We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yotclub B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yotclub B&B
Save
You added Yotclub B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really special place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Yotclub. Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night. The lodge is really conveniently located and easy to find. We got to stay in the honeymoon room, which was very spacious and comfortable. The air conditioning was a life saver. The grounds were really nice, especially for our kids who enjoyed running around the garden. Breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, fresh fruit salad and a delicious egg bake inspired by Liz. Thanks Des and Liz for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Honeymoon room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much Linda. Great to see you and your family once again. Its always so special when we can get together and share the important things in life. Thanks for the kind words as it always means so much and we do so appreciate it.
Keep the chins up and those smiles going. LoL Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
202
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simons Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We so enjoyed our first stay with Des and Liz in April 2012 that we decided to stay with them again on our recent trip to Oudtshoorn and other places. This time our accommodation was inside the main house and we enjoyed another restful and peaceful night. Breakfast was really great, once again, and Liz went out of her way to accommodate our party's rather different likes and dislikes for breakfast. The pool was enjoyed by the youngest member of our group and they were impressed with the bird-hide. Another Great Stay at a highly recommended B & B. Well done, Des and Liz. Keep it up!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you Bruce and Barbara. It was great to see you once more and appreciate both coming back to stay over and your wonderful review. Im glad that the restaurant came up to scratch this time around. Hope to see you back soon.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, england
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have driven through Oudsthoorn on previous holidays to South Africa but his year decided to stay there for two nights. The reviews of the Yotclub were so good that we booked there and were delighted with our choice. The first thing that hits you as you walk out of the main house to your room is how stunningly beautiful the setting is. You look down over a huge, immaculately cared-for garden that runs down to a river with bird watching hide. We then proceeded to our room which was huge and had every amenity you could need. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. There was even a refrigerator and kitchenette if you needed them. We had our own seating area overlooking the gardens and spent happy hours just looking out at the views and wildlife. This is one of the most pleasant and relaxing experiences you could wish for. As everyone comments, the breakfasts taken outside were fabulous and huge! We had no need for lunch. The many excellent restaurants are easy, safe walks away. Des and Liz were excellent hosts - friendly and helpful but never intrusive. There is far more to do in the area than we had anticipated and we will definitely return to the Yotclub - for longer next time!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had its own seating area and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Well there you go. Previous trips Nothing, this time 2 nights, you enjoyed it tremendously and you already talking about staying here longer next time. Wonderful, thank you for the fabulous review and we look forward to having you here with us again. Thank you for the kind words its so appreciated. Keep well and plan that next trip to beautiful SA and especially the W Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Des and Liz are very friendly and nice people that will take care of you the best way possible. We had 2 mornings with great breakfasts outdoor. Their knowledge of good restaurants are well noticing. Thanks for the recommendation to drive the Swartberg pass, great drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Good morning to you both. Thank you for the kind words. Now you know where to come if you need a good couple of days and a wonderful breakfast. The Yotclub. So pleased you enjoyed them.
Hope to see you back sometime soon. Look after yourselves and have a great 2013.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Roddy & Lourenca(and little Danny-our 4yr old grandson)
We have stayed here on three trips and have never regretted any stay here.The hosts Des & Liz are beautiful people with very warm and caring hearts.That alone makes for a very peaceful and relaxing holiday regardless of the length of the stay.The natural peacefulness of the house and garden is extremely calming.The rooms have their own air of tranquility-you will sleep like a baby!The view when you are having breakfast is stunning and so is the breakfast-you don't need to eat for the rest of the day.The rooms are very neat & clean.The beds and linen are awesome!The pool is clean,the gardens are perfectly manicured.The staff are well trained in being friendly ,discrete and efficient.Location is perfect for day trips to explore the area.
Excellent value for money in this world of B & B's.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the "best in the west".
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Friends.
Thanks so much for coming to spend time here with your little one once more. it was great to see you 3 again.
Keep the chin up and when you need that well deserved break, you know where we are.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Yotclub for five nights from 16 November 2012, this was our third stay and was as enjoyable as the first two. The accomodation is very clean and comfortable. Gardens are extensive and well maintained with a small pool and lots of seating where one can sit with a drink and enjoy the magnificent views of the surrounding countryside. There is also a bird and otter hide on the bank of the river at the bottom of the garden. Breakfasts are superb - fresh fruit, freshly baked bread and a hot dish. The owners Des & Liz are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. There is a good choice of restaurants within a few minutes walk. This is a great B&B and is ideal either as a base to visit the surrounding area or an overnight stay. Thanks Des & Liz, we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Well thank you so much for a fantastic review. Not to mention the 5 nights you spent with us. Hope the Pearsons have recovered.
Weve had a very busy season and as always the weather is hotting up here so temps are moving into the 40's
Would love to see you back some day soon.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our garden route trip in November 2012. After spending the day on the road, this was the perfect tranquil setting to spend our Diwali evening.
We stayed on room 5 which had its own private patio area and it was a joy to wake up to views of the river. Des and Liz were warm, friendly and informative hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing and by far the best we had on the entire trip.
P.S. Liz thank you for ironing my shirt!!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Greetings from Yotclub BnB in Oudtshoorn. Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Glad you both had a wonderful time here. Please come back and visit so we can iron your shirts once more. All the very best and we look forward to seeing you again some day. Liz and Des
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Lane | just off Baron van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yotclub B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.