We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Dollar but Top Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Pezula to your Saves list
Conrad Pezula
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Sussex England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Top Dollar but Top Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

The Pezula its almost on top of the East Head at Knysna. It is new and no expense has been spared. The rooms are very spacious and impeccably furnished, the food very good and the facilities superb. Pool, spa, excellent; their own golf course and a beautiful, virtually private beach with a free shuttle service (10 mins) from the hotel. And the staff are as near perfect as possible. All this costs, but the Pezula delivers the goods.
The French team has taken over the whole hotel for its preparations for the World Cup.
The only minus mark is that it is 6 km out of Knysna, up a steep hill, and it does get a bit wearing with all the speed humps. There is however a decent English-style pub (Bosun's Grill) at the bottom of the hill!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    55
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
82
149
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

The room was incredible with a nice view of the golf course and lagoon. We just dialed "9" and had a fire made for us almost every night. Zachary's is one of the best restaurants I've ever visited. Also, the massages at the spa are incredible. There is so much to do at Pezula - canoeing, hiking, horseback riding...just an incredible place for any vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We spent 3 nights here last week and loved it. Had our two teenaged (15 and 13) kids with us. The hotel rooms themselves really couldn't be much nicer; about 80m sq., fireplace, small convenience "kitchen", incredible bathroom, etc. The hotel sits up on a plateau, and the weather was a bit iffy, but we managed to spend a day on the private, deserted beach, go horseback riding, etc.
The food is top notch and reasonably priced, and the wine list is simply incredible. Ask the food and bev. manager to show you their wine cave, quite impressive.
Lastly, the hospitality manager, Russell Binks, is a true professional. He is cordial, but never phony, does everything within his ability to make your stay nice. At this price, you expect the small touches (I had the hotel make me a dinner reservation in town, and when I got down to the reception area, my rental car was already waiting for me, stuff like that makes a difference for me...), and here, you get them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Great restaurant, (hard to tear ourselves away but the hotel do provide a very efficient shuttle service to the waterfront), friendly staff (breakfast sometimes too slow). rooms were spacious, luxurious & immaculate. Husband enjoyed the golf, I had a spa treatment (not impressed by the hard sell of products after)pool area excellent but all in all a very relaxing break

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

While Pezula Resort is a beautiful property, they promote themselves as providing iconic itineraries which is really a far cry from what they are capable of. I contacted them weeks in advance to set up a private whale watching tour for my husband and I. Their contact called me and described a wonderful whale watching adventure where we would have a beautiful boat to ourselves with a private guide, lunch and a day of spectacular whale watching. What I paid for was a skiff that seats 16, a few candy bars (our lunch) and 2 hours of high speed boating 2 miles outside of the Plett bay. Our tour guide was less than knowledgeable. He could not answer basic questions about where the whales were migrating to although he was sure they came from arctic waters. The best or worse part is that we did not see one single whale. Pezula made no efforts for even a partial refund even though this was booked through Pezula. They did try to arrange for us to go out again the following day with the same company, but I had caught a case of food poisoning from one of their Knysna dinner recommendations the night before and was in no shape to even leave our suite. We had a canoe and hike planned that day with a private picnic planned afterwards. My final bill noted a charge for the hike and canoe even though we could not attend because I was unable to move from the bathroom floor. It seems that they are more capable of providing for the golf clientele than other more adventure seeking travelers. Overall, it is a 5 star hotel, but not capable of delivering a 5 star "Iconic" experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

One of the best establishments I'"ve ever visited.
Friendly,polite,fantastic service gourmet food and superb surroundings.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We made a quick 2 nights stop at this truly amazing hotel in Knysna...minutes away from the harbour, fantastic spa, food and room with a live fireplace...i dont think there is a better place in Knysna than this one. Wish i could spend more days there..

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#3 Family Hotel in Knysna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Pezula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.