We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of four stars!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagoon Beach Road, Lagoon Beach, Milnerton 7435, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Milnerton
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worthy of four stars!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Though all rooms are suppose to be non-smoking, I had to endure sleeping in an ashtray the first night. The walls and carpets was covered in 'interesting' stains and marks, then there was the shower... I manged to move to a different room the next night, which was marginally better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    176
    86
    40
    35
See reviews for
94
142
23
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

This hotel had all the makings of a 5-star hotel, the views to Table Mountain and beach-front location are fantastic, and the hotel itself is finished to a high standard. Unfortunately the level of service (or lack of it) lets this hotel down. Hotel staff are very slow and their is no urgency to accommodate guests needs, almost as if staff have not been trained properly. On one occassion, it took over an hour for room service to be delivered - and we had only ordered a sandwich! Thai restaurant nearby is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have just returned from a week in the Lagoon Beach Apartments and had a lovely time there. Our apartment was on the ground floor which I was unhappy about as the patio doors had a bolt in to the floor as obviously the lock would have been easy to pick! There are 24 hr security guards but they are not always watching the apartments but looking out to sea! However the lounge, diner, kitchen is spacious but the bedrooms are very small and stuffy in the heat. No air con. A fan was provided but did not stretch in to the bedrooms. There is no dressing table space for the ladies which I was disappointed about. We had daily maid service but I was not always sure the towels provided were clean each day....Think the maid whipped the used ones in to the tumble dryer.....There is a washing machine but no dishwasher which we had been told there would be. The TV has local channels and only BBC world which was so boring. The cocktail bar was always busy and difficult to get served in the evening and they lost our drinks bill, but did not charge for it at checkout. The restaurant closed as it had a large party to cater for so we were not amused with that. There is a Thai restaurant nearby and also a Greek/Italian restaurant almost within the hotel grounds. The views of Table Mt are stupendous and the nearby nature reserve has lots of interesting sea birds including pelicans! There are lots of big shopping malls within easy travelling distance to buy food and about 15 mins in to Cape Town in the car. We had had a week in a flat in Cape Town beforehand so it was nice to be out of the city and do the areas around Milnerton and north of Cape Town like Paarl and Stellenbosch. I would think this was good value for money. Swimming pool on roof is not heated,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed here 27 and 28 February in a sea facing room, the room was nice enough but the service here was terrible! Also the location is far from Cape Town CBD and all the tourist sites so do not be fooled by the pretty view. Yes the view is pretty but you are situated in the slum areas of Cape Town that happens to have a beachfront. Also the sea view is stunning but do not think for a minute that you can swim here in Cape Town as the water is freezing. So get any images of splashing in the waves out of your mind if you from overseas as you will be greatly disappointed. If want a pretty sea view and just pose then Cape Town is for you.

There hotel directory clearly states that if one needs a chemist they are happy to make the arrangements well what a blatant lie. My husband was ill at the time and I made a request for Aspirin and no one was willing to help me. I was told rudely to come down to the office and bring the cash so they could arrange it. Why not send someone to my room? Where is the customer service? Why not charge it to the room account?
When my husband myself went to the reception to ask for the “office” the reception ladies who look like they about twelve were clueless and again were just plain unhelpful. So we never got any Aspirin, thankfully it was nothing serious but be warned that is what you will have to deal with if you plan to stay here. So hopefully you will not get sick or else your on your own!

Room service was very expensive and not worth the cost, my continental breakfast included a few sugar pastries, that did not taste very fresh and some yogurt slopped in a bowl. So much for the toast, muffin or anything else they had on the menu under Continental Breakfast. The prices are pathetic at the restaurant and are not justified at all. My sole was completely overcooked which spoilt the dish completely. The restaurant was not busy that night so there was no excuse. How does one even manage to ruin a delicate fish like sole boggles my mind!

On a postive note the room and hotel were very clean and the bed provieded a good nights rest so no issues there. The room bathrobes and slippers are a very nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We arrived at the 28.12.08 at the reception with our booking confirmation for a 2-bedroom-apartment for 6 nights.
During the sign-in process the lady at the counter mumbled something like: "Yah, well - so you will stay at two normal rooms."
I couldn't believe it and asked again. She told me, that the apartments are overbooked and they are only able to give us two normal rooms. After asking, what a normal room means, she declared: "A room without view."
Sorry, what??? Not to mention, we asked for the Manager in charge. Another lady showed up, without any greeting or apologies. She just ignored us and we waited at the counter almost 15 min. without anything happened. While waiting and started getting angry we realized, that we were not the only guests in trouble.
Our patience ran out of credit and we started a hot discussion and suddenly a Manager, named Eben, came on stage. A very smart man, obviously interested in his guests. After some coffee and another 30 min. he arranged two bedrooms - one with ocean view, one with half ocean view.
The very next day both of us (2 couples) were given real nice rooms with full Ocean and Table Mountain view and a balcony. Well done - after spoiling our arrival big time.
But this was just the beginning...
In a nutshell: This hotel is not worth it's money, exept Eben - one Manager and the Restaurants Cooks (with real passion for food and presentation). The hotel's appearance is elegant and the rooms (with view!) are nice and spacious, but the hotel's and restaurant's service is terrible and sometimes simply not existing. They don't seem to care about their guests in no way.
So, if you have a choise, choose a different hotel, there are plenty of them in CPT with nice views, maybe not that expensive and maybe with friendly hostages.

  • Liked — The view and the dinner at the restaurant
  • Disliked — Service Staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed here for 3 days with a group of 3 families and 2 singles on a 2 week custom trip around South Africa starting from a Safari to 3 days in Cape Town and then driving up the Garden Route to Plettenberg Bay and flying back to Jo'burg from Darwin. Hotel is modern, clean, very spacious rooms - perfect for a family of 4. Ours opened right on the beach although the door wouldn't close properly and we had some issue with sleeping in an open room on the ground floor facing a beach which seemed semi-public. All went fine though. The view of Tabletop mountain across the bay was spectacular. The cab ride to the waterfront in Cape Town is about 10 minutes and cheap. We spent New Year's at the hotel and it was a great party - casual but with great food. Our kids enjoyed pizzas and games in one of the rooms and there were no issues with them coming to the restaurant once in a while during the party. At breakfast the following day they had a Bloody Mary stand for curing hangovers - a nice touch. Would recommend this place for several days in Cape Town - makes a change from the wildlife/safari/lodge/colonial arrnegements we encountered on most of the rest of our trip.

There is a great seafood restaurant in a residential area on the beach about 1 mile north from the hotel. You can walk along the beach although you have to cross the little river that enters the sea next to the hotel or just take a cab. Staff will tell you the name.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have just returned from my 5th business trip to this 4* hotel which has magnificent views of Table Mountain, Cape Town city and surrounding areas from the deluxe sea facing room. This hotel is situated in Milnerton, approx 15 minutes drive along Marine Drive from the V&A waterfront where many delectable restaurants are to be found.
When I arrived and checked in at 9pm, the front desk had problems with the electronic keys which was resolved but could have gone a lot quicker. The hotel lacks ambiance due its vast lobby and the sparse furnishings. If you are looking for a quaint hotel with a homely feel, this would not be the right hotel for you. The hotel has a bar with huge sliding doors leading onto the patio where one of the pools are situated. The restaurant which serves breakfast is unfortunately also considerably big, which means if the hotel is not packed to capacity, you feel slightly lost in that vast room.
I was pleasantly surprised on entering the room to find a complimentary bottle of red wine and a bowl of small cakes. The king size bed, with its firm mattress and big fluffy cushions, is conveniently situated for easy TV viewing on a large flat screen TV. As a business traveller I appreciate the channels such as CNN/BBC. Unfortunately they do not cater for any “small” guests who would definitely lack Cartoon Network or similar. The bed is made up with sheets and blankets. The mini bar, which is located in the cupboard under the TV can be stock, if requested from the hotel. A mini safe is placed in the cupboard in which I store all my valuables. The cupboard has ample hanging space for 1 person and a full length mirror is to be found against one of the cupboard doors. The room has a 2 and 1 seater couch with a small coffee table as well as a writing desk with reading lamp and phone which is suitable for business travellers.
The bathroom, with separate toilet (which has its own phone), is small i.e. not much space to move. The shower itself is huge and the bath big enough for a large person to lie in. The towels are clean, big and fluffy and are replaced daily. Soap/Shampoo/Body Lotion etc is replaced daily.
I made use of room service regularly for both refreshments and food. The food was delivered hot and tasted wonderful and the presentation was great. I was advised, upon placing my order, that I would have to wait approx 30 minutes.
I did not have breakfast, but took the liberty of having a cup of coffee on the patio outside, next to the pool. I did not get charged for this cup of coffee and the staff cleaned the table and chair outside that I was using, without being requested to do so.
I ate at the Wang Thai restaurant situated alongside the hotel. The food they serve is Taiwanese and they prepare the most delicious sushi. I have never been disappointed during any of my previous numerous visits to this restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant. I walked through the hotel and had a short walk along the road to get there. I felt totally secure.
For more information on this hotel, you can visit their website www.threecities.co.za and follow the link “city hotels”

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments

Address: Lagoon Beach Road, Lagoon Beach, Milnerton 7435, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Beach Hotel offers unequalled vistas of Table Mountain and Atlantic Ocean. Immersed in an atmosphere of contemporary minimalist design and neutral tones, reflecting the natural surrounding environment. Decor is typical of a stylishly appointed modern city hotel. The hotel's 32 beach frontage deluxe suites offer a breathtakingly unique oceanside experience. Ten minutes from Cape Town's Waterfront, with direct access to the beach. Abalone Brassiere is a culinary delight to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Hotel And Apartments
Lagoon Beach Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments Cape Town/Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.