We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanonkop Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kanonkop Guest House to your Saves list
Kanonkop Guest House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Weyridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at Kanonkop House for two nights and wished we could stay for longer. Our hosts were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, recommending restaurants and places to visit. The rooms were excellent and the surroundings are beautiful. The quality of the breakfast was superb, especially their home made muesli. Kanonkop was by far the best guest house that we stayed in during our holiday. We hope to go back in the future and will recommend this lovely house to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Weyridge etal.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, the beautiful surroundings, our hospitality and indeed the breakfasts at Kanonkop House. We are constantly working on that muesli recipe so we are very happy that you enjoyed it. Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and thank you for recommending us to your friends.
Warm regards, Samantha and the Kanonkop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
150
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The most friendly hosts you can imagine. The service from Sam and team Conyers impressed us and made ​​sure our stay was unforgettable. A place to return to! A place I would recommend to all our friends. Perfect stop and location by car from Cape Town towards Pretoria. Thanks to you all and the friendly personal greeting in the book "Garden Route" that we got at departure.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Leif L,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and greetings. We so enjoyed meeting you as you passed through Knysna on your adventures through South Africa and we thank you for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House and for taking the time to review your stay. We certainly hope that you do return again.
Our very warmest regards, Samantha, Mark and team Kanonkop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in one of the villas that Kanonkop own that had lots of space, great views, and a decent sound system to plug in your iPad. The villa was stocked with the basics upon arrival including wine in the fridge. But, it is the service that was provided by Samantha and her team that impressed us. Daily breakfast cooked to order, laundry and maid service every day, reservations at the best restaurants, discount tee times at Simola, and reservations with reliable taxi drivers. We think you would be equally as impressed at the Guest House, where we had breakfast on our last day; although, the public areas for guests were a bit on the smaller side. You will indeed be pampered by Samantha, Mark, and their dad. And the accommodations are quite good as well.

Room Tip: If you rent the Knysna Heights Villa, note that the lower bedroom does not have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear CKV500,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Knysna Heights Villa. We are so delighted that you were able to enjoy the service and hosting offered by the Kanonkop hospitality team onsite at our varous private villas in Knysna. Many thanks again for your helpful review.
Warmest regards, Samantha and the Kanonkop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places we have stayed at on this holiday. Top class forest-themed room. No aircon though. Very friendly and personable family running the guest house. They could not do enough for us. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Mainworldtraveller,
Many thanks for your review of our Lagoon Views Private Villa at Pezula. It is lovely to hear that the privacy of staying in one of our exclusive use villas meant that your young child could have a wonderful holiday too without having to worry about other guests. It is our great pleasure to be able to take care of guests in their 'own home' and we are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts prepared for you. Many thanks for travelling to South Africa and for choosing to stay at one of our beautiful villas. Warmest regards, Samantha and the Kanonkop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Thanks to Samantha and Mark, we really had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of their private villas because we were traveling with our 4 year old son. Such a beautiful house with beautiful views, lots of space for our 4yr old to run around and the private pool. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely tell all our friends!!

We felt extremely welcome from the get go. Samantha was out to meet us from out travels and led us directly to the house. She was previously on the phone with us and recommend some sight seeing around Plattenburg bay (monkey land, birds of Eden and Jakani game reserve) which was on our way to the villa from Port Elizabeth. Our 4yr old thoroughly enjoyed all those stops.

Mark also spared no efforts to also make us feel welcome and show us around Knysna. We never felt hurried and certainly did not feel like we were a bother to them at any time. Mark helped us plan our trip to Franschoek and recommended using highway 62 which was very scenic and stopping at Oudtshoorn Ostrich farm. Also the personally signed gift of the garden route was such a kind gesture and much appreciated.

Overall a wonderful experience. And its always a pleasure to meet genuinely nice people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mainworldtraveller,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write your review of our Private Lagoon Views Villa at Pezula. It was such a great pleasure to host your family and we are very glad that you found our recommendations and tips useful and enjoyable. Many thanks for travelling all the way to South Africa and in particular to beautiful Knysna. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to meet you.
All the very best.
Warm regards,
Samantha, Mark and Pumla (your housekeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were met by Chris, the owner, who helped us with our luggage before providing valuable information over a glass of wine. Chris recommended and made reservations at two excellent restaurants and after a long drive from Cape Town my wife and I were thoroughly relaxed and made to feel at home. This is a family run hotel and the pampering continued from Mark and Sam whether at breakfast or arriving back after dinner.

The rooms are large and of high quality. Breakfast was, of course, of a very high standard and well presented whether outside or in.

Sadly we only had time to stay 2 nights and would thoroughly recommend Kanonkop as a base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Southgatepaul,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Kanonkop House. We are so glad to have been able to provide a space to relax in and helpful advice to ensure a memorable stay in Knysna. Thank you to you and your wife for travelling to South Africa, for visiting Knysna, and in particular for being such appreciative guests at Kanonkop House.
All the very best and warm regards, Chris, Mark and Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed with the owners of this beautiful, spacious guesthouse with a fabulous outdoor drinks/breakfast area. I say "with" because that's what it felt like. They were really friendly, funny and obliging. This is the first time I have ever written a review but I felt compelled to share this place with as many people as possible. Diane from Australia.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Diane,
We are honoured that your experience of our Kanonkop House hospitality has motivated you to join the trip advisor community. Many many thanks to you for making the effort to review your stay with us. We are truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and that you were able to make the most of our new outdoor lounge and dining areas.
Thank you again not only for coming to South Africa and for choosing to stay at Kanonop House but also for your lovely review.
We hope to visit 'with' you again. Warm regards, The Conyers and our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanonkop Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.