We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a jewel in the Klein Karoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Denne Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added De Denne Country Guest House to your Saves list
De Denne Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
George, Western Cape
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a jewel in the Klein Karoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are travelling to Oudtshoorn or through Oudtshoorn you have to stay at least one night at this amazing guesthouse. Louise and Johann are amazing hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. Louise's perfectionist touch is evident in all the detail at De Denne. The surrounding Swartberg Mountains are spectactular and there is something so peaceful and tranquil about sitting on the patio (porch) in the early morning having a cuppa coffee and being surrounded by nature. I will definately go back and next time I will stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    22
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at De Denne during the KKNK festival in Oudtshoon. The accomodation was so much more than we could have hoped for. The cottage was fully equipped, extremely comfortable and pristine. Every detail was taken care of. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome and at home. We highly recommend De Denne, and can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very nice an quiet guesthouse with several cottages (No 5 was perfect!) 5 min outside Oudtshoorn. Small but refreshing pool, big garden with swings for children. Very nice landlords who serve great breakfast.
Very suitable for families with small children. Bruno the house-dog will look after them very carefully!!!
Air con.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We felt very warm welcomed from the first moment on.
The guest house was established nicely. They showed us the facilities and helped us with the luggage. Car was beeing cleaned during night which was very kind as it was really dirty after having driven through the Karoo.
Every time we asked sth. they answered with patience and offered us support e.g. restaurant and trip recommendations. Breakfast was delicious and the ostrich tour organized by them was wonderfu.!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Louise and Johan at 'De Denne' deserve a very positive review of their guest house, as they have done a great effort in restoring their historic property, turning it into a very comfortable classy home for their guests. And they keep up the good work by making sure you have a memorable stay with them ; the relaxing atmosphere is not only there through the wonderfull vista from the poolside-area and the quiet location, but also as a result of their very friendly and unintrusive way of welcoming you. For the best dinner experience, do not drive to town ( which is only 10 minutes away) but enjoy the best ostrich steaks you'll ever have right there at your own veranda ! Side dishes and desert compete for 'best taste' award, and breakfast in the morning is excellent. We also enjoyed a (pretty much private) tour of the ostrich farm. Despite the eradication of most ostrich in the region due to viral infection, we were given a very informative and pleasant tour, ending with the children holding some new-born birds...they loved it ! Certainly one of the best choices if you're planning to stay in the Oudtshoorn area !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've stayed at De Denne 3 times and loved it each time. It is set about 10km out of town in a beautiful peaceful setting. The cottages are all of a high standard and you can have peace and quiet away from the other guests. There is a nice pool to cool off in at the end of the day, it gets hot in summer. Good breakfast and evening meal if you want it. Bruno the dog is definitely the star of De Denne and we all fell in love with him, especially our two boys. A great stop over on the garden route and Oudtshoorn definitely worth a weekend of your time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Wow! This place really is amazing. The rooms are huge and ours had recently been redone. We stayed in the main guest house, the building of which is 120 years old and furnished stylishly with antiques. We also enjoyed their hospitality as we stayed for dinner in the main guest house. As my wife and I both do not eat meat (and my wife does not eat gluten) they tailored their menu around us and the private candlelit dinner was perfect for our honeymoon (as was the complimentary bottle of champagne and flowers in the room). The guest house is a convenient drive from Cango caves and they also organise tours of ostrich farms which were incredibly informative and fun. The guest house also benefits from stunning views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Denne Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.