We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice experience"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Manor House

Save Saved
You added Knysna Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Nice experience"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in Knysna Manor for 3 days, and really enjoy this days. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and also the hotel is near to the main shops and banks.
Mrs. and Mr. Liddle made me feel like at home. So, thank you so much. Gabriel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Gabrrielle,

I am so glad that Anthony and Brenda made your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
47
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in a outside room on my last business trip and was looking for a reasonable place at a reasonable price. This was great. Food good place was clean but one downfall being situated above a busy 24 hour petrol site. Noise level on the outside rooms were disturbing as trucks filled up right threw the night. Breakfast views was fantastic and ample food to be had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Adrian,

Thank you so much for your honest words about Knysna Manor House. The problem with the garage has been reported to the relevant authorities on many occassions, even going as far up as the Head Office of Shell South Africa. We do apologise for the inconsiderate noise from Shell Garage, but do hope that this did not detract from your overall experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind Regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Manor House for two nights. We enjoyed the nice rooms and the Good and rich breakfast buffet. We apreciated the available WiFi, which makes planning very easy.
Angela, Elke, Gerhard and Dieter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Angela, Elke, Gerhard and Dieter,

So glad that everything was good for you during your stay.

Regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found the place to be as comfortable as home. The rooms were big and spacious with free Wi-Fi available. Breakfast was served on the porch which offers a bit restricted view of the waterfront. Their is a small swimming pool on the ground floor too. Although, the place has parking inside the premises, but it does get full occasionally if all rooms are occupied by people having cars!! The property is within 15-20 minute walking distance of the waterfront where most restaurants are located!!
We were amazed to find that Argentine football team stayed here for sometime during the World Cup and this place was one of the official accommodation of World cup.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay and Knysna Manor House and for taking the time to review us. If you have a look at our official website, you will see that we offer guests an environment the same as home, and we are glad we lived up to what we say. Knysna Manor House is more than a guesthouse, it is a place where guests can relax and feel at home.

With regards to the parking, we are aware of the problem when the guesthouse is full, and are happy to advise that we are in the process of purchasing the property next door, and when renovated will not only ample parking for all our guests.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back "home" again.

All the best
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The guesthouse is thoroughly charming and we were lucky enough to get without booking a wonderful room for two nights. Everything was clean, the breakfast is good, with a stunning view from the deck! The owners are verry nice and helpfull. We will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you and that you found everything to your liking. Brenda and Anthony are always very nice and helpful as you put it, and I know that they will go out of their way to give advice to guests. We do look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Gail Dalton
Owner
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenungsund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We are a family of four who stayed three nights at Knysna Manor House in January. Nice spacious rooms, excellent breakfast on the balcony, Wi-Fi, a near no-profit bar etc. Actually all you could ask for. Brenda and Anthony, the hosts, were very helpful suggesting tours and book for us. They even get discount in some places to our benefit. Absolutely a place were we would stay again. Thank you Brenda and Anthony for accomodating us!

Peeter, Carina, Viktor and Jakob

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Peeter, Carina, Viktor and Jakob,

When I read brilliant reviews like yours I realise that the previous review was just a guest trying to have a go at us, as everyone raves about Brenda and Anthony and how helpful they are. I am glad that you found everything to your liking and we look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your patronage.
Regards
Gail Dalton
Owner
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms were not cleaned well, the carpets were dirty.The hot water in the shower used to get to get finished in the midst of showering. There were 3 dogs on the property and they were allowed to get into the dinning area. The dogs were also smelling, there was also dog poo outside the property. There was a dog bed in the dinning area atracting flies.The toilets were smelling and was evident it was not cleaned properly on a daily basis.There was also hair in the towles. There was a stain on one of the pillow cases and the beding was not clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Morning Ray,

Thank you for your comments regarding Knysna Manor House.

Firstly the rooms are cleaned daily and during periods such as Christmas, we employ extra staff. Towels and bed linen are washed every second day if a guest is staying (which is the protocol of the whole hotel industry to save water and the environment). The carpets are steam cleaned at least three times a year.

Unfortunately, with 30 guests in the house, if all choose to shower at the same time, the water might not be piping hot.

The dogs are allowed on the deck, but not in the dining area. What you thought was a dogs bed was actually a big baby pillow from guests from room F3 used to put their baby on when they were eating.

Any dog poop is cleared up immediately, but you state that the poop was "outside" the property and not inside, so I presume it must have been from other dogs in the area.

Please refer to previous reviews from other guests, as everyone is happy with our guesthouse.

Regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980’s. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront.This Knysna accommodation consists of 11 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities and filtered water while guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 on the decks in summer. The newly extended deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. Your hosts, Brenda and Anthony Liddle will take care of your every need. Nothing is ever too much for them and Anthony can advise guests about the various tourist attractions and enthral you with his ever-growing knowledge of the history of Knysna and the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.