We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying more than one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yotclub B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yotclub B&B
Save
You added Yotclub B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Etiolles, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth staying more than one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

9th trip to South Afrcia and fifth stay at the YOTCLUB. Warm freindly welcome,so when we are in the area why look any futher. Over the years we have always benefited
from their warm hospitality. OUDTSHOORN is yet another small historic town, life is easy
particularly at the YOT CLUB so just put your feet up and relax by the pool and watch the sun go down before heading out to one of the numerous restaurants.
For the golfing nuts, you can always try the local course, quite rustic but a genuine 18 holes
with fairways albeit a little dry and decent greens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
George and Brigitte, You are such an ambassador for Oudtshoorn Golf club. Not to mention the Yotclub. Always great to hear you enjoy this lovely town and its such a pleasure having you here.
Till next time keep stocking up on the golf balls. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    50
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
216
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Even after staying in many excellent bed and breakfasts and lodges in South Africa Yotclub stands out. Every detail is catered for. Its a beautiful old Victorian house in the centre of town, yet when you go through to the gardens all you see are birds, the otters and lush grass. It really is idyllic.

The room we had was huge, with a king size bed and high quality cotton linens. Breakfast was delicious - served on the patio overlooking the gardens and with fresh fruit, a warm loaf straight from the oven, and a huge bacon and cheese omelette cooked by Des.

I wish we had booked more than a day. If you stay here you'll feel like any 5 star hotel is a let down in comparison. This is what bed and breakfast is all about.

Room Tip: Room 5 has its own private patio overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for all those kind words. It definitely describes our lovely little Oasis. We really are chuffed when others come and share it with us. Next visit, stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and I can truly recommend this B&B. Great breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade bread; very friendly host who waited for our very late arrival; great location, you can walk to several restaurants and shops; wonderful pool and terrace with beautiful view. It was just perfect. Unfortunately we could only stay two nights... But next time, we will stay longer, that is for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. You are most welcome to spend more than 2 days here and really chill out in the garden, find the hidden little gems that the Little Karoo holds.
Till then keep well and plan that next trip.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent B&B in Oudtshoorn that I warmly recommend.

The hospitality and the service are excellent. Very helpful and caring owners (they booked the restaurant for us, they adviced us for the next stop in Hermanus, and so much more).
The rooms are very clean and spacious.
The prices are reasonable for the quality you get.
Last but not least we had our best breakfast there !

The place is very quiet, and offers a splendid view on the mountains surrounding Oudtshoorn, and on their own garden with the river that includes an observation point for birds.
The very relaxing terrace and swimming pool complete the comfort offered by the Yotclub.

If you want to stop in Oudtshoorn, go to the Yotclub. You can’t be deceived !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks so much for all the wonderful words. To sum it up, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your liking.
Well, if you are wanting another best breakfast in South Africa, you know where we are. We'd love to see you back here.
All the best
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night with Des and Liz during February 2013. We had an awesome time and both Des and Liz are fabulous hosts. The B&B is conveniently located near restaurants, shops and gas stations, as well as the Kango Caves, is what we came to Oudtshoorn to see. My husband and I were given the cottage for the night. It was spacious and very clean. The rates at the YotClub is affordable, and it also includes a marvelous, 1st-class breakfast. The catering staff were very friendly too. The grounds are well-kept, and it houses a swimming pool too. It was wonderful to cool-down and then relax on the veranda overlooking the Grobbelaar's River. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay, and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Sylvia. Thanks so much for your kind words. It sounds like you have had a wonderful trip in SA and especially Oudtshoorn and the Caves. we hope to have the pleasure of you visiting again some day and until then look after yourselves and have a wonderful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Yotclub. Unfortunately we could only stay 2 nights. The lodge is very central location and easily accessible to all local amenities. We stayed one night in Room 1. it was  ensuite, very clean and comfortable bed with high ceilings. 2nd night we stay in the honeymoon room, which was very spacious and comfortable with air conditioning. It was overlooking to beautiful and very well organised garden with swimming pool. The room also have its own private section of garden and sitting area. The garden was really nice, very peaceful place, you sit and read book, enjoy magnificient view, get rest.  Breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, it was extraordinary, I love it very much, fresh fruit salad and a delicious, excellent egg bake made by Liz. I can easily say that Liz is very good cook. On our departure from Yotclub, they packed for us a home made bread as free of charge as a gesture, it was unforgottable. I can recommend anyone this place, don't hesitate, just go, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Des and Liz for your great hospitality, guidance where to go, where to eat, what to see around in Outshoorn. If we come back to South Africa 3rd time, we will definetly visit you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ensuites Room 1 with high ceiling and very large Room 5 with private section of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Well Lalinder, you will have to definitely come back for a 3rd visit. We promise to keep the standard high and that you will enjoy it as much as you did on 11th and 12th. Im pleased we could still accommodate you after the few date changes and next time we will order good weather and the garden room. Look after yourselves and enjoy 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed one night with Des & Liz in February 2013. It was super organised, neat and clean including superb breakfast outside with view of the stream. A self-help cash bar is available with ice cold beers and wine. The bird life was excellent with a Night Heron fishing on the small dam wall and plenty of weavers and red bishops buzzing around - a real peaceful sanctuary which was very welcome after a hot motorbike ride along the R62. I never knew that there was such a lush sanctuary within a dry looking place like Oudtshoorn. The staff was very friendly and helpful, overall the YotClub lived up to its fame and can only be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Peter.
Wow, that breakfast looks good. I should try it someday. All Jokes, glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the Yotclub. Thanks for the kind words. It really gives us so much pride in what we are doing. Safe travels and we hope to see you back some day.
Des and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yotclub B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.