We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small palace run like clockwork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A small palace run like clockwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A beautifully kept and run guest house high on the hill with great views of Knysa. As the gate opens you are welcomed by the biggest smile you will find in South Africa. Ross and Bianca, well known in hospitality with a background in Silverseas cruise lines, have managed to create a home away from home. A beautifully appointed lounge and dining area with Bianca's creative touch displayed with all the unusual art pieces. Attention to detail included everything - to offering breakfast served on your balcony with the great view, assistance and knowledge of the area and suggested dinner venues which were spot on. It is very easy to get a taxi to the various dinner venues. The staff were extremely well trained and delivered impeccable service – a truly lovely place to stay

Room Tip: We stayed in the owners suite which was very well appointed and had a large bathroom with separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
329
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this fabulous guest house. What a good decision. Couldn't have been more impressed - greeted by owners with the offer of a glass of wine or beer, staff were super attentive and friendly, room was large and impeccably decorated. The attention to detail in all aspects of the house is beyond compare. Nothing was too much trouble - the owners Ross and Bianca are to be congratulated on their superlative attitude towards customer service. We highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting the highest standard in accommodation

Room Tip: The 2 rooms on the top level are especially fabulous because they have the best views - we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The owners have truly done something very special in converting this old house into a super stylish guest house with remarkable serviceand the friendliest, most generous welcome you could imagine. The idea of offering a free glass of wine and the. Another one on the terrace when we came back fro. Dinner was just so cool. The decor, bed, quietness, the owners and staff must make this THE place to stay in Knysna. Just don't rely on the Knysna taxis service....best to use your own car or walk!
This hotel must also be said to be the cleanest I have ever seen.

Room Tip: The balcony was amazing and the views so stunning it takes your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed the one night before heading back home a great ending to the holiday from the warm greeting from the staff to the fantastic ambiance, cleanliness, facilities, attention to detail. The great breakfast giving you the choice of what you want as well as having the option to eat it in your room. Ross and bianca were very warm and welcoming. Definitely a 5 star experience maybe better. Couldn't fault the service from the staff they work very hard. Thanks for the great experience

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Ross and Bianca made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us the run down on where to go and what to see. Their place is immaculate, well set out and with a view to die for. Breakfast was too order and fresh and tasty.
Shame we were only there for a night as we found there is plenty to do in Knysna.
Next time we will definitely stay a few days and definitely stay at the Villa Afrikana!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

....and we realized it during our "royal" reception. The house and rooms are as expected pristine and you can't beat the view over Knysna Lagoon. The attention of the staff is what made it for us. Bianca and Ross have obviously trained the staff well but the friendliness and sincerity of the staff made the service authentic. We stayed in 5 places during our 2 week Honeymoon and this was the highlight stay. We had a wonderful dinner at Firefly (which we recommend - awarded best Asian restaurant in SA in 2012) and even staying in one night with room service was a delight. We can't wait to come back and visit again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear PhilipBcapetown

We are happy to hear we have exceeded all your expectations for such an important occasion.

It was a pleasure serving you and looking forward to make your anniversary a memorable one next year.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Other reviews say it all - service, views, style all perfect with very helpful and knowledgeable owners. Three niggles: big niggle was that WiFi was inoperative through most of our 3 night stay; ordering breakfast the night before was pedantic, and less effective than all the tick boxes would indicate; and the attention to detail bordered on the claustrophobic. We really enjoyed Knysna!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear David G

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our overall services, style and views of the Knysna Lagoon.

We sincerely apologize for the patchy WiFi connection, as mentioned during your stay, our provider has been upgrading the area existing cable and households connections with fiber optics for some time now and as a result the service is being disrupted regularly. On a positive note, it bodes well for the future as Villa Afrikana and guests will be served a better and faster connection at the end of the upgrading.

We pride and thrive in our meticulous attention to details, eagerness to please and unpretentious ambiance; we regret we failed, although unintentionally, to convey the same during your stay.

Our breakfast card, which is usually but not necessarily completed the night before retiring, is conceived to allow our guests the flexibility to have their breakfast whenever and most important wherever they desire as they can choose to have it with the other guests in the dining area or public veranda or, as ever popular, in the privacy of their own balcony. It lists breakfast favorite items for everyone from full English to continental Europe and Vegetarian. It guarantees the freshness of the items and their safe consumption as every item is prepared to order and not prepared nor precooked the night before to be displayed early the next morning, your “cold food is cold” and your “hot food is hot”.

Again we apologize for not having exceeded your expectations and hope to be welcoming you back in this wonderful town of Knysna and at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Escapio, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.