We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge in Knysna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amber Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Amber Guest Lodge
11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lodge in Knysna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After visiting Addo ENP, Knysna is in my opinion the first stop back to CPT. So we did and stayed in Amber. We enyoed our stay there and Amber is quiet flexible. By chance my parents and sister were near Knysna and also stayed in Amber. Janet made the family room ready in no time and we had our little familiy get together. If you want to relax and sleep in a quiet environment this is the place to be. We only stayed for one night due to lack of time but I would definitly suiggest to stay 2-3 days...

Room Tip: Ask for it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We try to be flexible when we can but bear in mind that December and January is peak season for us so early booking for those months is advised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Rooms are very clean ; we enjoy our experience in amber guest lodge. Spotless guest lodge close to the Heads with beautiful views. Breakfast was delicious with homemade muffins !The location is perfect, it 10 minutes driving from the downtown and overlooking to the lagoon

I dont have much to say about this great place .. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Spotless guest lodge close to the Heads with beautiful views. Breakfast was delicious with homemade muffins and bars and full english breakfast everyday. I had the unfortunate experience of spraining both ankles in capetown. And the took me to the hospital and waited for me. Just went out of their way for our every need. +++++++. Restaraunts all very close by. Thanks again for a wonderful time in Knysna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedjean, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our stay at Amber Guest Lodge was definitely one of the highlights during our trip of South Africa. The house is situated in a quiet area, close to two golf courses. Only 10 minutes drive into Knysna town center. Rooms are large with a consistently high quality. Good breakfast and friendly hosts who will share tips and information with you. We would gladly return if we get the chance.
Best regards, Mats, Anne-Marie and the girls from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedjean, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Enjoyed time at Amber Lodge in early March. Quality spacious purpose built accommodation, well kept up. We received a warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. Good location for local sights and activities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedjean, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on 29th March we liked it so much we came back 2 more times on our holiday,the room had one of the most comfortable beds on our holiday.They where very helpful on informing us of place to go.When we first arrived they gave us a bottle of wine,& cup of tea.You wake up in the morning with lovley views of Knysa from your bedroom.The breakfast was very good with home made buns.We would recommend to our friends if they come to Knysa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedjean, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thanks Barry, we enjoyed having you and hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Six of us stayed at Amber for 3 nights and the location was wonderful, with views to match. The rooms were modern, well decorated and very clean. Janet and Derek were most welcoming hosts, with a cup of tea on arrival, bottle of wine in the fridge in our rooms and then by providing some great recommends for eating, making our bookings and sorting the transport for us. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, eaten on the patio overlooking the lagoon, what more can you want. Golfed at Simola and Pezula, also booked through Janet and Derek, great courses, not far from Amber and a must see for any golfers. Excellent and would return if we visit Knysna again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedjean, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thanks for the review Helen, you were a fun crowd to have and I am glad you enjoyed the golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.