We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Dirty pools, noisy rooms and school cafe quality breakfast. Sub standard and the place could do with a makeover. Knysna itself left a lot to be desired - the new quays development was nice but you won't find the quality restaurants you might expect. The one compensation is that the prices are acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all disappointed to hear that our property and some parts of our town Knysna did not live up to your expectations - for this we do apologise and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around South Africa nonetheless. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    127
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kloof, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Knysna Hollow is a truly wonderful place to stay. Our rooms were great and we loved the walk in showers! We enjoyed our dinner and their breakfasts were superb. Excellent and friendly service - a place to recommend for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks very much for the great feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to be able to have you stay with us again in the near future. Best regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

One of the nicest places I have stayed in a long while. The thatched stand alone cottage was huge and charming, with a working fireplace and a comfortable patio. The grounds are magnificently kept and birds abound. The dining room and bar are fun and I enjoyed a great dinner. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon! With best regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambience ! Great repay for money !!!
Food dinner excellent !!!!!best yellow tail dish so far ! And loved the ambience .
Just a suggestion need intercom in room and increase list of lunch menu . Worth stay again !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you ever so much for the review of your stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we do appreciate the positive feedback received. Very best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Situated just up the road from the lovely town of Knysna, this was our first night of being down south in the cape after being up in Safari country on our tour. There was an obvious temperature difference, the nights were just a little cooler but having left a cold England, not unpleasant.

The rooms are thatched and like all thatch, one has to trade the romance with the reality of a being a little fusty. I quite enjoyed it. The room had every normal amenity and were more than adequate. Like every in SA, for some reason half of the TV channels don't seem to work - by this point of my tour I was resigned to the pot-luck of which channels I could get. Perhaps satellite TV might be a good idea?

The swimming pool was a strange red colour caused by the tiles but it was cool and did the job.

My only real interaction with the staff was using their desktop to do some work/home correspondence and they were very helpful.

For me, the best part was the restaurant, I found the food generous, well-made, well-presented and most of all tasty. The wine was reasonably priced and very good. The service was professional and prompt.

I would recommend this as a stop for travelers on The Garden Route.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks very much for your detailed review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in the Garden Route. It is always a pleasure for us to hear about our guest's experiences during their stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our tour group was blown away by the charm and beauty of this complex, we were a small group of 19 and all housed in the lovely thatched cottages, with all the comforts of home, in fact you could live in one of these. We arrived following the terrible storms in Cape Town and under the incessant rain of the aftermath, such a delight to find a wood burning stove properly laid with firelighters and a laminated instruction sheet on how to use the stove.Misty Mountain take note. ( see my review of it if you think I wear rose tinted spectacles) We quickly had a blazing fire going and a cosy atmosphere. Set dinner in the restaurant was excellent both in quality and quantity, with attentive and efficient service. Next day I delivered a pile of laundry to reception having forgatte in my haste to get the tour bus to complete the form in the wardrobe, no problem, for less than twelve pounds I got a pile of laundry done in the same day. Sitting by the pool in the lovely garden was a delight and the atmosphere in the bar great. This hotel was a dream destination I would return in a heartbeat especially as the town and lagoon are lovely too.

Room Tip: Get a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We sincerely appreciate the tremendous feedback and are all very glad to hear that you had such a nice stay in Knysna during your trip around South Africa. Thanks again and best wishes from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stopped of for one night on our garden route adventure. The room was ok. It had a thatched roof(which smells pretty bad!) and outdated bathroom. Furniture could do with a sanding and painting. It was clean but cold the night we stayed. We slept with both radiators on and a towel to the door as there was quite a gap. I think it's a tour bus company kind of place. We were on honeymoon and just expected a better standard. The pool did not look clean.

The evening meal was nice and the wine was a local wine. The place was packed with a lot of ppl from a couple of tours. Hard to hear yourself think! It's great from them to have the tours. But not ideal for couples or honeymooners.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused you and hope that your stay in Knysna was not badly affected as a result. With warm regards from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.