We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Pension, Oudtshoorn, South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pension Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Pension Guest House to your Saves list
La Pension Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“La Pension, Oudtshoorn, South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A genuine, friendly well managed guest house with resident and very pleasant owners. Everything is high quality and very well maintained and guests are genuinely welcome. This. Guest house sets a really high standard, much better than similar establishments with a wonderful and relaxed setting, great gardens and pool and nothing is too much trouble. It is well placed for a variety of visits and for the town and restaurants. Other places are not likely to meet these standards, do stay with confidence.

Room Tip: All very good, all modern and very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
140
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The owners could not have been more welcoming. We were a group of five adults who stayed here on a 10 day tour of the Garden Route. The location of the house is superb - a leafy and tranquil spot close to the town's museum, shops and restaurants and walking distance to a large pool (as well as the one on site). The garden is stunning and the patio ambiance unbeatable - even the lemons we ate taste nice !! The bathrooms were big and beds comfy. All in all we couldn't have asked for anything more. There aren't many places I would choose to go back to, but this one I must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at La Pension and were delighted with all aspects of our stay.

Received a very warm and genuine welcome from the owners Errol and who frankly could not have done more to make us feel at home.

Our room was large, airy and spotlessly clean - as was the en suite bathroom. The garden area was lovely and appeared to maintained to a high standard. On the day we arrived the temperature was in the high 30'sC so the pool was most welcome.

Breakfast was served on the terrace, fresh fruit and juice followed by an English breakfast
Set us up for a days trip sightseeing.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay for two nights in La Pension, together with our children (8 and 10 years old). Everything was perfect, rooms nicely furnished and spotlessly cleaned. The children enjoy the garden and the pool tremendously, and my husband and myself enjoy peacefullness and beauty. A big thanks for Tilly who made our stay there fantastic.

Room Tip: They have a family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Everything was perfect for our 2 days stay here. The rooms are confortable and perfectly clean. Double bed a little small for a couple, for the rest everything ok.
Attentiopn to details and a very good breakfast.

The highest point is the garden, beauty and peace to spend the HOT afternoons of the summer.
You can stay at La Pension without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This place provided an excellent stopover. It was in a fine, quiet location, but still within a 15 minute walk of a number of restaurants. The menus were thoughtfully provided by the B&B and we selected Jemima’s – good choice!

Our hosts were away during the time we stayed, but we were well looked after by the ‘locum’ manager who gave us a very welcome drink on arrival.

The room was nicely furnished, but the bed was rather small being only 4’ 6” wide. Fortunately both my wife and I are on the slender side! Also, there was no fridge or TV (but there was a separate TV lounge). The bathroom was excellent, being beautifully fitted out with good quality fittings. The room was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was a pleasant, relaxed affair, being served outside by the swimming pool – really nice. The fruit cocktail ‘starter’ deserves special mention – it was truly excellent.

Overall a very good stopover – recommended. And yes, we would stay again.

Room Tip: See if they have a room with a bigger bed! We're not used to a narrow 4'6" one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Very well decorated. Good ubication. Nice bathroom. A great backyard to spend lazy hours.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pension Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.