We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lofts Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent - well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We tried this place out after doing some googling, and found that it exceeded our expectations. For the amount of money they charge, the rooms are huge (we got a double storey apartment, with 2 x bathrooms + lounge + kitchen etc).

They don't have a lot of rooms, so you don't have to contend with hordes of people. The place is small enough, and the staff friendly enough for it to be "comfortable" and feel like a home away from home.

There's not much in the sense of facilities in the hotel itself, but there's no need as Knysna has tons of things to do, and you do after all go on holiday to places like Knysna to see the area, and not spend all day in the hotel.

They don't have cartoon network or Disney on their TV entertainment system which to me is a big plus, as the kids don't want to spend the whole day in front of the tv.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    58
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

this hotel is in a great location on Thessen Island - nicely away from the noise of Knysna, short walk away from the waterfront - possibly the best location in Knysna.

Hotel is beautiful - rooms well appointed and large terrace area with day beds - perfect for drinks before an evening meal. And for that, we would recommend Scirocco or Lush (just 2 mins away) - both part of the same company (although give 34 South at the waterfront a miss - service was awful and the food not a patch on Scirocco).

Breakfast is served in one of a number of restaurants. Although Il de Pain (joined to the hotel) is the nearest and also very good, we would recommend trying the others too - you get a voucher each morning from reception, but if you're not going to Il de Pain make sure you get a voucher specific for one of the other restaurants as they're specific. If you dont want breakfast, use the Il de Pain voucher for a good lunch - the sandwiches are great!

the only slight downside of the hotel is the walls - they are very thin between the rooms and we were able to converse with our friends in the next room!! but this isnt really a problem - dont let it put you off staying at an otherwise excellent hotel with really good customer service and very friendly housekeeping.

We also recommend a horseriding safari at the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve - and we've never ridden before!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Wonderful location and breakfasts at Ile de Pain delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

When you visit Knysna for a weekend you get a choice of either a guest house/B&B or somewhere like the Lofts. Financially they are about the same cost when there are two of you travelling.

What a choice, from the easy online reservation and help from the staff and warm welcome on arrival, we were very impressed. The building is beautiful even if it is tucked in between a lot of other similar Disney-esque properties on the island. The rooms are luxurious, copious, simple and elegant. We could have easily spent a week there.

Walking down to the deck and splash pool we were greeted with a stunning view of the sea, the beach and a great sunset which demanded many many shots taken.

A short walk across the bridge (leaving the car behind and presenting the opportunity to enjoy another great bottle of 2008 La Motte Sauvignon Blanc) and the Yacht Club has a great selection of restaurants. Check out 34 South for great seafood atmosphere but don't forget to call and reserve a table or you'll be eating sushi.

We had a peaceful night in a big comfortable bed and then breakfast with our hotel voucher in a great little local cafe, ile du pain.

If you're looking for luxury in a beautiful setting, the Lofts probably the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Thames
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

The Lofts are in a lovely position. The staff are very helpful and accomodating. Ile de pain for breakfast was worth the visit in its self. However I cannot say I felt completely comfortable with our 6 night stay. We had booked via an agent for 2 doubles and a single and were offered a double room and apartment, with a loft bedroom and seperate master double bedroom. We were warned apartment 1a would be open plan, which is fine, but we were confused about the layout - why have the main entrance of an apartment through the master bedroom, thus making ALL areas lack privacy. This seems especially daft as there are 2 seperate entrances into the kitchen/sitting area that could easily be utilised instead. An extra front door key for a 2 bedroom appartment also seems sensible. Another point - there are notices everywhere regarding saving water, but several bathrooms are without a shower - we ended up using the random shower in a public toilet next to our room! A little more thought in the design or execution of rooms would make a massive difference, and turn this from a just miss to a bullseye.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed at the Lofts for 2 nights as part of our recent trip to SA. It's an ideal stop off point on the Garden Route and whilst the whole area was very quiet when we visited it was just perfect for 3 workaholics seeking to relax. The rooms were very clean, modern and extremely tastefully decorated. The views across the lagoon are amazing and whilst the pool/decking area is small we found we had it completely to ourselves. To be recommended is a visit to the Spa Tranquile adjoining the Lofts where a massage is a must. Staff friendly and helpful at booking taxis/restaurants. Would love to return with Mr Right for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Just returned from a 3 week holdiay in SA and stayed at The Lofts for 4 nights. Excellent as usual - been there twice before. Lovely bedrooms/ bathrooms over the lagoon; service first class ( Rhoda is a great asset) and of course breakfast at Ile du Pain - what could be better. A little more outside space for sitting in the sun would make it perfect.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#3 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lofts Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.