We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Graywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 hotels in Knysna
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had 2 nights in Knysna during a tour of the Garden Route, the Graywood is in a lovely position so that you can walk to the waterfront within minutes. It had been hubbys birthday the day before our arrival and the staff commented on it during check in and then we found a small bottle of champagne and some chocolates in our room which was a lovely touch. The deck over looking the pool is a lovely place to sit and chill and breakfast was of a good standard. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 which was fine except it was close to the deck so if anyone had early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I enjoyed it here. Secure parking, clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. I was only stopping overnight so missed out on the delights of Knysna, but I can report it was very safe. I liked the place so much before I left I booked a night on my drive back. If you're staying here, don't miss out on the ribs at Oldes on the same block :)

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to be on the ground floor, I would imagine as guests leave it would be noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Location of this hotel was excellent to walk to the Knysna Waterfront. It was close to many restaurants and shops. The theme is like an old train....lots of wood. For a newer hotel the rooms weren't that great. Shower was horrible. Room was cold and musty.
Grounds were beautiful and staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms were clean and offered more than I expected for a 3 star hotel. Situated close to the Lagoon and Knysna Waterfront. The service from checking in to checking out was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. I will definitely return when in Knysna again. As an inbound tour operator in Cape Town, I will definitely promote this hotel to my foreign and local guests. Real value for money. I received 5 star treatment from the moment I entered the reception area and it continued throughout my stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms surround the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly, from the bar to the front desk. Breakfast was grand. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but rather at the nearby waterfront with a fine selection of seafood restaurants. Good shopping in Knysna. The John Benn cruise on the Lagoon is a nice break.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Perfect location,lovely staff,really nice place, so glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at the Graywood for one night as a stop-over for our Garden Route drive. We stayed in an upstairs room which I found spacious (bigger than what we stayed in at Cape Town) and bathroom large. No issues with noise at night or early morning. Breakfast was the usual buffet with to order hot breakfast.

We had dinner at The Anchorage (walking distance from the Graywood). The seafood platter for one was divine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#12 of 28 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#10 of 28 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna
Premier Hotel Knysna
#13 of 28 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Address: Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Orbitz so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.