We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant say.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
surrey uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very pleasant say.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Our room here was identical to the Hippo Hollow rooms and there was the same problem with the slippery floor tiles in the bathroom. However, the staff were very cheerful and helpful and the atmosphere was good. Very tasty food at breakfast and dinner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    128
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Posterholt, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Knysna Hollow from check in to check out. The grounds were very green and pretty in October and immaculately maintained. We were particularly impressed with the staff who were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, although the thatch leaked slightly. We found the food excellent, but the main dining room was largely allocated to large coach parties, and we found the alternative dining area not so comfortable. We would be happy to recommend this hotel to travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights whilst touring the Garden Route, Knysna Hollow is only 10 mins walk from the Waterfront and Quays at Knysna and offers a good level of accommodation in thatched rooms, good level of cleanliness and good standard of food served in the restaurant, they have 3 different dining areas along with excellent wine selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for the review on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope fully we will be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had booked a "garden room" in the Knysna Hollow. We were pleased with the initial appearance of the hotel, but when we saw our room we were very disappointed. We were allocated a room in the Rondovel block, where there is absolutely no privacy. The design of the block means all the front doors are very close together. When in our room, we could hear every word said by the sunbathers outside. The receptionist was very helpful, and could give us a different room for 2 of the 3 nights, but on our third night we had to move back to the Rondovel block! The hotel seemed to be more interested in coach parties than individual travellers. The public rooms were very nice, breakfast good, and the restaurant was also good. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you do stay in this hotel, avoid the Rondovel block. The other garden rooms are quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room on one of the evenings. While we always strive to accommodate requests for different room types, the summer months do tend to be very busy times for us and this is why we could not assist with your request on the one night. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. With warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Knysna Hollow CountryEstate during a tour of South africa. The rooms were very spacious and clean.

The gardens were amazing and full of colour in October.

Food in the hotel was excellent with good evening meals and breakfast. They seem to have several dining areas one of which has two walls devoted to being a wine rack.

Staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. The reception staff set the tone with their friendly can-do manner. Our room was very clean, comfortable & well equipped for our stay. The resturant is another gem with great service & lovely food very reasonably priced even by South African standards. In short we had a great time here & would recommend Knysna Hollow to visitors

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. From Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent two nights here during our tour of SA. When we arrived, they allocated us a twin room but were happy to change when we asked for a different one. The rooms were lovely, the beds were comfy and to have the chairs outside to relax was really nice. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and, following a disappointing meal by the harbour, wish we'd eaten here on the second night too!
The only thing that spoilt our stay was the party that continued into the early morning on the Saturday night. This was obviously not within the hotel and we may just have been unfortunate, but we really didn't get very much sleep and there was no comment or apology from any of the staff the next day.
However, this would not put us off going again if we had chance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, despite the inconvenience of noise from one of our neighbors in the area on the one evening - apologies for this, we were not made aware of any functions in the neighbourhood on that night. We all sincerely hope that we may be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.