We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanonkop Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kanonkop Guest House to your Saves list
Kanonkop Guest House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pure paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This guesthouse is a true gem set right at the top of a mountain with the lagoon in full view from your room. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we stayed in the paradise suite. It was ultra modern with under carpet heating , a huge bed, rainforest shower and balcony. The best part was the bathtub which overlooks the lagoon which you can enjoy with any complimentary beverage(s) you like! They also have Africology products which smell divine.
It's not just the super venue though, it's the people that really make this guesthouse stand out. Mark and Sam the two owners go out of their way to help you. Their advice and recommendations were excellent. Also Nmosy the chef was lovely and made us feel so welcome at our breakfast everyday. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks a million guys. Jenny and Conor

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
150
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a memorable unforgettable stay. Absolutely Awesome! Warm sincere welcome from Mark and Samantha making us feel like part of the family and spoiling us. To all the staff that ensured we were well look after at all times. That’s only the beginning, not to mention our luxury suite, amazing views, incredible house and an omelets you wake up craving for. Thank You!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were at the end of a 4 week trip around Southern Africa and wanted somewhere special for our last few days. From the rapid and friendly responses to a last minute booking request to the brilliant hospitality and luxurious surroundings Mark, Sam and all the staff at Kanonkop were a stand out. We stayed in the Sunbird suite and loved everything about it. Wonderful views over the lagoon to the heads. Mark had great suggestions for activities and dining options and happily made bookings for us. We hope to visit again. It was a memorable spot to cap a brilliant trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear BwenoBwanji,
How lovely to receive your review. Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that we were able to contribute to a lovely finale to your succesful trip through Southern Africa. Thankyou for choosing to travel in our part of the world and thank you for allowing us to share this beautiful corner with you. We hope to see you again. Our warmest regards, Sam, Mark and the Kanonkop team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Kanonkop can do what no 5 or 6 * hotel can do - highly personalised service to the extent that we felt welcomed into their family !

Highly recommend to people who want to leave the predictability and anonymity of large chain hotels behind and want to feel like they have a second home in Knysna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Kmerchant001,
Wow, thanks for your great review. It's always fabulous for us to receive guests feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to our family and at Kanonkop House in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House. All the very best and warm regards from the Kanonkop team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi india
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

we were here for 3 nights.we arrived on a very cold evening,samantha gave us a very warm welcome along with a delicious hot chocolate...what a lovely welcome!!the room was huge and had a balcony with stunning views.its a lovely guesthouse ,with some stunning views.the next morning we met mark and his father both were very hospitable and warm,they tried there best to ensure we had a comfortable stay.the breakfast was delicious...omlette particularly yum,we used to really enjoy chatting with mark at breakfast....a lovely stay...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Alok,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We hope to welcome you back to your "Knysna Home" one day. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip up the Garden Route. Warm regards,
Samantha, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been meaning to write this review for months......my husband and I stayed at Kanonkop House in Nov 2013. The welcome we received there was second to none and we have travelled a fair amount. Nothing was too much trouble for Samantha and Mark who seemed like old friends even though we had never met before. The staff we met were all so lovely and hospitable we didn't want to leave. We stayed in the Paradise suite and it certainly lived up to it's name with great, space, cool calm decor and magnificent views. The balcony above the tree tops was a fabulous place to enjoy our early evening G&Ts!

As for breakfast.....simply delicious, so fresh and lovely to eat outside with the other guests. We had a friend from J'burg staying nearby and Mark invited her over to join us for breakfast.....so thoughtful and generous. We all really appreciated the gesture which typifies the warm hearted way in which guests are treated at Kanonkop House. We plan to return but in the meantime we are enjoying sweet memories and fab photos! Many many thanks to everyone there.....kind of wanted to keep it a secret but decided to share! Everyone should have the opportunity to stay at Kanonkop House once in their lives.

Room Tip: Fantastic view from the balcony of the Paradise Suite over the treetops to the lagoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Gill,
Many thanks for your fabulous review of Kanonkop House, our breakfasts, hospitality, and, of course, the 'Paradise Suite'. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We really appreciate it. All the very best until the next time we meet. Very warmest regards from all of us, Chris, Sam, Mark and the Kanonkop team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kanonkop Guest House from 29 September 2005 to 1 October 2005 (two nights) as part of our honeymoon vacation (yes, that is almost nine years ago). We stayed in the Paradise Suite.

I clearly remember the warm and sincere welcome from Mark and the two Yorkshire Terriers.

I can confirm each and every positive Tripadvisor review! From the pure luxury, the romantic ambience, stunning décor, stunning views, scrumptious breakfasts and most importantly the impeccable warm and friendly manner in which our host, Mark treated us and made us feel like royalty!

I still have our brochure, our invoice as well as a handwritten note from Mark confirming the reservation he made on our behalf at the Dry Dock restaurant!

After reading the recent positive reviews on Tripadvisor about this outstanding guesthouse it is clear that this guesthouse had maintained and even improved the highest levels of service excellence!

We would like to thank Mark and his team from the bottom of our hearts for contributing to a very memorable honeymoon almost nine years ago! We still have fond memories of the two nights we spent at your five star establishment!

I can highly recommend Kanonkop to everyone!

Room Tip: The paradise suite is very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear RenateVictor,
Wow...how special that you remember us so well. Even more special to know that you are enjoying married life 9 years on...congratulations to you. We thank you for celebrating your honeymoon at Kanonkop House and for taking the time to write this review so many years later. We have made many changes at Kanonkop House over the years. Most recently adding a spectacular new room to take up the whole top floor of the Manor House (the "Selwyn Suite') and opening up the living areas of the Manor House to our guests during the summer season so that they can enjoy the library, media room and magnificent views from various lounge areas both indoors and outdoors. We hope to welcome you back one day to enjoy this experience. Thank you again for taking the time to share your memories of Kanonkop House. Warm regards, The Kanonkop Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanonkop Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.