We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming courtyard setting. Lots to do location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages
Save
You added Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   145 High Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming courtyard setting. Lots to do location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Great breakfast in very interesting house. Staff very helpful. Room very comfortable. Generous refreshments provided. Decor individual!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed in one of the cottages - the most outstanding part of this accommodation is the two ladies who work there. The welcome, the breakfasts, the tourist advice and their concern in everyway for our well being and that we enjoyed our stay made Tonquani cottages a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We received exceptional service from Gertie and Karen. The day before we left we said that we would skip breakfast the next day as we wanted to leave at 7am, they both insisted that we could not leave without some breakfast so they turned up at 6.45 !!! What service. The room was exceptionally clean and we would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed in one of the cottages which are located either side of the small swimming pool. The cottage was adequate in size and amenity, but there was no room for suitcases to be stowed and nowhere except the bed to sit.
There were two faulty bulbs in the bathroom, which we asked to be replaced, when we left after two nights they had not been.
The pool and garden area can only be described as somewhat run down. The sun longers were very rickety, again we pointed this out to the hosts, but nothing was done during our stay.
While it was served wth good humour, the breakfast was average, with soggy bran flakes.
We a bit surprised to find that staff were only available when we arrived, and at breakfast time, although this was not a real inconvenience, it would have been better if we were told in advance.
This purports to be a four star establishment but really is not.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

This is truly an oasis in a lovely little town. We received a very warm welcome from Sheldeen. The rooms were very well presented and the gardens beautiful. Although the weather was awful whilst we were there (it chucked it down) there is a lot to do in the local area. Sheldeen was particularly helpful in this regard, helping us to maximise our time by giving us the 'lowdown' on what was worth seeing and what was effectively rubbish. Excellent breakfasts and I'm sure that when the sun shines and the heat comes the pool will be very welcome.

Excellent hosts, excellent venue and excellent breakfasts. We are looking forward to returning and visiting the Knysna property.

P.S. Sheldeen - apologies for the late post. Thanks for everything and good luck with the local police liaison.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I enjoyed my 3 night stay at Tonquani Oudtshoorn very much. I was warmly welcomed by the 2 ladies, and the room was just soo beautiful. I have never before stayed in a place so clean as this room! I can be very critical on cleanliness but this place was absolutely spotless. Compliments to Gerty. Karen looked after me with so much love, even came along every afternoon to check on me... how much more can you ask for. I also enjoyed the fresh fruit and beskuit in the room: just that little extra touch that makes you feel like you really need nothing you have at home. The ladies also very graciously gave me 2 very early breakfasts without complaining.



You really have a winning recipe, thank you so much for offering this kind of service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Absolutely loved this place! Only shame was that we were only there for one night. Shaun was charming and so helpful - 100% successful with dinner recommendation at the wonderful Jemima's.
It would have been so easy to stay here in the tranquility of the private garden & forget about the rest of the world....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages

Address: 145 High Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tonquani Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonquani Oudtshoorn Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.