We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yotclub B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yotclub B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First-rate guesthouse in Oudtshoorn. Des is exactly what you want in a host--responsive, quick to do whatever is necessary to make you comfortable. He called for a booking for us for dinner and agreed to serve our breakfast after we returned from the Meerkat Adventure tour. The breakfast was fantastic, especially the homemade bread. One of the best B&B breakfasts we've ever had. The grounds were beautiful and include a bird hide. They had off-street parking as well and are close to the main roads through town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    42
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
191
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is our second visit to the Yotclub and we were not disappointed. Des and Liz again made us welcome so we could enjoy the wonderful gardens and the most fantastic breakfast.

On this trip we took my mother and she thoroughly enjoyed her stay, the rooms were very clean and spacious and the guest house is just a few minutes walk from some great restaurants.

We visit Capetown and Knysna every 4-5 years to see family and will always stay at the Yotclub if traveling on the wine or garden route.

Rob and Sue Davison from Jersey, Channel Islands.

PS: we travelled in December 2011 but my review somehow did not activate so the date below is in-correct.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We found out about this place by chance. after a couple from Singapore staying at the place we stayed before Oudtshoorn recommended it, so glad they did. We had a beautiful river-view room, really good quality bed-linen and just gorgeous in general. Unfortunately we arrived in the dark so couldn't see the view until the next day. It is close to the centre of Oudtshoorn, just a short walk up the street to reach restaurants etc., one is right across the street, but yet it is located on a lovely river, with gardens and their own bird and otter hide down the garden! The owners Liz and Des couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, giving us lots of advice about where to stay next and recommendations of restaurants near Cape Town (if you're reading you were totally right, Montagu was a great choice and we did eat at the Brass Bell, best calamari ever!). We also asked Liz if it was ok to stay a while down at the hide after checking out because we hadn't really had a chance to see the place yet. She told us we could stay all day if we wanted and made us two cafetieres of coffee (for free!) to take down with us! They also have a great folder of pictures and info to identify all the birds. It was my birthday and the perfect relaxing start to the day! The breakfast was also delicious, beautiful fresh fruit salad, including fresh figs came out, decorated with flowers, along with bread, clearly homemade and fresh out of the oven! Then a massive omelette. The only tiny drawback was we ran out of hot water in the morning, I got a shower but my boyfriend didn't. But, I really can't praise this place enough, we would have changed our plans to stay there an extra night had they had a room free!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice place - wanted to sleepover one night on our garden route trip. The rooms were spacious, the location is perfect. It has a very nice garden and stream flowing by where they have otters !!
The breakfast was yummy in an outdoor setting - overall excellent value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We loved our stay here, as a family of 5 it can be hard to find good accommodation that doesn't cost the earth, but this was just perfect! We stayed for 3 nights and were really well looked after. The breakfasts were incredible, something different everyday and always delicious. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great location, great hosts and a beautiful house. We had the self catering unit at the front of the house, it was spotlessly clean, very quiet and simply furnished. My husband's only complaint was the lack of a TV but I was secretly really pleased. The breakfasts on the terrace were stunning, the house has a wonderful view across the river and the garden. It is a really easy walking distance to the centre of the town with the museum, restaurant and shops. Loved every minute of our 2 night stay, could easily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a beautiful find. We stayed at the Yot Club, Oudtshoorn mid March for one night and were amazed at the high standard we received. We were given choice of rooms and went for the honeymoon suite with its own private outdoor seating area, views from the patio door into the gardens, king size bed and crisp white bed linen.There is a swimming pool in immaculate lawned gardens down to the river. For dinner we went to a lovely little restaurant just over the road called Nostalgia.

The breakfast - wow - out of this world. Fresh fruit salad and yogurt decorated with sprig of mint and lavender, delicious cooked breakfast and even a freshly baked loaf of bread on the table (still warm).

The Staff were extremely pleasant. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yotclub B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yotclub B&B to your Saves list