We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well oiled machine firing on all cylinders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Save Saved
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
R1,490 (ZAR)
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A well oiled machine firing on all cylinders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Rarely does a hotel succeed in ticking so many boxes it gives us great pleasure to say. Here is a hotel which has considered all the best qualities of their competitors, kept standards high, thrown in the personal and very genuine home owner welcome and holds up the bar for others to try and reach.

There are little touches to admire - everywhere. Tick box style breakfast of the very highest standard, a team of some of the friendliest staff you'll ever meet and well maintained, modern, stylish rooms.

Ross and Bianca should be very proud of themselves indeed. We'll be recommending this hotel to all and it certainly stood out as one of the best hotels we've visited on our trip. Don't hesitate in booking this great little five star bundle of joy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear stuross300,

Likewise, it gives us as much pleasure and pride in reading what a wonderful experience you had while staying at Villa Afrikana as we enjoyed pleasing you “our guest”.

Thank you “Until we meet again”, greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
295
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ross and Bianca are delightful hosts. Bianca was there waiting to greet us and before we knew it a glass of wine and beer were there along with tasty chocolate strawberries. Bianca advised us of restaurants to visit and places to go. We stayed in |The Owners Suite. Huge balcony where we breakfasted every morning looking over the bay to Knysna Heads. The breakfast was huge. 10 fruits on the fruit platter and eggs bacon sausage mushrooms etc set us up for the rest of the day. The staff were so polite and eager to please. They couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as could be. Our car was even washed for us on our morning of departure. I would definately recommend Villa Afrikana. Well done to Ross and Bianca and the staff of course.

Room Tip: stayed in the owners suite. huge balcony, excellent view, own staircase and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear mossy10,

Thank you for the great comments and thank you for sharing some but not all of our little surprises. We will be delighted to convey your satisfaction to our pleasing and hard working staff.

“Until we meet again”, greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldgate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Never have I stayed where the service was so impressive. The hosts were delightful and could not have been more helpful. I happened to leave a small bottle of wine on the bench and the next thing there were two wine glasses beside it. The same with the liquor I took out of my case. The appropriate glasses appeared. When I said we were having trouble with the WiFi there appeared a router outside our door which resulted in perfect reception. Our needs were met at all times. So much so that laughingly I mentioned that my snoring was a problem and on the bed were ear plugs!! It was a delight to stay there and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: I am not sure what rooms they have but ours faced directly out to the heads and the lagoon. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for 2 nights on a stopover driving along the garden route. We obviously picked this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! Arrival was smooth and we parked our car outside and were greeted at the door by Bianca who is one of the owners together with Ross. She brought us around the Villa and then accompanied us to our Gouna suite and showed us where everything was. We were also offered a drink and we chose to have a glass of wine which they served with some strawberries to enjoy on our private balcony. All the rooms come with a private balcony and just vary in size but nearly all of them have views to The Heads. Rooms higher up of course have more privacy when you are sitting in your balcony. Bianca has great taste and so the bedrooms are done very tastefully in a modern contemporary style. It was nothing too Zen or minimalistic but just more modern with a touch of “Africa” here and there. The bathroom was humongous with double sinks and a bathtub along the window with views to The Heads. Shower cubicle was fitted with a “Rain Shower” and the plus point, you have floor heating if needed in the bathroom. They have an honesty bar downstairs so you just write down what you take and is really convenient if you want to have a night cap when you come back to the Villa after dinner. You get a breakfast card every night which you need to fill out with what you want to have and then hang it outside on your door. We picked to have breakfast downstairs in the big terrace the first day and in our private balcony the second. Both experiences were very good and the breakfast fresh and delicious. The service staff was always very friendly and tried to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They had a little “home-made” guide book as to what to see around the area as well as restaurant recommendations. We followed their tip for dinner and both places we tried on the 2 nights were good. Overall Villa Afrikana offers a more homely and personal experience compared to big Hotel chains. The lovely couple live there and are there everyday looking after the guests and helping out with anything that you might need including going through the map to show you how to get to your destination. Thumbs up for Villa Afrikana!

Room Tip: Higher up and at the corner offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Villa Afrikana is a stunning property perched on a hill overlooking the Knysna lagoon. Beautifully decorated from the inside, the property is designed for each room to enjoy the spectacular view of the lagoon. Bianca, the owner (with her husband Ross) greeted us warmly on our arrival, and gave a tour of the beautiful property. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a room with a balcony, and welcomed us with a drink and chocolate coated strawberries (hey, why not- we're on vacation!). The service was excellent, breakfast absolutely outstanding (they give you a menu to fill out with breakfast requests) which they will serve to you in your room, on your balcony, or in the beautiful dining room or outdoor dining area. It is clear why this property is ranked the highest in Knysna- and long may it be so!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i cant not believe you find places like these in this world still. We loved the setting the decor and certainly the hosts Bianca and her husband . Great people with great personality . We will definately be coming back every year for our anual holiday and im sure we wil still stay the same as always . Keep up the good work excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is out of this world. The rooms and house are decorated beautifully and the views of the heads are superb. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Ross and Bianca have great recommendations of restuarants and things to do in the local area which is much appreciated. This is definitely the place to stay in Knysna!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.