We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at Knysna Manor House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Manor House to your Saves list
Knysna Manor House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi Fi
Ranked #51 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at Knysna Manor House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family had a fantastic 5 night stay here. Brenda and Anthony made us feel very welcome in the comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated rooms of this beautiful historical manor house. The location is perfect with many restaurants and shops etc within walking distance and it was an ideal base for exploring, by car, the many surrounding places of interest along the Garden Route. The full english breakfasts were delicious. We really appreciated the extra tips, advice and knowledge of the area given by our lovely hosts who go out of their way to look after you. We would highly recommend a stay here and would definitely return ourselves if we ever get the chance again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good Evening Tia,

Thank you so much for firstly choosing Knysna Manor House for your base whilst touring the amazing Garden Route.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding your whole experience. Anthony and Brenda are the most perfect hosts, and I can confirm that they do go out of their way to make guests experiences pleasurable.

We do hope that that we can welcome you or your friends back in the near future.

Kind Regards from Sunny South Africa
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
56
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travelled alone on business, and for this purpose the Manor was perfect. It is cosy and homely, with secure parking and a hearty breakfast. Centrally located for dining out and shopping. Thanks to the owners for moving me into the house to a more appropiate single room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I am so glad that Anthony and Brenda made you feel at home. That has always been one of my marketing lines, so am thrilled that a guest has actually used it.

We look forward to welcoming you back and making you feel at home again.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the warm reception, wonderful breakfast and comfortable rooms. True value for money. The Knysna Manor house is also very centrally positioned-easy to walk to sites, shops and banks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
It is always great to know that our guests also love and appreciate the Historical side of Knysna Manor House. As you know, our guesthouse was built in 1896 for the mayor of Knysna, and still has the original yellow wood floors, stairs etc.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the future.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hosts very friendly and helpful. Lovely spot to have breakfast and evening drink on verandah with view of lagoon. Very close to town and shops. Accommodation and breakfast value for money. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Good evening Margaret,

Thank you for choosing Knysna Manor House during your recent visit to our beautiful area. I agree the house is conveniently situated and has beautiful views from the deck.

Anthony and Brenda go out of the way to make guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolseley, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stay at Knysna Manor House as its close to where I need to be in Knysna for business. The rate are affordable. The management and staff are friendly and let you feel if you at home when away on business.
The rooms are neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Good evening Joel,

Knysna Manor House is a convenient place to stay when either on business or holiday. So glad that Anthony and Brenda made you feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a awesome time at Knysna Manor House. The service was excellent. We could not have asked for better hosts, and they catered for our every need. Early morning breakfasts on race days and keeping the bar fully stocked for the celebration there after. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Sharon,

Glad that everything was to your satisfaction, especially the honestly bar being stocked all the time. Anthony and Brenda are truly wonderful hosts, and are certainly our biggest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best wishes
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There was thick dust on furniture, the tv did not work properly , the beside lamp switch did not work, the fridge was not working. It was extremely noisy at night /early hours of the morning.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Carmel.

Thank you for your feedback. With regards to the TV and the lights, Brenda our manager said that just prior to your visit, she had two ladies staying in the room, and they did not report any problems, and when offered an upgraded room, said no, that they were quite happy in the "budget room" I have addressed the problem regarding the dust with the cleaning staff.

There are form in the rooms asking guests to advise management of any maintenance problems, and as such none were reported.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, and do hope that we are able to host you during next years Marathon.

Best wishes
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 11 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities and filtered water while guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 on the decks in summer. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. Please note our accreditations, we are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. We were accredited to be a Soccer World Cup accommodation provider during the 2010 games. If there were to be an overflow of cities needed accommodation, guests were to be flown to Knysna during the event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.