We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but lack training” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Pezula to your Saves list
Conrad Pezula
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Leisure Escapes
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but lack training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a fabulous place, with great facilities. The food was fantastic as would be expected from an hotel of this standard. My only criticism is that the staff although very friendly, and in most cases enthusiastic, they just don't seem to get things quite right. I wanted to go fishing with a guide, as was advertised on their excursions. Firstly they told me the guide wasn't available on the day I wanted, but would be the next day. They then told me he would be available at 7.am. I eventually spoke to him and he said pity you didn't want the day before, which is what I wanted. This was because he wasn't available till after 9.30. This made things akward, as I had booked an afternoon trip with my wife, so needed to cut the fishing short. Also, the waiting staff didn't always get things quite right, though one of the waitresses, Patricia worked hard to make sure that other staff's mistakes were put right.

Room Tip: Most roooms are really very good, with your bags taken by golf buggy. Ours had a view over the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Mac M,

Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor. Feedback like this is valuable and assists us in getting better in service delivery and also recovery. Please accept my apology for not getting the fishing trip right. The waters in and around Knysna is great fishing territory and judging by your profile picture, you love fishing.

I undertake to personally make sure, at the next time when you do stay with us in Knysna that you will have a guide on the day that you wish to go and fish.

We constantly train our team members in the restaurants and will be sure to reinforce your message to sharpen up on the attention to detail.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Pezula for a week with my four and two year old daughters. The emphasis with this hotel is on luxury. Our room was well appointed with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel including espresso machine, large flat screen tv etc. The staff were quite simply superb, Liesel and Helen the two ladies at breakfast were a credit to the hotel. Every staff member I came accross had a smile on his or her face and said hello. My only gripe was the lack of a jacuzzi in the spa but this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. The food in the restaurants is of a good standard with the desserts especially good. Overall is you are looking for a luxury hotel on the garden route, look no further than Pezula. We will return next year.

Room Tip: Don't miss a trip to Noetze beach which is the private beach on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Titanic1,

When we have long stay guest staying with us we get very nervous because that is the guest that shows you if you are consistant in your delivery. Quite clearly we impresssed you with the service and interaction with our very special team members. Thank you so much for recognizing and mentioning the members by name that made an impact.

We value your rating of us on Tripadvisor and really look froward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula. Please contact me direct if I may assist with anything in making your next arrangements.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just had an amazing week-end at the Beach Castle. Absolutely stunning setting, beautifully appointed Castle. The food was out of this world. The staff who attended to us 24/7 (Lovett and his team) were fabulous. The service was excellent. We also did the hike through the forest to the river and then did the canoe trip to the beach - stunning! A highly recommended excursion for anyone needing a special treat and pamper.

Room Tip: Choose the Beach Castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Marie P,

The Private Castle is a very Special Place and we are pleased that you had such a memorable experience with us. Thank you for recognizing Lovet and his team.

The best compliment to us is that you had a great time, enjoyed the activities and rated us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you and Best Regards.

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pleasant staff who we felt lacked training and experience.Inconsistent service,poor dining experience and pricey drinks...Excellent facilities. Whilst touring the garden route this was one of four hotels we stayed at, the other three being far superior. We were not impressed with the Conrad Pezula.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowercoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Gowercoast1,

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to exceed expectations on all levels and am sorry that we did not meet yours. Unfortunately it is now for us to do a service recovery over public forum instead of while you are still on property.

We value your contribution as a Senior Contributor and if it is not too much trouble for you to advise specifics directly to myself and we will respond accordingly.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and rating the rooms and cleanlines 5.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Pezula. Well appointed rooms. Excellent service always prompt and always polite nice staff at kids club. The excursions are enjoyable staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Worthwhile in every aspect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear 4travelers99,

It is evident that the team members made an impression on you and made your stay so much more enjoyable. Thank you for letting us know. Reviews like yours are appreciated and in return we would like to mention that we appreciate you and all our other guest that give us the opportunity to serve them.

Best Regards

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I called up the hotel on New Year's Eve for a last minute booking, having had a mix up with my accommodation at another hotel nearby. The service from the front desk in confirming a room and offering transfer from the airport at such a short notice, especially being the peak of the holiday season was truly exceptional. The suite was spacious, practical and well kept. We had an opportunity to have lunch at the hotel's Cafe Zee which was well priced and of good quality. The staff are very attentive and friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tumisang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Tumisang K,

It was a pleasure for us to be able to assist you at short notice and ensure a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We never take compliments like these for granted.

We are pleased that you enjoyed what the room offered, found Cafe Z well priced with good quality. Geoffrey puts a lot of emphasis on foor quality and integrity.

As we discussed on departure, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We as a family had a excellent 4 day stay at Pezula. A Very relaxing stay with excellent staff at your service. The spa was out of this world, the kids enjoyed the stay with lovely pools. The golf course was very enjoyable. Thank you to everyone for making our stay a experience to remember. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Estelle S,

Thank you so much for the glowing compliment. The biggest reward for us is that we have successfully created memories for you and your family for years to come.

Thank you for staying at Conrad Pezula and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Enjoy the remainder of the Festive Season.

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
136.4 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#10 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing