We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food brilliant, Service very slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant
Cango Caves Rd, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
+27 44 272 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge's A la Carte Restaurant offers local Karoo cuisine with the perfect atmosphere to enjoy while listening to the hippos playing in the water. The surrounding wooden deck overlooking the 5 hectare natural waterhole makes it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the hills. During the cold winter months a huge fireplace offers a cosy alternative and as accompaniment, our wine selection consists of some of the best award-winning wines on Route 62. Guests can make reservations for our Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 - 11:00 and for Lunch and Dinner from our A la Carte Menu from 11:00 - 22:00. With all the zesty products, facilities and amenities under one roof, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is the ideal choice for all corporate functions, events, weddings, celebrations, seminars & team building. It also has a grand piano as prominent feature. A unique bush veld experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Food brilliant, Service very slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It took half an hour for a glass of water to arrive. Various staff asked whether our order had been taken but none arrived with the goods. When the food finally arrived it was simply superb. I.e. the kitchen staff is being let down by the serving staff. So, if you are patient, please go and support this place, it has the potential ot be stunning.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    97
    31
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic setting but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful surroundings, lovely food, and very romantic. It's just a shame the slow service and swarm of mini flies above each table spoilt the experience for us.

Good sweet selection.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Hannah. Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings and lovely food specially when you're in a romantic mood. When sitting outside on the deck at dinner time, occasionally this time of the year there are a few flying insects around which are attracted by the beautiful lamps on the tables. We humbly apologize that they spoiled your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A fun one night stopover in a tent is really it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

On the positive side, the luxury tent was quirky and fun and ours positioned on waters edge was good as we could sit on own decking watching birds and hippos. Also the views of the surrounding countryside were lovely.

On the negative side, the reception was poor with no information on what was available to us, timings etc. it transpired that safaris, elephant walking/feeding were all extra which was not evident on the website at time of booking which we pointed out to manager. The safari is not to be confused with a safari in say Shamwari or Kariega and is a very poor relation, and i suspect longleat in the Uk has more animals. Dinner was average and breakfast offering was mediocre with less than attentive staff on arrival, we had to go to them rather than them coming to us

Summary-if you want a tent experience for a night on route 62 this is worth considering.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and also for recommending our tent experience to other clients. Regarding the safari experience, each institution is unique and have their own experience. We are a Four Star establishment and our Bush Safari is therefore totally different to the Game Drives offered by the other Five Star establishments which you mentioned. When traveling the 500 metres from the gate to the Lodge there are numerous boards displaying the various activities we offer and when entering the reception area, there is also a board displaying all the activities. We hope to see you again in the near future and will then do our utmost to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
“Happy 7th Birtday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were, as Oudtshoorn guest house owners, acknowledged in the success of this GEM of a place in our midst - WOW!!!! The food, wines and the special SA Amarula dishes were out of this world. It was a special evening for ALL of us and we are proud to refer our guests to have dinner at the excellent restaurant with the most spectacular view, ambiance, good service and really good food at excellent prices! We wish Buffelsdrift Game Lodge to only grow from strength to strength!
Chris and Marlene Stemmet, AAN DE BRUG B&B, OUDTSHOORN

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Chris and Marlene. Thank you so much for your support throughout the 7 years and for always referring guests to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge. We are truly blessed to have such wonderful working and friendly environment in Oudtshoorn. We appreciate your review and we look forward to treat the guests you refer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Lunch or Dinner Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Recommended by our local hosts the Buffelsdrift Game Lodge was a gem of a find. Built around a serene reservoir the decked restaurant which stretches out from traditional style bush buildings offered unspoilt views of the savannah and the distant mountains. With wild birds in abundance, and the occasional troop of elephants strolling past on the waters banks this was supreme relaxation. Friendly and good value for money, with excellent cuisine (local and international) and a good choice of beers including local brews we cannot recommend this establishment more highly. We were here in low season and as a tip we would suggest per-booking in the peak season to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Colin - we appreciate the lovely feedback and it is always a pleasure to have such lovely guests visiting. Hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.