We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Overmeer Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Overmeer Guest House to your Saves list
Overmeer Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“An amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I won 2 nights for 2 at Overmeer Guest House in their Facebook page sometime last year so my wife & I decided to take it up on our birthdays the end of August...
The best guest house by far for us We had such a lovely and relaxing time at this paradise in the Western Cape Particular attention was give to us by the lovely staff... Consider offering lunch and supper/dinner though so as to avoid junk food!
We fell in love with Overmeer and Knysna all at once! Beautiful town with breathtaking views and places make you relax My wife and I are already planning another visit..!
Thank you very much for your hospitality Mr and Mrs Fechter

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
47
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My son and I spent 4 wonderful days at the Overmeer Guest House, the views of the Knysna River were stunning!! The room was so very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Guest House and the service on the whole had a very European feel ... really looking forward to perhaps a longer stay next time. Thank you once again for our happy stay at your Guest House. Zdenka

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful guest house on Thursday evening. on a business trip and needed a comforatble night's rest. We got more than we have bargained for! The location is perfect with our luxury room overlooking the world renowned Knysna Lake. The bathroom is exaclty how we like it - spacious with a shower and jacuzzi bath. Clean,fresh and luxurious - these are the words tha come to mind. I read the few bad reviews prior to our visit - please get real! The dog is beautiful and no nuisance at all! And the drive way steep, yes, and your car should have good hand brakes in any case - that is law , I think, so what is the issue then? We also firn the staff and management helpful and friendly. We could not ask for more. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Insist on the luxury rooms with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This place has the most beautiful view I have ever seen !! We enjoyed the terrace in front of our room to share a bottle of wine during sunset!! The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious. We stayed 4 nights there and would have liked to stay more! The GH is a few minutes away from Knysna but the view you get is worth the drive!
The staff was very nice and breakfast was great. I would recommand this place a thousand times !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

An enjoyable 3 days - Huge Rooms, Jacuzzi Baths, lovely views and big deck outside. Great Breakfast. Excellent wireless connection - thank you everybody.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms mean one can roll the luggage in but the second floor rooms are the same I think and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

We had lagoon view rooms for 2 nights in Christmas week. Big gorgeous rooms with lovely views. We should have arrived earlier to enjoy sunset from the beautiful balcony. Keep in mind this is a little outside of Knysna town, you will need to drive back down the hills to get to town. As a guest house, serves breakfast only (but you can get pizza delivered if you arrive late as we did). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

When we booked our three nights at the Overmeer GuestHouse, we knew it was going to be nice, but we had no idea that our stay would exceed all expectations.Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. We had a huge terrace with a fantastic view over the lagoon and enjoyed the sunsets from there. The owners, Ludwig and Riette, but also their staff Rudolf are very friendly and helpful. It felt like we were in Knysna visiting friends.The neighbourhood is safe. If you're travelling by car, you won't need to worry about where to park, as the Overmeer offers enough car parks on their property. Unfortunately it was still too cold (early Spring in SA) for us to enjoy the pool. We're sure Guests will like it in the SA-Summer months. We made use of the laundry service, which was (a) very cheap and (b) very fast and (c) very good. We paid ZAR 100,- for a huge basket of laundry (you pay per basket). The basket size was about (height x width) 50cm x 50cm. Fast = you give the basket to the reception by 10am... you get your dry, ironed and folded laundry back on the same day in the afternoon. Knysna is a very lovely place. We enjoyed it a lot, especially the sunset over the lagoon. BUT, having said that we must admit that we "caught ourselves" looking forward to going back to the Overmeer to spend the rest of the evening on our terrace. This says a lot about the Overmeer GuestHouse. Thank you for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overmeer Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.