We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yotclub B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yotclub B&B
Save
You added Yotclub B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night, but got a very warm welcome at this beautiful place. Had room #9, which is just off the property, clean and quiet. Big big breakfast and lot's of info about our next stop. Des & Liz are great people, thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings. So pleased we could be of so much help. Although room 9 is not a regular its a lovely quiet room and the verandah is our favourite spot to sit mornings and evenings. Hope to see you back some day soon.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
202
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pinelands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 days with Des & Liz (again!) Definitely my favourite place to stay in Oudtshoorn. Nice and central, so if my guests are staying at more a upmarket place, then its the Yotclub for me, but if I am planning the trip - then it's the Yotclub for all and I have always had delighted guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Janice. It is always great to have old friends visit time and time again. We appreciate it so much and love to hear of the trips you organize and the road you take.
Till next time. Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, lovely hosts Des and Liz and friendly competent staff. Outstanding homemade breakfast, reasonable rates.
Yotclub offers the best of both worlds: situated in the centre of town 50 m off the main road, but quiet and lovely rural area with lovely garden and great views in the backyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Bruno. Great to have you here during KKNK. I know you were very happy here with everything so was a bit surprised that I find a few fours in the ratings. Im sure you and your friend will be back next year so we will see that everything is Five.
Keep well in Knysna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed one night in room 5 but wished we could have stayed longer. The garden is large with great views of the mountains with a river at the bottom where you might spot otters or birds, it was a fantastic setting for sunset and to look out on over breakfast (fruit salad, home made bread and spanish omelette). The owners were really friendly and helpful and location wise it is within 5 mins walk of a number of restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the honeymoon suite and worth the extra little bit of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for that wonderful review. Theres so much in that heading and it means the world to us.
Winter is here and the garden is still looking good. Dont worry, we will look after it for your next visit.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in mid March for 2 nights during a 3 week tour of Cape Town / The Garden Route / Kruger / Victoria Falls. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Over a cold beer on the veranda we looked at menus for the local restaurants and after choosing a venue ( Nostalgie ) Liz booked a table for us. It was very relaxing in the garden watching the birds and sipping another beer. Des was very helpful with advice on what to do in the area...we recommend driving to Prince Albert and doing the Swartberg Pass...our hire car was more than adequate to cope with the gravel roads. The Cango Caves were ok. We had booked Meerkat Adventures with Devey in advance before leaving the UK and can thoroughly recommend this.
Breakfasts were lovely...fresh fruit ,yoghurt, fresh bread ( warm and crusty) and Liz`s cooked breakfast of the day. You won`t need lunch after all that. The house is charming with polished wooden floors solid wood furniture and curios. The bedroom was cool and the bed very comfortable. There was an honesty bar stocked with beers cider soft drinks and wine and you just wrote on a board against your room number what you had and settled up before departure. Our next stop was Knysna and again Des told us the best routes to take for views etc.
So we can thoroughly recommend staying here. We hope to return in the not too distant future. Thank you Liz and Des.
Karen and Graham

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings Karen & Graham. Wow, Thats some review, thank you. It beats any that our local tourism office can do about the town. It is a lovely little town and has so much to offer.
Look after yourselves and we hope to have you back again soon. Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First visit to Yot Club but had been told what an amazing place it was - I was'nt disappointed. Only stayed for one night but wish it could have been longer. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. Amazing garden and views and enjoyed watching the moon set and the sunrise in the morning from the top section of the garden. A wonderful retreat with welcoming and friendly owners and staff. Breakfast was lovely, the freshly baked bread tasted wonderful and the tomato bunnies were worthy of a photo!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks Natasha for those kind views.
Only one night is often not enough. So we can expect you back soon for a few more days. Just so you can see the tomato bunnies once more.
Keep well till next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You won't be disappointed. Spacious rooms in a traditional house. Charming and helpful hosts. We had a huge thunderstorm whilst there and the owner provided flashlights just in case it lost power. The location on the edge of Oudtshoorn in a large garden with a river at its edge and stunning views of the Swartberg should not be missed. The bird hide is a delightful extra and if lucky you may see weavers building nests and the exotic clawless otter in the reeds. The breakfast is sublime. On the lawns looking towards the mountains - with a homemade loaf of bread for the table and a huge dish of spanish omlette. This after fruit salad and yogurt exquisitely presented. The cereal selection given the rest of the meal was disappointing - a local granola would be a pleasant choice. But a small gripe at one of the best spots I have stayed in.

Room Tip: The room around the side has private outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thunderstorms are always spectacular here in the L Karoo. Glad we could have one for you that day.
Thanks for your feedback about the cereals. We have taken note of it and will look into the option.
Anytime you back in SA come and stay over once more. Maybe next time experiencing a lovey Oudtshoorn evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yotclub B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.