We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly but not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Graywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Graywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Knysna
worthing .england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nearly but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and whilst it has a great location it falls short on the room size which we found both dark and not very private.The building is of one story contruction and mainly built from wood.The ground floor offers a small pool area the reception and secure garaging.We enjoyed a good spread of choices at the buffet style breakfast where you can choose to eat indoors or out.
From our time we guess that the hotel is used mailnly by coach touring groups in other words "one night stays".
Knysna is a fascinating location and we drove to the Elephant Sanctory(average)and the Knysna Heads(spectacular) evening there are 10-12 restaurants within 5-10 mins walk

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from foot traffic if you want peace and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Last year we stayed at the Waterfront, this year we stayed at the Graywood, which is only a short walk from the waterfront and much cheaper. It was a lovely hotel, with great facilities, great pool, great breakfast and everything about the place was wonderful. This was such good value and such a good choice in such a good location, we will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

the rooms are very small that no space to move in the room. rooms are smelly and bathrooms are also very small . needs better maintenance and lots of improvement. breakfast was good. totally not very much satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engalnd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very small room which also had a sofa bed in it as it was classed as a family room. The sofa bed was too short even for the children so we decided not to stay here and moved to the log inn hotel across the road. A very budget hotel with no frills. The photos on the web site are very misleading.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom could have done with updating. The breakfast was pretty good in a nice setting and the staff fine. Car parking was safe and secure.

The pool area looked relaxing although we didn't get time to use it.

Probably somewhere between a 3 and 4 really but better than average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had 2 nights in Knysna during a tour of the Garden Route, the Graywood is in a lovely position so that you can walk to the waterfront within minutes. It had been hubbys birthday the day before our arrival and the staff commented on it during check in and then we found a small bottle of champagne and some chocolates in our room which was a lovely touch. The deck over looking the pool is a lovely place to sit and chill and breakfast was of a good standard. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 which was fine except it was close to the deck so if anyone had early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I enjoyed it here. Secure parking, clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. I was only stopping overnight so missed out on the delights of Knysna, but I can report it was very safe. I liked the place so much before I left I booked a night on my drive back. If you're staying here, don't miss out on the ribs at Oldes on the same block :)

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to be on the ground floor, I would imagine as guests leave it would be noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Address: Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.