We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The small cottages around a pool was such a beautiful setting . I could have stayed there much longer than the two nights . The rooms were lovely and the service was really attentive. The food was lovely and the staff could not do enough to help. I only eat gluten free bread and this was provided and they remembered each meal that I may want some! This gives them five stars from me! Knysna is a lovely place and this hotel is well placed to visit the area . I agree with a recent review that this is a 'little slice of heaven'

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks ever so much for the fantastic review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear about how much you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon! All the very best from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    128
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A beautiful resort to suit a beautiful town. Knysna Hollow is the ideal place to rest, relax, lie by the pool, sleep in luxury, and enjoy great food. Close to town, but not too close, it is conveniently located, and peaceful at the same time. A little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the amazing feedback on your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. It's always such a pleasure to hear about guests enjoying their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every aspect of this charming and well situated hotel. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and free of any problems, and the staff were friendly and helpful from start to finish. We could not fault either the buffet breakfast or the truly excellent meal we enjoyed in the restaurant. The grounds were a treat and the three (stunningly clean) pools provided us with a much appreciated cooling off from the heat of the South African summer. Knysna is a short bicycle ride away and well worth exploring, and the hotel kindly provided us with the bicycles to do just that! Without a doubt, one of the highlights of our month in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here on the Garden Route and hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the not-too-distant future. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here with my wife an daughter travelling on the garden route. The bungalows were very comfortable and clean. All the staff were very happy, helpful and polite. Attendance during breakfast was slightly lacking, but that is being picky. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and our waiter, Denzil was a star. So very charming and happy. It rained a lot while there, but we managed a few hours by the pool.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - I will let all the staff know about your feedback and I'm sure they will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and best regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after already staying at a few places and it looks incredible. Small huts located around the grounds and 3 beautiful swimming pools. The rooms however were a slight letdown. Ours was very musty so we were glad we were only here for 1 night and there was no fridge in the room or a safe box for our valuables.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your time with us at Knysna Hollow - we certainly appreciate the feedback and will take your comments into consideration when planning our upgrade programme for 2014 - we would love to offer mini-bar fridges and room safes in all rooms but unfortunately this has an effect on the price we need to charge for the room! With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Charming layout of cottages around the small pool. Great to watch your children. Rooms without airco. Eating facilities rather old fashioned, lacking atmosphere. Pics on flyer look much nicer than reality.
Friendly and helpful people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We do apologise if some areas of our property did not meet your expectations and hope this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your time in Knysna. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Dirty pools, noisy rooms and school cafe quality breakfast. Sub standard and the place could do with a makeover. Knysna itself left a lot to be desired - the new quays development was nice but you won't find the quality restaurants you might expect. The one compensation is that the prices are acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all disappointed to hear that our property and some parts of our town Knysna did not live up to your expectations - for this we do apologise and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around South Africa nonetheless. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.