed up his personal lemontree and picked one for us! (see the picture) The room was great, very clean and roomy. The bathroom was large with both separate shower and bathtub, not seen very often nowadays. Walking distance to almost everything in town. Thanks guys for a fantastic stay! Jan & Anette Johansson, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedemark, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We only stayed at La Pension for 2 nights, but what an amazing experience, we cannot praise it highly enough. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly faces telling us that we were upgraded to the Garden Cottage. It was very spacious with beautiful furnishings (all stunning decoration done by the owner herself), very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The next morning a breakfast was served unlike any other we have had at other B&B's we have stayed at.
Most of all what made our stay here stand out from all the other places we have visited during our time in South Africa were our hosts Errol and Venita they went to so much trouble to ensure we had the best time ( which we did ), always helpful and great fun but never intrusive, we simply didn't want to leave. We would say to anyone considering a stay in this area in our opinion La Pension is "La Paradise”.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing two days at La Pension in November. La Pension offers excellent accomodation but what makes it stand out is the personal service we received.

Errol and Venita were fantastic hosts and made us feel at home in their home.

Rooms are spacious, cosy and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were a treat too. The grounds of the guest house are superb and there is a decent sized pool to cool off in although we didn't get a chance to use it.

La Pension is conveniently located a 15 minute walk from most of the main restaurants in Outshoorn and within easy reach of other tourist attractions in the Klein Karoo.

All in all, this must be one of the best places to stay in Oudtshoorn and really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

when planning the honeymoon for my wife and i, i was looking for something a little different, a little romantic, and a little bit off the beaten path. staying at la pension guest house gave us lots of everything and then some!! about 4 hrs from capetown, 3 hrs from wine country, an hour from the coast and mossel bay, and just minutes from the amazing cango caves, this house is the perfect spot to spend a few days while visiting the beautiful country of south africa, and a MUST if you stop by the peaceful, accomodating town of oudtshoorn. venita and erol who own and run the house are most fun, accomodating and wonderful people we met, and i cant think of a more perfect setting for them to share thier zest for life, than in running such a beautiful guest house. we miss them already, and are already planning a trip for next year with some friends. DONT pass this place up!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holzminden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

From the moment we made contact with La Pension the service and interaction was PERFECT!! We cold called and were hoping for a bed for 1 night, we ended up staying 2. As hosts, Errol & Venita made us feel like long lost friends who had found their way home. Their recommendations for restaurants, wine, sightseeing activities were all perfect matches for our personalities. The guesthouse has charm, character, and style and is a very peaceful spot at which to unwind. The facilities are great and of course, our hosts are "born" hosts. Good luck for the future and when we visit SA again we will definitely schedule liquid dinners and long conversations under the stars in Oudtshoorn!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pension Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.