We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic - brilliant - wonderful !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Bad Abbach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic - brilliant - wonderful !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Villa Afrikana. The people there anticipated every wish from us - awesome! We also got some very useful hints from the owner of the Villa what we can do during our stay. We absolutely recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Stefan

Thank you for the “Awesome” comments and again for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as a “Friends & Family” member of Villa Afrikana.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
369
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay with superior service , wonderful rooms ( we had he top two rooms ) with views over the heads and a superb breakfast experience. We were there for 2 nights and the whole thing was great for us . The decor and facilities plus the staff really stood out for us and it made our holiday in SA even better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Bryan

Thank you for your Wonderful review and delighted to hear we positively contributed to your overall South Africa experience. We are conveying your positive comments to all of the team. Bianca is elated to read about your excellent breakfast experience.

We all sincerely hope to meet you again in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Elegant and spacious rooms, great views of the Knysna heads, friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts made our stay at Villa Afrikana our most enjoyable experience in South Africa. Ross and Bianca's hospitality and attention to detail made our stay at Villa Afrikana an unforgettable experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Daniel

We are delighted to read your unforgettable review. We all sincerely hope to meet you again in the near future to enjoy many more breakfasts together.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

we spent three memorable days at the Villa. everything was superb, from the accommodation to the service and hospitality. thank you so much Ross and Bianca and your amazing staff.
nothing was left out - attention to detail was out of this world. memories for life were made here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Bea S

Thank you for the superb review; we hope to be in your memories for a long time to come, in the meantime we are looking forward to be welcoming you again next year to share more of the same.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For our recent stay at Knysna I guess we chose the best B&B ever: modern style villa, luxurious rooms with splendid views, warm welcome, impeccable service, best breakfast ever.
Thanks to the owners: their exquisite taste and kindness made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Carine

Thanks to you for a memorable review; we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Afrikana and looking forward to be welcoming you again sooner than later.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by Bianca and staff members and welcomed to this amazing villa.
Two of the staff members immediately took our cases from the car and Bianco gave us a much welcomed drink. We were then given a tour of the villa and it's facilities of which we were already extremely impressed. We were then escorted to our room which was the 'owners suite' with it's private balcony overlooking the lagoon and onto Knysna Heads. The room itself was roomy, spotless and extremely comfortable. A great start! But the best thing about this Villa is the service. If there was an 'oscar' for customer service, then the Villa Afrikana would win it! One of the staff members, 'Lovemore' who always seemed to be on duty, was always at your side but without being overbearing and nothing was too much trouble.
Bianca and Ross are the perfect hosts and should be proud of having such a fantastic staff.
When next in Knysna this is the only place we will be staying. The place is perfect and in a very apt named area...'Paradise'

Room Tip: All floors above the ground floor have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Glescaboy

Thank you for the “Oscar for Service” nomination and the wonderful review; it put a big smile on Lovemore face when he read it. We are indeed proud of our product and most of all of the staff that delivers it day after day.

We are looking forward to reserve “Your Place in Paradise” in the near future

“Until we meet again”, Greetings
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

From the welcoming party of Ross and Bianca with 3 staff members who whisk away the suitcases, park the car, pour the welcoming wine, show off the amazing villa, through the reservations and transportation to dinner, to the lovely pre ordered breakfast, the service at Villa Afrikana is exemplary, almost overwhelming. The room and view were gorgeous, the bed and sheets the best we've slept on in a hotel. Absolutely top notch!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.