We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Home From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Waterfront Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Point, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Real Home From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful place to spend time in a lovely location! Waterfront Lodge is situated right on "The Point" in the Knysna Lagoon. The water practically comes up to the end of the garden. It is a beautiful house and the owners, Marian & Gavin are wonderful hosts. They gave us such a warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Marian was eager to please and make sure we had everything we needed and told us that we had only to ask and she would do her best to help. Gavin did the cooking for breakfast and everything was cooked fresh, to order and was delicious..
Our room was lovely, with a wonderfully comfortable double bed. We had a large balcony overlooking the lagoon - perfect for enjoying a complimentary port after a busy day's activities. The bathroom was spotless with large bath & separate shower.
There was a lovely swimming pool in the garden so we could sit round and soak up a bit of sun when we'd had enough travelling around.
Staying at the Waterfront Lodge really was a highlight of our trip and we would recommend anyone visiting this town to consider staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Waterfront Lodge has an ideal location on the lagoon with beautiful views just from the end of the garden. Although it's a little way out of the town this is a small price to pay. Room was spacious and comfortable, although this was achieved in part by the strange arrangement of having the bath and shower in the bedroom area (fortunately the toilet is in a separate room!). Our hosts were welcoming and very helpful, Marion is a bit bonkers and her desire to help verges on the obsessive but Gavin is a model of calm and sensible advice (and his cooked breakfast is very good).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Marion and Gavin made us so welcome and went out of their way to book us a massage, arrange dinner and transport to and from the restaurant. We wish we could have stayed longer. The house and location were delightful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here with my private group. What a pleasure, away from the hustle and bustle in town and with a car you are in two minutes at all the restaurants and shops in Knysna. The host are very obliging and attentive. The rooms are comfortable and equipped with everything one needs. The garden faces directly onto the Knysna lagoon and has a sparkling pool. The honesty bar is well stocked. I will return, as will my guests.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs lead directly into the garden. Upstairs one has more views. Nr. 8 is not lagoon fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter , Marion and Gavin made us very welcome recommending restaurants , walks and views . The house is lovely we had a large room with a large en suite (room 5 ) with a wrap around balcony . The garden at dusk was full of bird life , the view over the estuary was fantastic . We loved the atmosphere, welcome and felt like we part of a large extended family . I would love to return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hosts.. they gave us a warm welcome and helped us to feel at home. The room was nice and well maintained. On the last day of our stay they also advised us of the route that our tom-tom couldnt... And we managed to go to Cape Agulhas' the southernmost tip of Africa. A beautiful place and unique in the sense that many people fail to visit it. It was a beautiful place, Indian Ocean on one side and Atlantic on the other.. Thanks a ton Marion!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic hosts made us feel so welcome during our short stay. Marion welcomed us to their home and gave us the grand tour. Our room was possibly the smallest on our trip, however this was more than made up for with access to the immense residents' lounge, plus bar, outdoor lounge area and pool area - plus we had direct access to a terrace and the lawn. Perfect. Scrumptious breakfasts, with freshly baked croissants and muffins, were created by Gavin, who was also a great source of information. Some great advice re local spots to enjoy.
We were glad to be able to avoid all the travel adaptors with a square pin socket in our room. A touch of genius! A daily car wash kept us sparkling too!
It was lovely to meet Marion and Gavin and they gave us a most memorable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: The Point, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.