We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Surprise birthday. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Welbedacht Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Revive, Rejuvenate & Spa
Ranked #17 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best. Surprise birthday. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked one night as a surprise for my wife's birthday. Maurita and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make it memorable. They arranged a birthday card with a surprise spa treatment, booked dinner at a nearby restaurant with complimentary champagne and a beautiful birthday arrangement in our room. They even upgraded our cabin! The cabins are beautiful, deserving 5 stars, and the service excellent! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    39
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
168
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil_USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked Tonquani for our group (12 family members - 4 chalets) based on the TA reviews and was very very pleased.
Tonquani´s chalets are like log houses. The front ones are smaller, one bedroom, perfect for couples, very cozy.
The ones in the back are huge (we had 9 and 10), 2 bedrooms, fenced and have their own bbq area. 9 even had its own jacuzzi (I don´t remember if 10 had one as well).
All the units have their own deck and fire place.
The host Brandon and the staff is incredible.
The beds were decorated with flower petals, the toilet paper had an antilope origami, the shower rug was folded and decorated with glass beads. A lot of attention to detail.
Brandon suggest we did a braai one night and they prepared everything for us. Incredible salads, the tables set beautifully, all the meats ready to grill, all the extras, and they did even light the fire for us!
Breakfast was delicious, location was great (no views, but very quiet, nice big gardens for the kids to run, and 5 min by car to the waterfront).
Yes, maybe the beds could be a little bigger and the paitings of the big five are not attractive to all, but these small details didn´t really matter during our stay.
I would have liked some sort of heating and better ligthing in the bathroom.
My mom had a hot stone massage at the spa and really enjoyed it.
Tonquani has been one of our best hotel experiences ever.
We tottaly recommend it and are very thankfull to everyone there for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: All the chalets are wood logs, but nr 10 is painted white on the inside. So you can choose from a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and discovered a little tropical paradise tucked away just off the Garden Route! The grounds were beautifully kept, and our cottage had lots of little touches that made us feel like we were on our honeymoon again. In fact, the resort may have thought we were honeymooners--they upgraded us to a bigger cottage which was set up very much like a honeymoon suite: fresh flowers everywhere, cute decorations on the bed, etc.

The breakfast was excellent, with a large selection of buffet and made-to-order options. There were cheese plates, a granola bar, and fresh fruit juices. All of the staff and the owner were very nice and helpful, with everything from restaurant recommendations to IT support.

Thanks to a TripAdvisor promotion, we paid the regular rate, but got a snack basket and a 30-minute couples' massage included. The staff at the spa was great, and we had a very relaxing massage to start our day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tonquani lodge and spa was one of the highlights of our garden route experience.The chalets were very comfortable and private in a unique sylvan setting.The welcome and attention we recieved from Sheldeen was second to none,and the breakfasts were sumptious...crepes,and homemade apple scones,as well as other delights.We will definately return and will recommend Tonquani to any of our friend on this route.

Room Tip: room at the pool was beautiful ,but we were offered a choice of rooms on arrival,but i suppose that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pros
Friendly staff and a very nice breakfast.
Cons
Family of ours stayed in one of the smaller cottages and its really very small and very basic. I feel the 5 star rating is a bit misleading.
Our bed was very unconfortable!
Advice
Stay in one of the more expensive cottages, as the cheaper are really of a very low standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The morning I was leaving Cape Town for my holiday in Knysna at Tonquani Lodge & Spa I was mugged and my handbag containing my passport, credit cards, cash, etc was stolen. I contacted the lodge and they told me to make my trip and not let the incident spoil my plans. The owner personally picked me up at the station and for the next 3 days I was pampered and loved by everyone with all meals being provided and spa treatments for relaxation. They assisted me with every aspect to ensure my cards were cancelled, the matter was reported and after many phone calls to the Swiss Embassy the incident was resolved. They gave me a mobile phone and other little gifts to lessen the pain of my loss. I am returning to Cape Town tomorrow knowing that angels do exist! Everything was perfect and the staff are kind and caring and like family to me now. I will recommend Tonquani to everyone and will be back as often as I can. The best lodge anywhere by far!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and the spa is a heavenly haven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

For their 20th wedding anniversary, my dad decided to surprise my mom with a weekend away from home. As I had to organize everything, my brother and I got to tag along.

My dad's instructions to me were as follows:
Find 5-star accommodation, preferably with an on-site spa, that will treat my mom like a queen.

At Tonquani, all of us were treated like royalty. The rooms were comfortable, yet elegant. Each room had spectacular view and the honeymoon suite where my parents stayed was a bit more secluded and private than the other chalets, which was ideal. Every effort was made by Tonquani staff to make sure our stay was as luxurious as possible. Prior communication with a member of their staff (Maurita) gave me a very good first impression. We also received quite a bit of discount and an upgrade of our accommodation. The food was good and the service was discreet and efficient. My mom also had high praise for the spa treatment she had.

We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Address: Welbedacht Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. On request all meals can be served in your unit. A light lunch menu is offered and complimentary tea and cake is served every afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.