We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Knysna B&B and Inns
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are there the 2 time and feel like home.The Lodge is very pretty,its more then a warm welcome to south africa.We like the staff and the owners,wendy was very nice,we celebrating our Marriage there with lot of specials.Everything is perfect organized all the time,our Room was fantastic again and have a nice view to the lagoon.Just pretty.With this Breakfast what they serve
you must have a good day after.
Thanks to the Elephant Hide and for sure a lot of people have the same great feelings when they stay there.2 Nights are not enough,minimum 3 Nights because to much things to do.
The owners will tell all the special attractions.Our favorit the Elephant Sanctuary,walk with them and enyoy.Its great...............

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
165
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashtead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked for 3 nights and stayed for 6, need I say more?
Everything about it was 1st class, from the staff to the room with amazing views, a
top breakfast.
Thanks Ryan and all, hope to stay again one day.
Simon, Laura and Lexi

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely venue and wonderful view to the Lagoon - everyone was very courteous to make us feel welcome and last minute requests were handled with care and attention to deal -
enjoyed ourselves at this spot

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a friendly and beautiful place to stay.
We only stayed for two nights but were made to feel at home by "Fish" as soon as we arrived.
What luxurious, romantic cabins.
We loved staying here and were given some great advice about nearby attractions and restaurants which was greatly appreciated.
The breakfasts including smoothies were very filling and a great way to start the day.
Fish even washed our car one morning after a dusty trip to Tenikwa.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had the incredible opportunity to stay at this beautiful lodge in November 2012 for two nights! Great view over the lagoon, good beds, perfect bathroom with jacuzzi and shower with the same great view! The staff was really nice and helpful, they arranged a verry interesting townshiptour for us. Breakfast was delicious. A warm and pleasant stay. Thank you Ryan!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Elephant Hide for 3 nights and 2 days. It was one of our stop on our Garden Route trip. We stayed in room #2.
Mandy, the owner, and all staff were great. They were friendly and helpful. Mandy even looked out for us by making sure that we had somewhere to go for dinner because she knew that restaurants were full due to Christmas eve.

Pros
- The breathtaking view in the room. The view is through out the room. It is in the main room, by the jacuzzi, and by the shower.
- A great little patio for you to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while you watch the sunset.
- Jacuzzi with sunset, need I say more?!
- The pool with a view.

Cons
No one in the review mentioned anything about the traffic noise coming from the busy highway. I was a little put off by it. So, even though the patio is great, be aware that you will clearly hear the highway traffic while you enjoy your wine. (try not to get room 2,3,4 they are the ones closer to the highway)

The following might not necessary be cons, but are things that could've really made this a 4-star stay.
- internet in the rooms, as of right now it is only available in the main lodge, it is something that can be remedied by simply buying a few signal repeaters to go around the buildings.
- satellite TV, although the room does have it, half of the channels that are listed in their binder did not work.
**personal opinion: I just feel that now a days TV and Internet should be basic amenities, especially in a 4-star hotel.
- the infinity pool was not turned on for some reason, maybe the cost is too high?

Overall, I think the view is pretty unbeatable, and the Jacuzzi with a view is just heaven. I would recommend this place and at least now you know what you're walking into.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Being guest house owners we were lucky to spend 2 days at Elephant Hide Guest Lodge for a break before the busy Festive Season using the guest owners accommodation swap programme. We have swapped with many guest houses and have become quiet the "Guesthouse snobs". I can truly say Elephant Hide Guest Lodge is the best guest house swap we have ever done.
What a wonderful Lodge, well furnished and so comfortable with a stunning views of the Knysna lagoon from bedroom, bathroom, patio and even shower and loo.
Ryan and his staff were very attentive and what a treat to have breakfast served in bed instead of making breakfast for guests. I highly recommend their scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a potato rosti and a fruit smoothie. My mouth waters just thinking about it.

Both evenings after dinner we sat looking at the view, listening to music, and sipping our wine lost in our thoughts and just enjoying the stunning view.

If you are into views this is the lodge for you. You will leave feeling "On top of the world".
Rayan we will recommend your lodge to all our guests travelling your way.

Best regards Inri and Dennis Riversong Guest House, Newlands Cape Town

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge 2 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.