We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Overmeer Guest House

Save Saved
You added Overmeer Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Overmeer Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Overmeer. We arrived earlier than anticipated but this wasn't an issue. The breakfast area was large with great views over Knysna. The breakfast was nicely cooked with a good choice, and our room was clean & spacious.

It was 5 minutes drive from Knysna. Our room didn't have a great view but we only slept there for 2 nights and so it wasn't particularly important to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I won 2 nights for 2 at Overmeer Guest House in their Facebook page sometime last year so my wife & I decided to take it up on our birthdays the end of August...
The best guest house by far for us We had such a lovely and relaxing time at this paradise in the Western Cape Particular attention was give to us by the lovely staff... Consider offering lunch and supper/dinner though so as to avoid junk food!
We fell in love with Overmeer and Knysna all at once! Beautiful town with breathtaking views and places make you relax My wife and I are already planning another visit..!
Thank you very much for your hospitality Mr and Mrs Fechter

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My son and I spent 4 wonderful days at the Overmeer Guest House, the views of the Knysna River were stunning!! The room was so very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Guest House and the service on the whole had a very European feel ... really looking forward to perhaps a longer stay next time. Thank you once again for our happy stay at your Guest House. Zdenka

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful guest house on Thursday evening. on a business trip and needed a comforatble night's rest. We got more than we have bargained for! The location is perfect with our luxury room overlooking the world renowned Knysna Lake. The bathroom is exaclty how we like it - spacious with a shower and jacuzzi bath. Clean,fresh and luxurious - these are the words tha come to mind. I read the few bad reviews prior to our visit - please get real! The dog is beautiful and no nuisance at all! And the drive way steep, yes, and your car should have good hand brakes in any case - that is law , I think, so what is the issue then? We also firn the staff and management helpful and friendly. We could not ask for more. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Insist on the luxury rooms with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This place has the most beautiful view I have ever seen !! We enjoyed the terrace in front of our room to share a bottle of wine during sunset!! The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious. We stayed 4 nights there and would have liked to stay more! The GH is a few minutes away from Knysna but the view you get is worth the drive!
The staff was very nice and breakfast was great. I would recommand this place a thousand times !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

An enjoyable 3 days - Huge Rooms, Jacuzzi Baths, lovely views and big deck outside. Great Breakfast. Excellent wireless connection - thank you everybody.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms mean one can roll the luggage in but the second floor rooms are the same I think and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

We had lagoon view rooms for 2 nights in Christmas week. Big gorgeous rooms with lovely views. We should have arrived earlier to enjoy sunset from the beautiful balcony. Keep in mind this is a little outside of Knysna town, you will need to drive back down the hills to get to town. As a guest house, serves breakfast only (but you can get pizza delivered if you arrive late as we did). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overmeer Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.