We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amanzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzi Island Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amanzi Island Lodge to your Saves list
Amanzi Island Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Cearn Drive, | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Knysna B&B and Inns
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Amanzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A stay of just one night (unfortunately fully booked further) was absolutely great, thanx. Will be back, soon I hope…
The lodge is amazing, neat, clean, well-furnished and most of all the service is the best. The personal touch makes it all the better.

Thanx again Helen

Ahmed Kara

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Heads would be great, but the others are as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Ahmed
We really enjoyed having your family at Amanzi (it's always great to have such happy enthusiastic guests) and look forward to treating you all to a bit more Amanzi magic when you next need to escape to the Garden Route!
All the best until then,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
245
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving during the storm of the year, the trees were sideways, lashing with rain and the internet was down! Who cares we are on holiday. By morning the blue skies returned and we saw the raw beauty of this lagoon area and the neat manicured leisure isle is a gem to explore.The girls at Amanzi are a scream and clearly know the hospitality game very well, with an excellent honesty bar, wonderful breakfast, endless advice on eating out and touring. They even recommended a good barbers. Our upstairs room overlooking the rear garden was not that big but adequate and well equipped (lovely biscuits). Thanks for a superb stay Amanzi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Yip - they say in Knysna, "If you don't like the weather - just wait a minute", and you witnessed the full spectrum! And you'll never be short of laughter (or biscuits) at Amanzi - it must be something to do with the fab guests that we get ;)
Hope to see you both again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hostess and her family couldn't have been more welcoming, and even joined in celebrating our engagement! The room was spacious, well decorated, and fabulous views. Breakfast was superb, great selection and again presentation! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Ha ha!! Any excuse for a celebration and a glass of bubbles :)
Wishing you two lovelies all the best, and looking forward to seeing you back at Amanzi when you're Mr and Mrs!

p.s. Mum's stilllllll talking about that gorgeous engagement ring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice room with great view to the lagoon even out of the bath!
Breakfast was delicious and the whole atmosphere very relaxed!
Two showers in front of each other was also a plus!
Good advice for dinner and lunch..
only minus point was the cleanliness of the shower, fungi at ceiling and edges, but I guess they will fix it now. So the lodge is absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a very good lodge on a great location. We had a huge room with a large bathroom and big terrace. Breakfast is very good and the owners are really friendy and give good sightseeing and dinner recommendations. The island is safe at night.

Room Tip: We had one of the superior lagoon facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenBennett, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Amanzi and the quirky luxury of the room with two bathrooms! Yep - Leisure Isle is special and walking around at night without a care in the world is a treat. We hope to see you again on your next trip to SA:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, had a lovely room with balcony overlooking lagoon with 2 bathrooms.Huge bed and great view, loads of towels and space.
Margaret sorted us out everyday , huge breakfast, loads of chats.
Loved it !!!

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

we stayed only 1 night & wish we could stay more
great location- quiet & still very close to town
best hospitality- the stuff is so nice & friendly & have very good recommendations in the area & more
Lovely rooms, beautifully decorated - we had a room with balcony view to the lake
we couldn't ask for a better place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Address: 31 Cearn Drive, | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzi Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.