We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Knysna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Save Saved
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Knysna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a quiet area just out of town, a car is an essential.
Large room near a pool. No airconditioning but was not required. Service all round was very good. Lack of any English TV channels is a minor negative.
Do yourself a favour and eat at least one dinner in the restaurant. Food is well prepared and priced very reasonably.
I recommend the Krynsna Hollow, especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. May we wish you a prosperous 2013 and we hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    117
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I will definitely return, staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodation is clean and neat! Love the large double shower we had in our room! The poolside service makes you feel like royalty, the location is just outside of the centre of knysna, tucked away between some hills, protecting you from the crazy busy knysna during the holiday season! A true escape! Will be the only place I stay when traveling past knysna from now on!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we are all thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and hope to be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. With Festive Season regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

the room was fine, as was the pool - however we did not receive any pool towels. we had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was below average, though the lady serving us charming... but didn't make up for the culinary disappointment. all in all ok if you don't eat there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are disappointed to hear that you did not find the food up to standard in our restaurant - hopefully we may be able to make it up to you should you return at some stage in the future. Thank you once again and all the very best for the Festive Season from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the garden chalet for two nights while we enjoyed the local area on a month long South Africa holiday. Conveniently located if you have your own car (which we did), Knysna Hollow was great for our needs.

The room was spacious and the bathroom huge and nicely appointed; although the rooms only had a fan and not airconditioning this was fine for the cooler December nights.

There were two pools we could make use of and both were very quiet and cool.

We only ate breakfast and it was the only minor disappointment - the staff seemed to have difficulty in cooking the hot food properly. The bacon and the sausages were both partially undercooked and very unappertising.

Staff were happy to help book us in with activities and we received a 10% discount at the Elephant Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincere apologies for the problem you experienced with the breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some time in the future. Kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, best food ever - great stop over when traveling between Cape Town and PE . Previously had a family re-union at Knysna Hollow - 90 of us - Knysna Hollow was a perfect venue.
Lynda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is about 3km from the centre of Knysna. Apparently, it has 3 pools - one is a reasonable size, one is much smaller and round. I didn't see the third one. The food was good and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. This is a hotel used by coach parties - some only appear to stay overnight - and at breakfast and dinner the restaurants were always busy and sometimes extremely noisy. My room was one of a dozen or so in a crescent-shape around the round pool area and sometimes this pool area was extremely noisy late at night as guests seemed to congregate there. The bed was comfortable and the room was of a decent size, although the lighting was poor and it was a bit difficult to read. The bathroom was OK - the shower was very good with plenty of hot water. Unfortunately, there was no safe in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your candid comments and feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - I must apologise for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to our high occupancies in peak season, but we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us nonetheless. With warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although the rooms are not as grand as its sister hotel Perrys Bridge Hollow , the thatched roofed chalets were spacious and very comfortable. There is no air conditioning , just a ceiling fan but in the cool nights in December this wasn't an issue . Great breakfast , very pleasant staff , free wifi is available but not great a connection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we sincerely value your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.