We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horizon Cottages to your Saves list
Horizon Cottages
9 Sea Cottage Drive | Noordhoek, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hradec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The place itself is very nice, well furnished, practical. But the location is very bad. It is near a very busy road and it is very windy, when I say very I mean : in summer it is cold outside because the wind is so horribly cold, it is very unpleasant, you have to keep the doors and windows open to have some air inside as the building is wooden with no air conditioning, but the strong draught makes you headache and the nights are hell. I would not choose this place and would not reccommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
29
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

我们从1月25日住到1月28日,七大一小,其中两个老人一个三岁小女孩。家人们是第一次到开普敦,住在这里感觉和家里一样。Horrizon Cottage让大家对开普敦有了一个极好的第一印象!店主夫妇人很好,我们共进了晚餐:)We lived in this cottage from 25th, Jan to 28th, Jan. 7 adults and 1 child. The whole family felt so good, exactly like home. This is the 1st time the family visited CPT. The cottage gave them a very good first impression of CPT, fresh air, great view, extremely quiet... We cooked, BBQ... The owner couple, Dennis and Jo, are very friendly and nice. We had BBQ together. My parents and the small baby girl all like them a lot. Althrough they don't even speak the same language. I believe we will come back again and live here longer time. --Ken

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were visiting South Africa from Australia and found 'Horizon Cottages' on the internet. It more than met our expectations in every way. We do find it very difficult finding good accommodation for a family of 7, but this place is ideal for any travelers. The relaxing and beautiful garden with a pool was a highlight for us. The rooms were kitted out with everything and they were stylishly decorated too. It was our first visit to Noordhoek and we enjoyed the sites and attractions it had to offer. Denis and Jo were great hosts and filled us in on all current events that were taking place. We would definitely come again!

Room Tip: My husband and I had our own cabin and the 5 kids were together in their own bungalow. It worked wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked the Captain' s Cottage for our two week holiday in Cape Town with our 3 young boys during the December holidays. Upon arrival we were met by Dennis who showed us around the cottage and complex. To our delight it was just what we had hoped it would be and more. The cottage was very well presented and to our delight had the most comfortable beds with luxurious bedding. The accommodation and facilities were exactly as the website for Horizon Cottages states. Dennis also took the time to tell us what the local area had to offer for which was invaluable information that got our holiday off to a magnificent and stress free start. The cottage was fantastic and the owners Dennis and Jo were absolutely fabulous. Nothing was too difficult or too much for them. They made our stay most and we intend to return again. We would highly recommend Horizon Cottages for anyone seeking the serenity and needed in a holiday. Allan and Wendy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Horizon Cottages for 9 nights in February 2012 and had a brilliant time. We were in Noordhoek for a friend's wedding and checked Trip Advisor for recommendations, read about this place and went for it of course! The accommodation is really nicely kitted out with the feel of a seaside cottage, really light and spacious with a good kitchen area, lovely living room/diner, great bedrooms and an enclosed garden area with bbq. The pool was a great extra, the kids loved it. Special thanks to Dennis and Jo, you were so helpful and informative and really welcoming! Sorry it's taken so long to get round to writing this review.. but we'll definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay in Cape Town. The accommodation is modern and secure, the staff very friendly. Noordhoek is well located to see the full range of brilliant Cape Town attractions and the town has good shops and some great places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

After extensive research I chose Horizon Cottages (Guinea Fowl Cottage) for our stay of nearly 3 weeks as it appeared to meet our needs for a family holiday - space for our two year old to play in, a pool, plus outdoor eating areas and a well equipped kitchen for self-catering. Well, it had all that and a lot more! The space to play in turned out to be a large garden, much bigger than anything else we saw in similar accommodation, and as it was enclosed it was perfectly safe for my son to play football, look for the tortoise or just run around.
The pool was great - big enough to swim lengths in and well maintained, and there are loungers with very comfortable and attractive cushions for the less energetic to lie on. As it was very hot in Cape Town while we were there having a pool was a huge bonus.
We had a lovely outdoor picnic table to eat at (as well as an indoor table and chairs), but we also put garden chairs out under the big trees or set ourselves up near our private large braai (barbeque), so there were several options for outdoor dining depending on the weather and optimum sunset viewing!
The kitchen was fully equipped, including all the extras like a cafetiere, placemats and a breadbin that make self-catering more home from home.
The TV had a full selection of channels, including all the sport for those, like us, that can't miss their English football, golf, tennis or rugby while away! There was also a very well stocked cupboard of books, magazines, games and local information.
And to cap it all off the beds and bed linen were amazing! We were away for 10 weeks in South Africa in all, during which time I slept in 9 different beds, and the king size bed at Horizon was by far the most comfortable, and I had the best sleep in it, helped also by the gorgeously soft percale cotton sheets and duvet cover. The linen was changed very regularly, and the cottage fully cleaned, so it stayed comfortable throughout our stay.
A quick word on the location - Noordhoek is probably as good as it gets in Cape Town. It has the perfect mix of beaches (Noordhoek beach is spectacular), restaurants (the best cheesecake is at Cafe Roux), family friendly things to do (like camel riding!), spots for picnics and sundowners (try the new picnics and sundowner cheese platters at Cape Point Vineyards just a few minutes away from the cottages for fabulous views and excellent wine) and easy access to Cape Town central, Constantia (for wine tasting), or nearby Fish Hoek, SimonsTown, Kalk Bay etc for warm swimming sea, tidal pools and kiddies playgrounds. Actually, writing about it is making me want to go straight back!
And I've left the best till last - Dennis and Jo, the owners of Horizon Cottages. They work tirelessly to offer the best holiday experience - it matters to them that you enjoy yourself and are comfortable and have everything you need. I have stayed in a LOT of holiday accommodation and I found their attention to detail and kindness a cut above anything I had seen before. My 2 year old was crazy about Dennis and followed him around, which he could have found a bit much but he was far too kind to show it - in fact he lent him a child's motorbike, showed him the tortoise, and gave his full attention to all the soft toys and other "love offerings" that my son presented him with. This really boosted my son's confidence, and he went from being incredibly shy to outgoing in the space of the 3 weeks we stayed there, for which we are really grateful!
So, all in all, we had a fantastic time and will cherish the memories for a long time - until we can go back to Horizon Cottages and make some new ones!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Cottages

Address: 9 Sea Cottage Drive | Noordhoek, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Cottages has made holidays in Cape Town affordable with fully equipped self Catering family cottages and Cabanas in a rural coastal valley suburb of Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa; offering a tranquil country lifestyle. Our guests enjoy the peace and tranquility, but find that our accommodation is very conveniently situated for all of the attractions of Cape Town.We offer family cottages that sleep 4-6 people and romantic studio Cabanas for a couple or with a small child.Our accommodations have fully equipped kitchens for self catering and everything required for a relaxing holiday.Beds are King size in the main bedrooms and all have orthopedic mattresses with luxury white cotton percale to ensure a good night's rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Cottages Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.