We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. James of Knysna

Save Saved
You added The St. James of Knysna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The St. James of Knysna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Knysna
Hoganas, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed in South Africa. We got a warm welcome even though we were early. Extreemely serviceminded and helpful people were running this place.
The room was an absolute dream. Large and airy with a fantastic view.
This place is a bit outside the town Knysna, but if you are not a party animal this is the place to relax and just enjoy the atmosphere. The restaurant has a fair menu and veri friendly and personal service.
If we are ever in the area we will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    25
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
101
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas season and enjoyed a wonderful Christmas eve dinner of creamy escargot, duck breast and chocolate dessert. Our room was beautiful and clean and the grounds of the establishment were breathtaking with a colorful garden and estuary views. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating even going out of their way to reopen the kitchen and make me vegetable soup when I was not feeling well and we had missed dinner. We loved the location just out of the main part of town and enjoyed use of the hotel's canoe and swimming pool. A very relaxing place with good energy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a Shame. The St James at Knysner had all the ingredients to make this old manor house a truly memorable stay however this hotel has become memorable for all the wrong reasons.

after a fairly arduous journey from our last wonderful truly 5 star destination we were greeted by a rather odd french manager/bell boy/waiter who proceed to make strange jokes about nothing.(no welcome drink) this was followed by a problem with our reservation. The problem was dealt with a lot of shouting on the phone as i was left wondering around the hotel with no one explaining the problem or any time offering me a solution to the lack of room.

Eventually this was sorted out and even though my room had been given to someone else i was given an upgrade to big bigger suite, this was then followed with comments like. "dont worry about the mix up you've got an even better room now."

my room was a large suite a little dated in decor and bathroom. the towels were thin and rough. bath robe were all too small. tv only had 8 channels and although you might say your not here to watch tv but i expect a 5 star hotel to offer a full dstv package especially in a suite like this.

Never have i stayed in a hotel that paid so little attention to new years eve as the St James.We were told the hotel was doing diner. Tables had been placed in the dining room and also in the large glass fronted lounge, as a paying guest in the hotel we were not even sat in the main dining room where there was soft lighting, candles and background music. The lounge was made up of tables and garden chairs brought in from outside. There was no music, no candles on the tables no atmosphere, nothing apart from one christmas cracker on the side plate. to which i received a pen of better quality than the bic biros in the rooms of the hotel.

the food was sub standard to say the least i feel very sad to hear a waiter bringing duck breast salad to the table saying "ok who's having quack quack"

The meal was over by 930-10pm and feeling totally disheartened we left and turned in for the night. What a New Year

I could not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are far better 5 star hotels in and around knyser and Plettenburg bay than the St James

when a hotel claims its 5 star status i can only compare it the other wonderful establishments that South Africa has to offer

The Oyster Box - Durban
The Mount Nelson - Cape Town
Hartford House - Kzn Midlands
The BirkenHead - Hermanus

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a few days here and even though most of our activities were out in Plettenberg Bay, the place was so nice it was worth all the driving. If you're in the area I would definitely recommend it!

We had two suites which were both huge with separate living rooms (one even had a kitchen) and gigantic luxury bathrooms. The restaurant is actually pretty good and the bar, while extremely quiet, is quite nicely stocked. The service was fantastic - everyone was friendly and helpful and the rooms were meticulously maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We did not stay at the St James but went there for a meal on the recommendation of someone who had gone there the previous evening. We had the steak and it was like cutting butter. The Service was first class and the food was wonderful I understand that the Chef has recently changed and has lifted the standard of restaurant I would recommend the food at the The St James. Fine Dinner without the pretense.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

All the accommodation was immaculately furnished, spotlessly clean and with beautiful views over the lagoon. The grounds were delightful and well tended. We received a warm welcome for our three-day stay in unseasonably cold weather. Fires were lit, the electric blanket put on each evening, underfloor heating switched on in our bathroom, and everything made cosy and cheerful. Excellent food each evening and the chef was friendly and hospitable. On our last evening when we were the only guests eating, a table was carried into the bar in front of a blazing log fire just for us. We felt very special and very cared for and the staff could not have been more helpful. Would thoroughly recommend and it would be our privilege to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a large suite with a lagoon view from the bedroom, and a door opening onto one of the pool areas. The bathroom had a patio door next to the shower opening onto an enclosed tropical mini garden, so you could pretend you were showering outdoors. Large comfortable bed with electric blanket.

The main hotel building had a bar and restaurant with a good (and good value) wine list. Food was nicely done and well presented, although the evening menu was a little limited. Breakfasts were excellent. During our stay there were only a handful of guests in the hotel so we got excellent service, but I worried for the viability of the business - to the extent whe we decided to eat in the hotel on a second night in order to give them some business, and found ourselves having a private dining experience on a table especially set up in the bar.

We liked the hotel and hope it finds more customers as the season develops. The various suites all looked different. Grounds and garden were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. James of Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.