We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yotclub B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yotclub B&B
Save Saved
You added Yotclub B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 65 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Hampshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We didn’t know what to expect when we booked at the Yot Club at Oudtshoorn as I could find very little about it on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be a wonderful treat. Comfortable, clean, attractive rooms (we stayed in room 5 with its own private outdoor space), beautiful landscaped gardens leading down to the river, lots of shady areas to sit and a very attractive swimming pool. We spent ages just relaxing with a drink from the honesty bar and watching all the beautiful wild birds.
We breakfasted on the terrace overlooking the river and the lovely view beyond and what a breakfast, with freshly baked bread and all the trimmings.
The position was excellent as you can walk to the shops and in the evening we could forget the car and walk to restaurants which Bronwyn will book for you. We especially loved Kalinka, friendly attentive service and great food beautifully presented.
Bronwyn was standing in for her parents who were away and she was a mine of information, a highly intelligent and engaging host, never too busy to offer advice and suggestions and with lots of local knowledge. She even arranged our laundry for us and it was returned the same day neatly ironed and folded.
As an all rounder, the Yot Club was my favourite stop of our three week trip and I just hope that I will be lucky enough to visit it again.

  • Liked — Particularly liked the position, beautiful view over the river and walk to shops and restaurants
  • Disliked — Would have liked a full length mirror in the room but thats just me!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    42
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
192
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We stayed at the YotClub B&B for 1 night as part of our honeymoon. Our room had it's own private garden as well as a great view of the river at the bottom of the main garden. We spent a lovely couple of hours watching the weaver birds in the reeds - just lovely.
Breakfast was brilliant - as well as the usual breakfast food we even had a freshly baked loaf of bread on the table that we could slice up ourselves and eat with jam!
Don't be put off that it is behind a petrol station - it has the best views over the river and great sunsets - we loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Lovely house with beautiful gardens. Great for birdwatching. The pool was very welcome after a long journey from The Winelands across the little Karoo. Bronwyn (the owner's daughter) was a mine of information and the breakfast she provided was one of the best we had in S Africa. Loved the fresh home-made bread.
It's very easy to find and within walking distance of some very good restaurants (we can recommend Kalinka's).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Having returned from travelling in South Africa for a month where the standard of accommodation has been excellent, I have to say this was my favourite and would loved to have stopped a couple more days. Thank you Liz for the beautifully spacious and comfortable room overlooking the gardens and river with an abundance of bird life. Your breakfasts were sumtuous and your advice excellent. John and Penny Russell.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury,Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Only stayed three nights but could have stayed forever.
Great location,great accomodation and Bronwyn so helpful with
local information /places to see/places to eat.
Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Yotclub.
Phil & Jan

  • Liked — Friendliness and location
  • Disliked — Only there three nights
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

The Yotclub came as a recommendation from friends and what a great choice we made! A wonderfully friendly reception and a perfect setting made our short visit memorable. My only regret is that we could not stay longer! Our room was excellent, the gardens teemed with bird life and our breakfast could not have been better. Many thanks.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

From the time you walk into the Yotclub B & B you are transported into that timeless and wonderful ambience created by the owners. A beautifully renovated old home looking over the magnificent garden and the river that is a bird-lover's paradise.
The Yotclub is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops in Oudtshoorn, so evenings are a pleasure.
The breakfast offered by the owners is the best I have experienced in all my travels staying at B & Bs.
You won't be sorry that you stayed here.
Sue - Sydney, Australia

  • Liked — The comfort and cleanliness, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yotclub B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.