We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One off the bucket list.....Knysna Oyster Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hide Away Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hide Away Guest House to your Saves list
Hide Away Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
JHB
1 review
“One off the bucket list.....Knysna Oyster Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I met up in Knysna to attend the Oyster Festival. We occupied 3 rooms, of which 2 had a magnificient view overlooking the lagoon towards the Knysna Heads.
The rooms are well thought out and are very comfortable indeed. The breakfasts were scrumptious and Colleen went out of her way to ensure that we had all the info/brochures pertaining to the Oyster Festival and festivities as well as recommended pubs and restaurants in the town. Highly recommended! HRender JHB

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Good morning Heidi

It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and your family earlier this month. You certainly chose the right weekend to attend the Oyster Festival as the second weekend (Marathon weekend) was a washout - literally! We had so much rain that the Marathon was cancelled but this did not stop the runners enjoying the oysters on offer.

Thank you for your review - your positive comments are greatly appreciated. We are certainly looking forward to meeting you and the rest of the family again.

Take care and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    63
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
169
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very convenient comfortable and a wonderful view across the lagoon toward the heads - highly recommended. david aitch cape town

Room Tip: rooms 3, 4 and 5 have the BEST view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Delightful, secluded 2 night stay in the Lagoon
Delicious Breakfast, excellent suggestion on interesting places to see and restaurants..

Room Tip: Rooms on 1sr floor and 2nd (steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We occupied 2 rooms and we all agreed that we thouroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at Hide Away Guest House. Owner Colleen was very nice and helpful with suggestions for close by restaurants. Our rooms were very comfortable and breakfasts served fresh and lots of variety. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Minibar, renovated fine accommodations, very pleasant and helpful owner/host, views

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Hide Away and loved it. Cecil and Coleen made us feel very welcome and provided lots of recommendations of places to eat and attractions to visit. The Guest House is situated just off the N2 at the western end of town (consequently there is quite a lot of traffic noise during the daytime, but we were out and about during the day so this did not bother us. At night we found peace and quiet in our excellent Executive room with wonderful lagoon views.) The room was the most spacious we encountered anywhere during our travels in South Africa with a large en-suite walk-in shower facility. The percale bed linen and spotless white towels added to the comfort. Delicious breakfasts by individual choice were prepared by Cecil and served by Coleen which added to the family atmosphere. I would be happy to return anytime and recommend this guest house to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Loved Hide away guest house, the owners were extremely friendly and warm.. the view from the balcony is breathtaking.. It faces the lagoon.. Good value for money!

Room Tip: The upper rooms facing the lagoon are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your hub on the Garden Route as you explore the sites. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikama National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hide Away Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.