We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first bad then good!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Century Boulevard and Rialto Road | Century City, Milnerton 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milnerton
Trichardt, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“first bad then good!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

the start of my stay at crystal towers was terrible to say the least but got better afterwards..
heres a short description..

I mailed a week prior to my stay to request a early check in and also called a day before to do the same but when I arrived at the hotel the room was not ready.. speaking the the guy at reception (who was not at all helpful) he said that the person in the room is a procard member and can check out later the the normal check out times (I am a procard member as well so cant I get early check in?).. none the less he said I should be able to check in by 2pm or 3pm (normal check in is at 2pm so why later than that?) I had to leave my family at the hotel in the reception area at 12 to go to mosque as it was Friday (the reason I requested the early check in).. when I left I spoke to another lady who said that my room will be ready at 2 .. when I arrived back at about 2.30pm still nothing!!! apparently they had a guest who refused to leave the room (and they made their problem my problem) as I was suppose to check in by 2.. by now I was really upset and took a refund and left the hotel and decided to seek alternate accommodation.. just before leaving I called the GM Garry Coetser (who was not in at the time) and told him about the issues pathetic service from the hotel (except for one lady Momay who was really nice to us) .. within a few minutes he called me back to apologise and requested that I come back but I was on the highway out already.. a while later he called again and asked me to come back again as he had sorted out the problem with the room and had it all cleaned and ready for us to move in.. from there on everything changed.. the service seemed much better than previously and I really enjoyed the stay.. the room I booked was a suite and that was superb..
I must say that Gary really assisted and went the extra mile to make our stay even better.. small things like putting sweets and chocolates and juices in the room for the kids made a world of difference as after an exhausting day for them it just brought out the smiles.. huge thanks to Gary for all of his help .. had it not been for him I would not have gone back to the hotel ever again.. Gary in my rating gets 5 stars for service but not the hotel in this review for obvious reasons

Room Tip: suite is great.. other rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mohammed N
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments after your recent stay at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.
Once again please accept my most sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced on arrival at the hotel. I thank you from the depth of my heart for affording my TEAM and I the opportunity to rectify and address the shortcomings.
Your commendations of Mornay in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have shared your comments with her!
Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you and the family to African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa again in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.
Gary Koetser
General Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    64
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
75
13
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

As it happens, when you travel for business, you go wherever you are booked. The hotel is nice, clean, charming, situated in the Century city where you can find a lot of shopping and mall(s), a casino and who knows what else.
The rooms are really nice and stylish, clean. Service is generally nice, somewhat slow, but concierge/travel support could be improved as well as the offered transfer to the city center/Water front as I paid between 130 and 180 which is quite a difference. In addition, it appeared that the fitness center is in fact across the street not in the building itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear LoraTravelling
Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback after your recent stay with us. Our location next to Canal Walk shopping centre is convenient and only the second largest shopping centre in the Southern Hemisphere. One is sure to be pleased on the variety of shopping; retail; entertainment; etc. that the shopping Centre has offer. However, if one can’t find what they are looking for there, they can take the complimentary scheduled shuttle to the V&A Waterfront and City Centre for much continued shopping.
Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa again soon.
Jenine Booysen
GUEST Relations Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great service
food excellent
hotel generally the best you can get
The conference facilities and the service you get during the meetings are just too good to be true simply brilliant.
This Hotel is ideally situated and is very central for Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Ganks1

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback. It’s an absolute pleasure to share your comments on to the entire TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back to African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Jenine Booysen
GUEST Relations Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel is lovely but how honestly don't think is go back. I live in cape town & just needed a break away. The hotel entrance etc was lovely. I found the decor in the rooms a bit distracting. Especially the pink and purple lighting. Trying too hard to be modern/ edgy. This may appeal to some. Breakfast was great. The spa was good and it's well situated to canal walk shipping centre. The only thing I didn't like was the decor other than that lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear FerialO

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We therefore wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Should you require any assistance from our side in future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards
Gary Koetser
General Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Perfect destination to spoil someone and yourself. High tech hotel with attention to detail. Excellent Prokard discounts and walking over bridge to endless shopping and a shuttle to waterfront. Valet parking is great and the wifi perfect. Lots of options i.t.o restaurants. On site there are 3 good restaurants

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of Table Mountain. Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jannie

It’s an absolute pleasure to read your review and please be assured I will share this with the TEAM.

We are happy you had the opportunity to “live the Crystal Life”.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Gary Koetser
General Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Staff are friendly and welcoming!! Food is divine and amazingly presented!! Rooms....beautiful, sleek and everything a girl could ask for!! A must for anyone in search of the perfect ultimate get away in the city!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up which over looks Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear “Pure Bliss”

Thank you for your review and most of all thank you for your compliments received.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa again soon.

Best Regards
Gary Koetser
General Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our stay has been great despite a few hiccups on the way when we just arrived , the service definitely made up for it by 3 specific people namely Garry the manager , Wendy and Jenine booysen (guest relations manager ) and Abas the head chef which I mus commend as they have made our stay over the last 2weeks very with while and an absolute pleasure to be here and come back again . It's the small things and attention to finer detail that count and hav made our stay very enjoyable and a lasting impression ..from the nougat treats on turn down to the hello kitty bed spread for the kids to the temper pillows on request .. Food was Awsome in trying to accomadate and see to every ones needs .. The hotel went out of there way to make arrangements to baby sit our kids and they had an absolute blast and were spoilt rotten ! we were pleasantly surprised with the most beautiful little cupcakes with there names on it to the lucky packets to the play station for the kids which was left in the room for them for there use . Once again I'm highly grateful for giving us an opportunity to enjoy the hotel the way we should have and see it in a different light and exceeded our expectations especially in the last 3nights if our stay !
Sadly and Lastly I'm goin to be quite biast and Floridian about my bad encounter and disappointment at the spa - I booked this hotel specifically for the fact that we heard the spa was going to b great but unfortunately did not live up to my expectations . They made no effort to accommodate us with a booking
Of any sort of massage .. While I have been begging them on copious occasions from the 22 of December till this day but never availability and service of the front desk staff at the spa have been a great disappointment to my family and myself in accommodating even one person especially coming all the way from Durban on holiday.. And they need to buck up on there service instead of pulling the hotels reputation down and try to please or acvomadate more in house guests during there busy time . I jus feel they are all out rude and not willing to care or not bother turning guests away , nor is there ever a pleasant smile on there face. They advertise about vouchers for sale but then don't want you to use it during your stay of dec so what's the point ? And then can only give it as a gift and not use it on a spouse or yourself ? And I have been to many spas namely the 1and only , mount Nelson , Westin and the 12 apostles to name a few but the experience at this spa has unfortunately been an epic fail ..nevertheless the hotel definitely made up for my bad encounter with the spa .. Once again well done crystal towers on making out stay so enjoyable and I will def recommend this hotel to other guests ! Keep up the high standard ! I was really impressed even compared to the Starwood groups and the Hilton's and westins all around the world ! Thank you once again! Once again thank you to Jenine and Garry for making out stay unforgettable and exceeding our expectations beyond in every manner and making our extension of our stay worth every minute !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalTowers, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mrs Lockhat

It is with great delight that we receive your review. Your feedback is truly invaluable to us and highly appreciated.

Your commendations of Jenine; Chef Abbas ;and Wendy in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your visit to the Spa and confirm therefore that your feedback has been shared with the Spa TEAM.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We hope that you and the family will be staying with us again soon!

Best Regards
Gary Koetser
General Manager
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa

Address: Corner Century Boulevard and Rialto Road | Century City, Milnerton 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa is where innovative, modern design meets timeless sophistication and luxury. Located in the heart of the Century City urban hub, African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa is settled beside a palm-lined canal, and boasts views that stretch out towards the majesty of Table Mountain. Situated a mere 15 minutes from the airport, city centre, V&A Waterfront and the start of the luscious Cape Winelands, Cape Town is at one’s fingertips. What we call – Cape Town’s back yard. Take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttles to and from the CTICC, V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Camps Bay and Clifton Beaches. If you want to stay close by, take a walk across our exclusive access bridge to Canal Walk Shopping Centre, with 400 stores open all day. On your return, unwind on the deck with some fresh sushi and delicious cocktails, whilst watching the sun set over the metropolis. However, if you are looking for an intimate dinner, make your way down to the Towers Restaurant for a dining experience designed to entice the senses. If relaxation is at the top of your list, then a visit to the Award Winning Life Day Spa is an absolute must. It offers a unique place of relaxation that provides sanctuary from the stress of modern life. Facilities include treatment rooms for individuals and couples, a floatation chamber, a gym, sauna and steam rooms. To end the day, return to your magenta lit room and kick back with one of our complimentary DVD’s from the comfort of your bed or lie back in peace and soak in what it feels like to Live the Crystal Life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa Cape Town/Milnerton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.