We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room of our 3 week trip to South Africa!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best Room of our 3 week trip to South Africa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed only 2 nights at Elephant Hide. We wish we could have spent a week!! The room and view from the room are absolutely gorgeous. All rooms have private entrances and I believe that all of them have a 180 degree view of the Knysna lagoon. They are situated so that each room is private and can't be seen from the other rooms so you can keep the blinds open and look out the windows from the bedroom and bathroom area as well as having a nice outside deck to sit on. If you want to have a sleep in the window coverings are thick enough to keep the bright African sun out of the room until you are ready to get up.
It is obvious that much thought was put into the room, from the separate coffee/tea and cocktail bar area with very nice white and red wine glasses (huge plus for a red wine drinker) to the separate area with closets and room for suitcases so you aren't staring at your luggage while in the room. There is a seating area in front of the windows and bed as well as a seating area on the private deck.
The bath area is very large with an open stand up shower area with 2 shower heads and a huge tub - all with the lagoon view.
The lodge is less than 5 minutes from the waterfront and main street where the restaurants and shops are situated.
Lastly and also very important is the breakfast. You are given a menu with I think 8 different choices for breakfast which was a nice change from choosing how you would like your eggs fixed - which was the typical choice at most B&B's. The food was unusual and elegantly prepared and presented.
The main lodge is also very nicely decorated with a huge fireplace, nice music, pretty pool. etc. We didn't go there at night but there was a note letting us know if we would like an after dinner drink they would keep the lodge open for us. We met the husband and wife owners who greeted us at breakfast and gave us many options of things to do in the Kynsna area each morning.
Honestly we loved our room so much that we just wanted to hang out there. I would Highly, Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
164
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The lodge is in a beautiful setting overlooking the lake- we had an executive suite which was larger than other rooms. This was gorgeous- complete with jacuzzi and candles in an open plan so you could sit in the jacuzzi and look at the lake. Comfy beds, lovely bathroom and superb deck.
Breakfasts were amazing- kept us going all day with wonderful choices and fabulous friendly service by Mandy and Fish.
Faultless and perfection !

Room Tip: All briliant but the executive suite was fab !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our stay at Elephant Hide was only two nights but what a memorable 2 nights my Husband & I experienced, from the moment we arrived the service was oustanding from Fish & Mandy, they were the perfect hosts, to the breathtaking views & the most luxurious & spacious suite, it felt like we were in paradise & we will definitely recommend this B&B to anyone & we will definitely be back! We can also highly recommend the picnic baskets, a real treat. My husband and I had the most amazing experience at Elephant Hide & it has definitely captured a piece of our hearts. It's worth every minute. Thank you again to Mandy & Fish for making our stay so pleasant & special thanks to Mandy for taking the time out to show us the best spots & dishing out loads of maps & to Fish for always having a smile on his face & always being so helpful! A very romantic place filled with special memories for my Husband & I. A trip we will never forget.

Room Tip: We have to say that even though Lagoon Suite 3, which we stayed in was magnificent - all the suite...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Elephant Hide has to be THE PERFECT place to stay in Knysna.

Sitting high above the lagoon our lodge had an amazing view and wasn't overlooked at all by anyone. We never bothered to close the curtains so we could just enjoy the stars at night and sunrise in the morning and soak up the sun on our own private deck during the day.

We had lovely breakfasts at the main lodge which also offered a deck and small pool, but September was just a bit to cool to try out even for the English!

Everything combined with the very warm friendly welcome from Mandy and Wendy who helped us make the very most of our stay in Knysna - you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The lodge was the perfect choice for our honeymoon. The room and bathroom were both spacious with panoramic views across the lagoon and the best part was that each suite is private. You can relax in the spa bath or take a shower and enjoy the views in complete privacy. Breakfast (which we had in our room every morning) was made to order and was absolutely amazing!! This will definitely be our first choice in Knysna.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a family run lodge where the owners and staff are really friendly. We stayed in room 7 with a great spa bath and a view overlooking the lagoon. Furnishings are superb. we had to leave early on our departure day before breakfast but the lodge kindly packed us a 'breakfast picnic'. It is a drive into town or around £5 each way by taxi. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Breakfast was included and it cannot be missed when reviewing this guesthouse. The breakfasts are something special and could feed you for the day!

The cabins out back have a wonderful view of the lagoon and although they are quiet they do overlook part of the highway, but not a big deal at all.

The rooms came equipped with a loyalty bar and free coffee, tea and this really tasty treats that one can dip into their tea. The rooms also had an ipod docking station with speakers and chargers which I found to be an unusual feature for South Africa.

I would come back here in an instant and I wish I had more days there in fact.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.