We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcoming accommodation and hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hide Away Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hide Away Guest House to your Saves list
Hide Away Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 103 Knysna B&B and Inns
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcoming accommodation and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the guest house for four nights as part of our 14 night trip. Colleen and Cecil went out of their way to provide a great welcome on arrival with useful information on recommended restaurants and attractions and continued to provide an efficient concierge and friendly service throughout our stay.

We stayed in a lagoon view room which is well worth while with beautiful views over the lagoon. Breakfast served on our own balcony was a unique and pleasant touch also. It was great having a full sized fridge to chill all of the wine we had bought during our various vineyard visits too!

The location is good, well within walking distance of Knysna's centre and the accommodation is well equipped.

We would definitely recommend Hide-Away and look forward to returning in the future.

Thanks Colleen and Cecil!

Room Tip: Lagoon room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello there

We assume that you are now back home safely and that the UK weather is not treating you too badly! Here in Knysna we are still enjoying beautiful sunny weather although we do need a spot of rain - just to keep everything nice and green!

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us - we sincerely appreciate it. We love reading positive reviews as it makes our efforts that much worth while. We thoroughly enjoy the business we are in as we get to meet great people such as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Take care and don't work too hard.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    64
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
170
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husbnd and I spent 2 nights here. If we ever return to S.A. we will come back here for 2 weeks! The room was very comfortable. The view was terrific. The service (breakfast served on our balcony) most unexpected and the kindness of our host was great. She told us which attractions were worth visiting, which restaurants had good food and much much more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Paulo & Kathleen

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with your friends in Cape Town and that you had the opportunity to visit all the great tourist attractions on offer in the area - especially the lovely wine farms in Stellenbosch, Franschhoek, etc.

Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us - it was indeed a pleasure hosting you!

We know that you mentioned that South Africa was a long way to come from Italy for a holiday but we do hope that you will reconsider and return to our amazing country in the not too distant future and please put us on your itinerary - you still have Timber Village to visit!

Take care of yourselves.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spotless, very comfortable, beautiful views, great breakfast, warm welcoming
helpful owners. Would definitely recommend, in fact have already done so !
Parking on site. Would revisit if going through Knysna again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good day to you

Thank you for the short review on your stay with us. We are delighted that you have recommended us to somebody and that you will return to stay with us if ever you are back in Knysna. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Take care of yourselves.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Colleen, the hostess, gave us a very warm welcome upon our arrival. She also asked about our plan and gave suggestions on restaurants and attractions too. We were also very impressed by our freedom to customize the breakfast. We were staying in a room on 2nd floor and facing the lagoon.

It is a 10-15 minutes walk from the centre & waterfront of Knysna. Not too close but it is still in walking distance.

Room Tip: Just go for the lagoon view rooms, it worths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good day to you

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us at Hide-Away Guest House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was only a pleasure sharing our insights to the area with you. Breakfast is the main meal of the day and Cecil takes great care in ensuring that all our guests enjoy the food that he prepares.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa and hope that you have plans to return some time in the future and that you will include Knysna (and Hide-Away) on your itinerary.

Take care and kind regards.

Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Absolutely loved my three nights at Hide Away Guest House. On arrival, I was met by hostess Colleen, who brought me a cup of tea as I filled out my paperwork, including a lovely breakfast menu so I had just what I wanted, wonderfully fast, the next morning. I felt welcomed and at home the whole time in a way that just went above and beyond the average guesthouse experience.

I stayed in a room without a view, but enjoyed spending time on the guest house's main terrace both for breakfast and in the evening. I was particularly lucky to connect with several other guests on the veranda one night for a wonderful evening of wine and conversation, which made the stay all the better.

Little things: tea & coffee service in the room (including 'real' shelf-stable milk, which I appreciated!), magazines and brochures also in the room were lovely. You absolutely need a car here, but you need a car on the Garden Route anyway. Comfortable bed - and bath robes! It was too warm for me to use one, but I loved that they were there anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Jen

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us at Hide-Away Guest House.

We had the most amazing group of people staying with us at the time - a League of Nations with you (American), British (originally from Jamaica), Dutch, German and South African. The evening spent enjoying a glass (or two) of great South African Sparkling Wine will long be remembered by Cecil & I and those that participated.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa. We know that you travel a lot for business but hopefully you will take some time off and return to our amazing country for another visit.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Finally getting around to reviewing our past vacations...We stayed here in Sept 2011
We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hide Away so much that we tried to stay there again on our return visit to Knysna in Dec 2013 - however, we only had 1 night to stay and there was a several night minimum due to the holidays. On our original stay, we had a lovely room with an amazing view of the water. We had several nice walks down to the waterfront and had to get a taxi to dinner the one night due to downpour of rain. The hosts were accommodating without being intrusive and helped us plan some activities. Breakfast was also made to order and delicious.

Room Tip: get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Sarah

Thank you for your review on your stay with us in 2011. We are really sorry that we were not able to accommodate you for the one night last year but in peak season we do implement a 2 night minimum stay and only lift this approx. 14 days prior to arrival dates. We hope that you were in fact able to find somewhere for your one night in Knysna.

Kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We drove the Garden Route and spent two nights at the Hide Away in Knysna, December 7-9, 2013. We were warmly greeted by the hosts upon our arrival and found them to be engaging, informative, so helpful.

The guest house is a short walk to town, ferries, restaurants, laundry, etc. The location is optimal, right off the N2, easy to find, great estuary view from our room/terrace.

The room was huge, the aircon worked perfectly, the shower was heavenly. My only wish would have been a bathtub but it was easily overlooked due to the hospitality, service, and amazing atmosphere.

The odd thing we found everywhere we travelled in South Africa was that even though windows are left wide open everywhere, we saw virtually NO bugs. Of any kind. Anywhere. So leaving windows open was a real treat!

We ventured into town and took a ferry/tour to Featherbed Nature Reserve. This was a gorgeous hike and the scenery couldn't be beat. Our guide was knowledgeable and took the time to pick out some Koikoi arrowheads for us from the cave. The buffet lunch there was DELICIOUS! Bird and reptile life was diverse!

Breakfasts at Hide Away were hot and fresh and served to order on the terrace, which was LOVELY.

Highly recommend and we will definitely return to get more than a cursory glance of the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Wayne & Veronica

Thank you for the great review! It is a great motivator for us to read such positive things about our home and the service we offer. We recognise that we are not always able to please everybody but when we get such great feedback from our guests it makes what we do that much more rewarding.

Being in the hospitality business is not easy but we love it! Meeting so many people from different countries and walks of life means never a dull moment - so thank you for contributing to the great lifestyle we have chosen for ourselves here in Knysna.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Knysna and Hide-Away. In the interim, take care!

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your hub on the Garden Route as you explore the sites. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikama National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hide Away Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.