We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay @ The Conrad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Pezula

Save Saved
You added Conrad Pezula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From ZAR 2274
Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay @ The Conrad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We as a family had a excellent 4 day stay at Pezula. A Very relaxing stay with excellent staff at your service. The spa was out of this world, the kids enjoyed the stay with lovely pools. The golf course was very enjoyable. Thank you to everyone for making our stay a experience to remember. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Estelle S,

Thank you so much for the glowing compliment. The biggest reward for us is that we have successfully created memories for you and your family for years to come.

Thank you for staying at Conrad Pezula and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Enjoy the remainder of the Festive Season.

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    45
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
128
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a sublime experience! The warmth and heart-felt welcome of the staff was astonishing. Truely world class service! Very professional, informative and cordial. The hotel is perfect in every aspect. Comfortable, big rooms and the surroundings between the rooms give a lot of privacy. The restaurant and cafe supply top-class food with a wine list that has something for everybody! I will go back ANYTIME! Thanks to all the staff and people involved making this experience unforgettable. Wilhelm and Leoné

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Wilhelm and Leone,

When we receive reviews like the one you wrote, we have to remind ourselves to be humble. It was our pleasure to have you as guests in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and complimenting us for what we do best, look after our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Pezula in time to come.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Lovely hotel with beautiful spa and golf course. Views over golf course or ocean I'd go for ocean as its not often i see one! Cafe z very good but menu needs more options. Zachary's the good restaurant only open weekends so never got the chance to try it. 2 nights is adequate and hotel is very acceptable. Rooms are spacious and well presented. Not a place for kids unless they play golf! Staff delightful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bkemsley,

We are gratefull for your review and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Conrad Pezula.

We are soon launching our Summer menu and will take your comments into consideration when Geoffrey plans the menu. Unfortunately the business levels did not warrant us opening Zachary's all days of the week but we will be opening it for 7 days a week during the Festive Season period and 5 days a week during the remainder of Summer.

In addition children will be well catered for during the school holidays in our Kids Club. Qualified child minders will be on duty from early morning to late evening to allow you to relax and give the children some opportunity to have additional fun.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed a superb 3 night stay on the Golf Package. Staff very thorough in all respective duties from check-in to departure. The rooms are huge and exceptionally comfortable with probably every 'whim" catred for, including selection of pillows. Our room enjoyed a great view over the 10th tee with the ocean in the background
Dining experience was also very good as was the extremely relaxing cocktail bar area - ask Shawn for his excellent preparation of strawberry daquaris!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Wallaceh,

It was a pleasure to serve you at Conrad Pezula. We take pride in every aspect of our service to our valued guests and we are so pleased to note you enjoyed the cocktail in Noah's.

Thank you for writing the review and assisting me in motivating my team to do things even better.

Best Regards

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this resort and we were amazed by the breathtaking views over the golf course to the ocean, the excellent service and delicious food and wine. The staff was extremely friendly and always helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. There was a different menu to chose from every night and we were never disappointed. The accomodations were very luxurious and spacious. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Beppina 111,

What a great honor for us to receive such a shining review. We are all so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we manged to assist in creating some memories that only experiences can create.

We recognise that it takes effort to give give us a review and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to write it.

In appreciation and looking forward to seeing you back in SA soon.

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As part of our honeymoon we spent 3 nights at Pezula which were superb. We stayed in the middle of the week during September and the resort was fairly empty which suited us perfectly - it felt as if we had the entire resort to ourselves.

First of all, the rooms are excellent. We stayed in a Villa King Suite (Upper Sea Facing). The room was incredibly spacious and luxurious. The bathrom in particular was excellent.

The hotel facilties are great. We spent an excellent day at the spa with a couples Chibaya Moya experience. That was really decadent, the spa pool is also great.

Also did the horse-dring followed by a brilliant picnic on the private Noetzie beach and castle.

In general the hotel service was excellent, breakfasts were also excellent.

For out last evening we did dinner at Zacharys - we did a special 7 course menu with wine pairings. This was probably the highlight of entire honeymoon.

In short, excellent hotel with lots to do. The golf course looked amazing but didnt get a chance to play on honeymoon! I would also recommend doing dinner at Firefly restaraunt in Kynsna town if you do stay for a bit here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Riaan S,

We are so pleased with your experience and review. It takes time to write a review and recognize someone for a job well done and we thank you for taking the time to do just that. We are humbled by your comments. We wish you a colourful future in your marriage and look forward to welcoming you back to Pezula when you come to play golf.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our several days at the Pezula private Honeymoon castle (not actually our honeymoon but it is the perfect size for a couple) concluded a vacation of a lifetime! The views are stunning, the castle was beautifully and comfortably decorated and the staff was top notch. The private chef (Chef Ferdy) accomodated our interest in South African cuisine better than we could ever imagine, with perfect South African wine pairings, too. The dinner at Zachary's was unlike anything we had ever eaten, or likely will again (Chef Jeffrey and the pastry chef are both creative and masterfully skilled!). Then, to find out that they grow and use most foods from right on the property-from curing their own meats to the jasmine in the fabulous strawberry/jasmine sorbet-makes it that much more impressive. They really have tried to make as little an environmental impact as possible-something very rare in luxury hotels. Every person on the staff was courteous and attentive without being obtrusive. The spa services were wonderful as well. We feel blessed to have stayed at this 'slice of heaven' and would highly recommend it to everyone! Keep in mind, this is the perfect place to unwind and visit with nature or perhaps golf or have spa services. However, if you are looking for plenty to do-this may not be the right place. While there are many sightseeing opportunities within a 1 hour driving distance, you would need to have a rental car. We would recommend that if you are going to stay at a private castle at Pezula, you do just that. Sit back and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Autumn T,

The Pezula Private Castle is a very special place and we are so pleased that you had an experience, that was an authentic connection between our team members, the food of our region the environment and yourselves.

We take pride in everything we offer our very special guests and truly appreciate the review that you have written. This is most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula on your next trip to Africa.

Best Regards

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Pezula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.