We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanonkop Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kanonkop Guest House to your Saves list
Kanonkop Guest House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having seen many great guesthouses and lodges during our SA trip, this place really exceeded our expectations. The place is beautifully built with great attention to detail, the rooms spacious, nice and clean and the owner Chris, plus his daughter and son were extremely welcoming to us. Not to forget to mention the free complimentary bar as well as the delicious breakfast you get in the morning. We very much enjoyed our time at Kanonkop Guest House and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear KarlaKo, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us. We certainly enjoyed hosting you and have you and other reviewers to thank for our recent award in the top 25 small, luxury hotels in South Africa (and Africa)! So once again, thank you :) Warm regards, Sam, Chris, Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
177
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gorlitz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the phantastic Kanonkop Guesthouse....more than.perfect paradise- suite with lovely details and with great view over the blue lagoon,the warmhearted hospitality of the great family was more than expected, that's the best......we loved it, to be in your house,thank you very much for all!!!
Delicious breakfast ,the good south africa wine in your bar,best recommandations for every day...it couldn't be better !
We think with enthusiam of the best holidays we ever had ,and of course of all of you....
South africa is forever in our minds,espec.because of the more than friendly people.....
We found a wonderful oasis !!
Thank you very much!!!
Your Marion und Frank, Görlitz,Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear dear Marion and Frank, What a super review! Thank you! Thanks to you and others we have just been awarded by Tripadvisor travellers in the top 25 small and luxury hotels in South Africa (and Africa) ! Thank you again:). So we hope to see you again and to laugh some more and to enjoy some more fine wine with you. Yes there is still much more to see and do in this beautiful part of the world! Wishing you both all the very very best. Warmest regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Mark,Samantha and their father. We are very independent people and have always stayed at hotels, where you are pretty much left to your own devices, so all of the personal attention we received, initially felt a little uncomfortable.(We have subsequently come to enjoy and appreciate,the warm and friendly attention, as we have been back since our first visit). We were whisked off to our accommodation which was absolutely beautiful, and of a very high standard. Our luggage was were there waiting and our vehicle was parked. We were offered drinks on arrival and the family offered suggestions on restaurants for supper and offered to book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear 24Howard, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor (and for surviving the small guest house experience). It was fabulous to host you again and we hope we will see you again for more golf and personal attention :). Due to your review, and others, we have just been awarded top honours in the tripadvisor travellers choice awards...thank you. Warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark et al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

a great place, warm and attentive. Samantha was very helpful and gave us excellent recommendations (restaurants, activities). The house facilities but especially the room "paradise" with a view of the bay. and an experience to relive if you can!

Room Tip: The"paradise" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Julie, Finally ...I get around to thanking you for your lovely review (it helped us to get top honours as the only guest house in the garden route to make it into the top 25 small luxury hotels in South Africa). I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the views and the food...hopefully as much as I enjoyed the laughs at the breakfast table? I look forward to meeting you and M again. Warm regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye East Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Kanonkop on the recommendation of a South African acquaintance who described it as the best guest house in the area. He was not wrong! We had 3 beautiful rooms, lovely breakfasts and Sam is a delightful and enthusiastic host. The bedrooms and bathrooms exude luxury and style and the standard of cleanliness is high.If you are looking for something special in the Garden Route this is the place to go. Everyone in our party absolutely loved it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear family Stream House, Many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for my tardy response. It was such a pleasure to host your stay in Knysna and I am delighted that you enjoyed the rooms so much. We have just received great honours from Trip Advisor Travellers with top honours in the travellers choice awards...so many many thanks again to you for your review. I hope that the hospitality business is good on your end too and that the family are all well? Warmest regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamberhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fortunately the organiser (Rhino Africa) of our Garden Route itinerary included 3 days in Knysna and we were bowled over by the Kanonkop House. Daughter of the owner, Samantha, was in charge as the rest of the family were away but everything was perfect and we were made very welcome. All 3 evening meal restaurants suggested by Samantha and proved excellent. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts superb. What impressed us particularly was the knowledge of a local eco-guide, and the family's support of their staff's children's education. This place was quite 'out of the ordinary'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hellooo to you. Many many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for the late response. It was such a pleasure to host your stay. Particularly gratifying that you made the most of the natural beauty that this area had to offer and got out and about into nature, on the water and in the forests. Thankyou for your interest. Wishing you both all the very best for the New Year. Warm regards, Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been to Kanonkop Guest House in September 2011. The reason why we are writing the review a year later is because we are on oliday in Thailand and we thought of Chris (the owner) and the beautiful time spent at Kanonkop! Thank you! Mattia and Corinne

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mattia and Corinne, How lovely to imagine you on the beach in Thailand thinking of Chris. He is in excellent health and is still keeping the guests entertained and the rest of us in line. He has just celebrated his 70th birthday and the whole family, grandchildren et al are holidaying together on a tropical beach to celebrate. Warm regards and many thanks for your review and kind thoughts. Samantha, Chris and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
14.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 2351, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, South African Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanonkop Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.