We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Afrikana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Afrikana Guest Suites to your Saves list
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Aldgate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Villa Afrikana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Never have I stayed where the service was so impressive. The hosts were delightful and could not have been more helpful. I happened to leave a small bottle of wine on the bench and the next thing there were two wine glasses beside it. The same with the liquor I took out of my case. The appropriate glasses appeared. When I said we were having trouble with the WiFi there appeared a router outside our door which resulted in perfect reception. Our needs were met at all times. So much so that laughingly I mentioned that my snoring was a problem and on the bed were ear plugs!! It was a delight to stay there and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: I am not sure what rooms they have but ours faced directly out to the heads and the lagoon. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
327
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for 2 nights on a stopover driving along the garden route. We obviously picked this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! Arrival was smooth and we parked our car outside and were greeted at the door by Bianca who is one of the owners together with Ross. She brought us around the Villa and then accompanied us to our Gouna suite and showed us where everything was. We were also offered a drink and we chose to have a glass of wine which they served with some strawberries to enjoy on our private balcony. All the rooms come with a private balcony and just vary in size but nearly all of them have views to The Heads. Rooms higher up of course have more privacy when you are sitting in your balcony. Bianca has great taste and so the bedrooms are done very tastefully in a modern contemporary style. It was nothing too Zen or minimalistic but just more modern with a touch of “Africa” here and there. The bathroom was humongous with double sinks and a bathtub along the window with views to The Heads. Shower cubicle was fitted with a “Rain Shower” and the plus point, you have floor heating if needed in the bathroom. They have an honesty bar downstairs so you just write down what you take and is really convenient if you want to have a night cap when you come back to the Villa after dinner. You get a breakfast card every night which you need to fill out with what you want to have and then hang it outside on your door. We picked to have breakfast downstairs in the big terrace the first day and in our private balcony the second. Both experiences were very good and the breakfast fresh and delicious. The service staff was always very friendly and tried to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They had a little “home-made” guide book as to what to see around the area as well as restaurant recommendations. We followed their tip for dinner and both places we tried on the 2 nights were good. Overall Villa Afrikana offers a more homely and personal experience compared to big Hotel chains. The lovely couple live there and are there everyday looking after the guests and helping out with anything that you might need including going through the map to show you how to get to your destination. Thumbs up for Villa Afrikana!

Room Tip: Higher up and at the corner offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Villa Afrikana is a stunning property perched on a hill overlooking the Knysna lagoon. Beautifully decorated from the inside, the property is designed for each room to enjoy the spectacular view of the lagoon. Bianca, the owner (with her husband Ross) greeted us warmly on our arrival, and gave a tour of the beautiful property. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a room with a balcony, and welcomed us with a drink and chocolate coated strawberries (hey, why not- we're on vacation!). The service was excellent, breakfast absolutely outstanding (they give you a menu to fill out with breakfast requests) which they will serve to you in your room, on your balcony, or in the beautiful dining room or outdoor dining area. It is clear why this property is ranked the highest in Knysna- and long may it be so!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i cant not believe you find places like these in this world still. We loved the setting the decor and certainly the hosts Bianca and her husband . Great people with great personality . We will definately be coming back every year for our anual holiday and im sure we wil still stay the same as always . Keep up the good work excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is out of this world. The rooms and house are decorated beautifully and the views of the heads are superb. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Ross and Bianca have great recommendations of restuarants and things to do in the local area which is much appreciated. This is definitely the place to stay in Knysna!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had the joy and pleasure of spending 4 nights in Villa Afrikana and would return in a heartbeat. Knysna is a jewel in the South African crown - but the hosts Ross and Bianca are the diamonds. Every attention to detail, excellent staff and amazing friendly knowledge from the hosts.
We toured South Africa for 3 weeks, but Villa Afrikana is spellbinding and we would go back just to stay in this beautiful, top class place again. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was divine. as was everything else. Words are not enough to recommend the atmosphere and the setting. Go........

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, generously furnished from the flowers on the pillows to the daily weather for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good - the room was excellent with a great view over the lagoon. The staff and service were also excellent. Eating breakfast/dinner within the privacy of your own balcony but with fantastic views of the lagoon was a good experience. It made our stay very pleasant - I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Knysna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear redarmy1006,

Thank you for the great comments; we will certainly convey your compliments to our staff.

“Until we meet again”, greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites is recognized as an innovator in the Guest House category, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Family Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.