We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant
Cango Caves Rd, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
+27 44 272 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge's A la Carte Restaurant offers local Karoo cuisine with the perfect atmosphere to enjoy while listening to the hippos playing in the water. The surrounding wooden deck overlooking the 5 hectare natural waterhole makes it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the hills. During the cold winter months a huge fireplace offers a cosy alternative and as accompaniment, our wine selection consists of some of the best award-winning wines on Route 62. Guests can make reservations for our Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 - 11:00 and for Lunch and Dinner from our A la Carte Menu from 11:00 - 22:00. With all the zesty products, facilities and amenities under one roof, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is the ideal choice for all corporate functions, events, weddings, celebrations, seminars & team building. It also has a grand piano as prominent feature. A unique bush veld experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

i was quite surprised with the outstanding service during the time we spent there.the tents is full of luxury and even fitted with electric blankets.the restaurant is also of a high standard.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    97
    31
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The setting is amazing. We sat on the deck watching the sun set and the hippos emerge. The service was great. We ate at the restaurant which we found lacking in atmosphere. Two of us chose fish off the menu which was not very enjoyable and over priced. The third guest had the vegetarian option which she enjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Booked our wedding here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I often travel to this resort and we liked it so much we are having our wedding there in November.

The food was delicious, the setting fantastic and even the hippos swimming in the dam come over for a happy snort and a back rub on the pools supporting the wedding chapel.

Dankie mense vir alles! x

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best ostrich steak ever mmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I can honestely say that I have had the best ostrich fillet in my life here at Buffelsdrift!
our host of the 'Die Fonteine Guesthouse' recommended it, and we are still thankfull for that!
tender ostrich meat, medium rare, with stir-fried veggies and a potato mash with caramelized onions, oh my god it was soooo good!

we visited this restaurant in the evening, but regret not to have seen it in the daylight, the environment must have been awesome...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“here we are again(and again)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying in Oudtshoorn, eating or visiting Buffelsdrift is a must, having a drink on the deck whilst watching the hippo playing 30 meters away is something most of us are dreaming about,
and after watching our Boks playing on a big screen that the hotel has generously supplied to guests and visitors, it was time to fill our tummy's. An interesting carrot and ginger cream soup was my choice for dinner followed by bobotie with all the trimmings and I just had to make space for a piece of bar one cake with cream instead of malva poeding. My husband enjoyed a black mushroom in filo, 200g ostrich fillet and finishedthis with creme brule.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.