We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We regreted only staying 2 nights....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We regreted only staying 2 nights....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

....and we realized it during our "royal" reception. The house and rooms are as expected pristine and you can't beat the view over Knysna Lagoon. The attention of the staff is what made it for us. Bianca and Ross have obviously trained the staff well but the friendliness and sincerity of the staff made the service authentic. We stayed in 5 places during our 2 week Honeymoon and this was the highlight stay. We had a wonderful dinner at Firefly (which we recommend - awarded best Asian restaurant in SA in 2012) and even staying in one night with room service was a delight. We can't wait to come back and visit again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear PhilipBcapetown

We are happy to hear we have exceeded all your expectations for such an important occasion.

It was a pleasure serving you and looking forward to make your anniversary a memorable one next year.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
375
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Other reviews say it all - service, views, style all perfect with very helpful and knowledgeable owners. Three niggles: big niggle was that WiFi was inoperative through most of our 3 night stay; ordering breakfast the night before was pedantic, and less effective than all the tick boxes would indicate; and the attention to detail bordered on the claustrophobic. We really enjoyed Knysna!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear David G

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our overall services, style and views of the Knysna Lagoon.

We sincerely apologize for the patchy WiFi connection, as mentioned during your stay, our provider has been upgrading the area existing cable and households connections with fiber optics for some time now and as a result the service is being disrupted regularly. On a positive note, it bodes well for the future as Villa Afrikana and guests will be served a better and faster connection at the end of the upgrading.

We pride and thrive in our meticulous attention to details, eagerness to please and unpretentious ambiance; we regret we failed, although unintentionally, to convey the same during your stay.

Our breakfast card, which is usually but not necessarily completed the night before retiring, is conceived to allow our guests the flexibility to have their breakfast whenever and most important wherever they desire as they can choose to have it with the other guests in the dining area or public veranda or, as ever popular, in the privacy of their own balcony. It lists breakfast favorite items for everyone from full English to continental Europe and Vegetarian. It guarantees the freshness of the items and their safe consumption as every item is prepared to order and not prepared nor precooked the night before to be displayed early the next morning, your “cold food is cold” and your “hot food is hot”.

Again we apologize for not having exceeded your expectations and hope to be welcoming you back in this wonderful town of Knysna and at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to believe that a place can have such a good rating, until you spend 3 nights there. Besides having someone bring an umbrella to you're car when it's raining, besides the dvd and book collection in the lounge, besides the made to order breakfast served in your room on your balcony, besides all the other amazing things they do. It's the little touches that make this place special, like sherry and chocolates when you return from a day of ziplining, the flowers on pillow, the bath salts. This is why this place deserves to be where it is. We had an amazing stay here and this small and cozy villa deserves every single bit of praise it gets! Well done guys!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear JuliusK

Thank you for praising all our little details, “try them to believe”

It will be a pleasure having you staying with us again and try the latest surprises we have to offer sooner than later.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything was perfect : warm hosts, helpfull staff, huge and clean rooms, tasty breakfast. Very helpfull regarding golf bookings at Pezula and Simola and tips for what to do around Knysna. Looking forward to our next visit in September 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear NRueff

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay as well as your rounds of golf.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year at Villa Afrikana; we promise we will be better golfers this time around.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Abbach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Villa Afrikana. The people there anticipated every wish from us - awesome! We also got some very useful hints from the owner of the Villa what we can do during our stay. We absolutely recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Stefan

Thank you for the “Awesome” comments and again for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as a “Friends & Family” member of Villa Afrikana.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay with superior service , wonderful rooms ( we had he top two rooms ) with views over the heads and a superb breakfast experience. We were there for 2 nights and the whole thing was great for us . The decor and facilities plus the staff really stood out for us and it made our holiday in SA even better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Bryan

Thank you for your Wonderful review and delighted to hear we positively contributed to your overall South Africa experience. We are conveying your positive comments to all of the team. Bianca is elated to read about your excellent breakfast experience.

We all sincerely hope to meet you again in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Elegant and spacious rooms, great views of the Knysna heads, friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts made our stay at Villa Afrikana our most enjoyable experience in South Africa. Ross and Bianca's hospitality and attention to detail made our stay at Villa Afrikana an unforgettable experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Daniel

We are delighted to read your unforgettable review. We all sincerely hope to meet you again in the near future to enjoy many more breakfasts together.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
137.1 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
13.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.