We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

Nice little estate within easy reach of Knysna town. Just off the N2 well designed and proportioned chalets. Excellent food in the restaurant, but some of the waitrons are a little full of themselves - trying too hard to push the expensive wines. Having said that, there was a good range of food if you are staying only 3 or 4 nights and they do go out of their way to please you. Overall an enyoyable stay and would consider going back

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    127
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Knysna Hollow as part of a two week trip to South Africa. I would firstly say that the surroundings are wonderfully peaceful and the room very large and spacious. Unlike a previous reviewer, we found the bathroom excellent, complete with two showers.

However, what made the stay outstanding was the quality of the staff. We ate in the restaurant each night and found every member of staff professional and attentive, but also exceptionally friendly. They made time to get to know us (without ever being imposing) but being asked in the evening how particular activities had gone during the day was refreshing and welcoming. Also the advice they gave on all manner of things (food, wine, activities, speeding tickets !!) was all first class.

Also I would say that the atmosphere in the restaurant and bar was very good with a wide cross section of people from a broad range of nationalities and also couples, families and groups of varying ages.

A big thank you to everyone involved.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

The rooms: We stayed in one of the beautiful garden chalets and were thrilled by its size, decor, cleanliness and amenities. The king bed was new and comfortable and the bathroom was huge and very well appointed with a double enclosed shower. The vaulted ceiling exposes the beautiful thatch roof and the grounds were well tended.
The restaurant: The food and ambience were outstanding, don't know what else to say.
The bar: A very warm and inviting space. When we arrived in the evening, the bar seemed to be a lively place with young local couples and guests of all ages.
Conclusion: I would definitely stay here again. I wish I had taken more photos, but didn't really think about it.
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2005

We were so disappointed with our stay that we cut our three night booking down to one. I found the big picture of the parrot at the entrance tacky. The place does have a quaint, homey look to it. But, as soon as we were shown our chalet, we knew that we couldn’t stay longer than a night. It had this dank, musty smell like mildew that never lessened as time wore on. It was a bit drizzly on the day that we arrived but the days before and days after were fantastically sunny, so one wouldn’t expect the dampness to be so strong. The bed wasn’t terribly supportive, so my husband woke up with a back ache. The chalet was spacious but not comfortable. It all felt cheesy and done on the cheap with pink tiling for the bathrooms and decades old faucet and shower fixtures. There is also an outdoor pool which we were looking forward to. But, when we saw it, we would not risk going into it or even near it as it resembled more an inhabited pond. The pictures of the hotel are lovely (we thought the reality was somewhat different) and at night with all the candles and lights, it does indeed look very romantic. The dinner was surprising good and the waiter staff very competent. But, looking around us, we saw mostly German tour groups or older couples. As a couple in our early thirties, I guess we just didn’t fit in. We decided to splurge and checked ourselves into the Phantom (Beach at Noetzie) as we should have done in the first place.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

My wife and I, stayed here in December 2003, and had a a garden chalet, it was very well presented, not over crowed, and the gardens and surrounding top class.

The food was of any excellent standard and we found the staff very helpful and polite.

The only point of note, was that we did not hire a car ! this is a must as you tucked away off the beaten track.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2004

This country estate is located slightly outside Knysna in a beautiful setting. Book one of the garden chalets, not the garden rooms. The chalets are huge and nicely decorated. Good value for money. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.