We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, but becareful if you use the Eyewitness Guide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Waterfront Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Point, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Fairhaven MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great B&B, but becareful if you use the Eyewitness Guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Great little B&B, but the Eyewitness Guide to South Africa lists the wrong telephone number for the Waterfront Lodge! We spent two nights here, in winter, so some of Knysna was closed. Gavin, our host provided some good advice on where to visit locally.

Breakfast was excellent, The rooms (we had two) were large, clean, great views, big bathrooms. Good value for money, we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This was our second stay at THE WATERFRONT LODGE IN KNYSNA and was as ood as the first visit. the hosts Marion and Gavin are so friendly and helpful they make you feel so welcome, its so homely you can go to breakfast in relaxed clothing, you dont even have to lock your room door. Kate and Jay who cook breakfast are so sweet and they will recommend dinner and reserve the restaurant for you they are so obliging and the breakfast is fantastic, Your car is washed every morning....lovely spot overlooking the Lagoon...rooms are amazing with lovely balconies such luxury, we were golfing and Marion booked our tee times ......the town of Knysna is lovely and the waterfront has some lovely restaurants TAXIS SO CHEAP, Bennies taxis which Kate will book are so reliable THE BEST RESTAURANT IS PEMBREYS, WE WOULD NEVER STAY ANY WHERE ELSE IF IN KNYSNA..... NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THEM TO ORGANISE...... WATERFRONT LODGE......THE BEST RELAXING PLACE EVER.....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Second stay at this homely upscale B & B and will be very happy to return for a third visit in 2011.

Great position just a short ride to the centre of Knysna which suited us perfectly. Marion and Gavin fantastic hosts aided by the wonderful J and Kate who could not have been more helpful booking great restaurants (Pemburys the favourite) and suggesting days out. Really nice room (no 7) on the ground floor leading directly on to the garden and out over the lagoon. A new service from the previous stay is the turn down service which is great as fresh towels are provided. Breakfast excellent.

Nice decor to the entire property with an honesty bar provided. It should be pointed out that three cats can occasionally been spotted around the property which wasn't a problem at all for us but worth mentioning if an issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We used Waterfront Lodge as a base for a golfing and sightseeing holiday. Gavin and Marion could not have been more helpfull, organising our games in advance at stunning golf courses. Waterfront Lodge is about a mile out of Knysna which gives it a lovely "out of town" feeling. The rooms are, as a result, quiet and feel quite secluded with their beautiful lagoon views. Gavin's knowledge of the area proved to be extensive as he recommended some wonderful drives in the Knysna area, the Prince Alfred Pass being quite remarkable. As we were a little out of town we thought that we would have the nuiscence of using taxi's on an evening. However Marion and Kate booked us into fantastic restaurants with free shuttle service there and back, excellent.
Overall a lovely relaxing place to stay. Beautifull, quiet rooms. Friendly staff and great hosts. Our best stay on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The settings were beautiful . We had booked for 2 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we ended staying for 10 nights instead.. The staff and owners were more than helpful.. Breakfast is delightful so much to choose from... nothing was to much trouble for them .. would recommend definately whilst in the Knysna ( And our hire car was washed every morning as a bonus ..these little touches were special)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We used the Waterfront for a 2-night stay at the end of a tour along the Garden Route before returning to Cape Town. Unfortunately, our break was spoiled by the position of our room. To be precise, Room 8. Not waterfront lagoon-facing at all, despite the hotel brochure stating ' all have lagoon views' conflicting with their details on the website. Our view was of a concrete slab wall two metres away and at the window, a rather large tree trunk blocking the view over the car park. The two other couples in our party received lagoon views which did not help the situation. For the record, there are also cats in the dining room - not very hygenic, re-surfacing and widening of the main road by the hotel entrance causing early noise, and more importantly, poor security as room keys are hung up behind the unlocked front door to the hotel for anyone to collect. Sorry, but there is some work to be done to avoid further dis-satisfied guests. Food was good and the two younger staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

A lovely guest house where the staff were extremely accommodating, welcoming and helpful. We arrived after a long drive with a flat tyre on our hire car. Immediately Marion asked for our hire car details and organised for another car to replace ours first thing the next morning. Rooms were lovely, clean, wonderful views, with Tea/Coffee etc. The restaurant was nicely laid out and breakfast was plentiful and varied. The views from the hotel were magnificant. The lounge area was warm and tastefully decorated, although we didn't spend much time in it during our stay, we all felt very comfortable and 'at home'. Gavin was excellent at giving directions and suggesting places to visit, and the younger members of staff were also impressive in carrying out their duties.
The only negative point is that there are 'family cats, and for anybody allergic or cat phobic, the holiday companies should perhaps point this out. For us though, this wasn't a problem. A lovey hotel that I would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: The Point, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.