We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

From the minute we drove in we knew it would be a special experience. We were greeted by the owners Bianca and Ross and shown around their beautiful, minimalist, but welcoming guesthouse. We were asked if we would like a drink delivered to our room and promptly had a bottle of Champagne delivered (maybe because it was our anniversary?) The room was beautiful with a very large, super comfortable bed and with a huge terrace overlooking Knysna Heads. The chic black marble bathroom with large shower was decorated with rose petals - beautiful. Lovely toiletries.

We had our breakfast served on our terrace and this was delicious and perfectly presented.

The room, general decor of the house, hospitality of the owners and service from the staff was 5 star, together with the most fantastic views.

Room Tip: Owners Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
330
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic rooms, lovely food, great service where nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Ross and Bianca. Truly memorable for the overall quality, be it staff, fixtures and fittings, location or lovely attention to detail, we will definitely revisit !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Villa Afrikana was the perfect start to our Garden Route Tour. We stayed in the Owner's Suite and our friends stayed in the the Spitzkop Suite, both with balconies and a fantastic view over the lagoon. The villa is immaculate and very stylish in every respect. Breakfast on the balcony was really special and attention to detail was second to none. Bianca and Ross welcomed us when we arrived and were attentive and helpful throughout our stay and their staff were delightful; a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed last year for a couple of nights @ The Villa Afrikana in Knysna.
Beautiful house, cosy interiors and spendid staff.

Ross and Bianca created an amazing place to accomodate guests. Next time we are in Knysna we will surely stay there again.
The house is located on a hill side overseeing the lagoon.

Regards from Germany,
D and N ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Villa Afrikana on a tour of South Africa and were blown away. The hotel is immaculate, the service amazing, the food delicious and they even washed the car! We stayed in the Owner's Suite and were served breakfast on our balcony which had a fantastic view over the lagoon. Ross and Bianca's attention to detail was second to none.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the Villa Afrikana and loved it there. The greeting was very warm, and as the days progressed we realised what delightful people Bianca and Ross are, as were all their staff. We stayed in the Matarolli Suite, which I believe is the only one without a balcony, which we would have preferred but it was the only one left when we booked. As we knew this before we arrived it was not a problem.The room had magnificent views and there was a nice seating area. There was also plenty of outside seating and a good shady area for breakfast which we chose to have downstairs rather than in our room. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom spacious. The attention to detail was excellent, we arrived in a rather dirty car after our journey along a dirt track, Bianca arranged to have it cleaned for us, Ross was always interested in our plans for the day and would help when possible. It was a great stay and we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights how www wish it could have been more, Ross & Bianca were the perfect hosts, nothing was to much trouble. The staff were so friendly and always had a smile, and the service was outstanding. Breakfast served on our balcony was like a work of art carefully arranged and everything fresh and well presented. Breakfast is normally served from 8am, one morning we were playing Golf at Pezula (Fantastic) so we wanted an early breakfast, no problem "What time would suit you" was the reply. If ever we visit SA again Villa Afrikana is an absolutely must.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.