We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overmeer Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Overmeer Guest House to your Saves list
Overmeer Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Accommodation was booked on our behalf by a relative, for our return journey along the Garden Route. Having not even seen a picture in a guide book, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, to be told we had been upgraded to a luxury room at no extra cost. The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a view overlooking the lagoon. Our only regret was that we were only booked for one night due to a fairly tight schedule. The staff were friendly and courteous, explaining everything and recommending a choice of restaurants in Knysna. Breakfast was plentiful and served efficiently by the staff. A positive experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    35
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
67
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzele, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The classic rooms are old, not very clean and noisy. The rooms in the main building might be better, but we didn't see them.
The staff (reception) is absolutely not friendly (we felt like tourist X).
Breakfast was poor as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A bit out of town but a lovely place up in the hills above Knysna. We had a luxury room and it was perfect. Spacious, with water views, a spa bath and pretty decor. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Didn't see the standard rooms - they are in another house on the same property and share the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spent three nights and enjoyed three excellent breakfasts. Spectacular view from the window and the balcony of the very spacious bedroom. Was out of season and quiet (as was the whole town) but service was very good and friendly. What was also remarkable was the cleanliness of the room and the public areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for four days recently and it was the best accommodation we stayed at in a two week trip. The views are amazing, with large glass doors so you can always take them in. The staff are super efficient and always happy to help. There are lovely little touches, that you wouldn't expect from a guest house, breakfast was also delicious and fresh. Overall the place has a lovely feel, very relaxing and just what we were looking for. Would definitely stay here again as we found it ideal and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Once again we were photographing a wedding and therefore we needed somewhere close by and convenient and Overmeer guesthouse is only a short drive away from the cruise cafe in town! This guesthouse superseded my expectations.

Upon arrival, I was a little bit hesitant as it is quite a windy, narrow drive up the hill to the guesthouse and then a steep driveway down into the parking area however once I walked through the doors, I was happily greeted by one of the ladies at reception who had knowledge of us arriving early. Our room was ready and I was shocked as I had originally booked a garden view room and what welcomed us was a wonderful panoramic view of the knysna lagoon with a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy! Great stuff!

The room was very spacious, and gives you a stunning sense of luxury. Its also modernly decorated, and the king size bed was massive with divine linen! There was also a jet bath and a seperate shower. There is a lovely minibar which is stocked with reasonably priced goodies and their vanity kit was great - considering I forgot my razor at home and they provide one for you free of charge! What a bonus!

After a peaceful nights sleep, we arrived for breakfast. It was very busy and I could see the girls were rushed off their feet, and we chose to sit in a more popular spot closer to the view where people had just left. I was very suprised to see how quickly we were attended too and our table was set for us in a swift movement, which was very impressive. The breakfast was yummy, and there was a lovely atmosphere with upbeat instrumental music creating a positive ambience.

All round it was a lovely experience, from the booking all the way to the departure. We didnt get a chance to use the pool but it was crystal blue and wonderfully private - next time I will be sure to pack in my costume to take a dip!

Only one little glitch - Upon returning home after the wedding, our room wasnt turned down - I know that they were fully booked the evening so I understand if things were a bit hectic but we werent too fussed about it anyway.

Very well priced for acommodation, and I would describe staying at Overmeer similar to a 5 star establishment.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have wonderful views of the lagoons, and you can open your sliding door while lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

A really nice stay!
Nice and spacefull rooms with balcony and a breathtaking view! Every room has a kitchenette and a mini bar. Breakfast its continental, with a lot of choice,meat, fruits, ceralies ecc, eggs can be ordered separetly.
Pool area is quite big, with different places to sit or lay down.
Service very friendly a sympatic! They use to practice night service, that means they will take down the pillow and make ready your bed in the evening. When you are coming home from the dinner, every thing its ready to sleep! Super!!

One negative point (my opinion): the brightness in the bathroom is more then poor!! They have one lamp in approx 2-3m high celing with an energy safe bulb. I could not shave my selve in the bathroom, because it was too dark! I hope they will install nice spots on the mirror soon!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overmeer Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.